DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading

FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading FreeBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 4th July 2008
rave_mystery_inc rave_mystery_inc is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default FreeBSD KDE/GUI DESKTOP HELP

i downloaded the freebsd 7.0 and went through the sysinstall. Once i installed the freebsd on my system i was not able to get a gui desktop like kde 3.5 up and running. I'm completely baffled at this point and dont know what i did wrong. I been racking my brains out on this for quite some time. I've been working with linux for over 2 and a half years so i'm quite familiar with how kde is suppose to work along with the x11 / xorg. I tried going in a terminal and typing startx (like i normally would do if it was a linux problem) but the startx solution didnt seem to help either. i tried reading the handbook and got completely lost with it. Can somebody please give me a very very simplified detail instruction of what i'm suppose to do during the setup installation process in order to get the freebsd desktop kde to show up. I'm a complete newbie at any bsd system. Thanks for all your help
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 4th July 2008
greencross's Avatar
greencross greencross is offline
Real Name: David Gevorgyan
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yerevan, Armenia
Posts: 58
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

X11 configuration
X Display Manager (optional)
Desktop Environments
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th July 2008
rave_mystery_inc rave_mystery_inc is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

im actually having difficulty at this part

After KDE has been installed, the X server must be told to launch this application instead of the default window manager. This is accomplished by editing the .xinitrc file:
% echo "exec startkde" > ~/.xinitrc

can anybody tell me where the .xinitrc is located and how i edit it. i think i either need to use nano or ee for the editor but im not sure the exact command i need.

same thing with the kdm
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th July 2008
greencross's Avatar
greencross greencross is offline
Real Name: David Gevorgyan
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yerevan, Armenia
Posts: 58
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

1. (!!!) If you didn't configure X11 as written in chapter of the first link you wouldn't be able to launch Xorg at all whether with .xinitrc or not.
2. If you didn't configure display manager (such as xdm, gdm, slim or in your situation most preferable kdm) you would have to launch X with % startx command.
3. All paths started with ~/* are located in your "home" directory. Right after installation there is no ~/.xinitrs file but the command % echo "exec startkde" > ~/.xinitrc will create it automatically with 'exec startkde' in it. So there is no need to edit it manually.
Also you should remember that most (if not all) file managers (including dolphin, konquerror and krusader) treat files and directories starting with '.' (the very same .xinitrc) as hidden items. You have to set the "show hidden files" flag to see them. Though mc behaves like that by default. So if you executed echo "exec startkde" > ~/.xinitrc command then the file is on its place.
But I repeat without configured X11 this won't work.
__________________
rtfm

Last edited by greencross; 5th July 2008 at 06:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th July 2008
greencross's Avatar
greencross greencross is offline
Real Name: David Gevorgyan
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yerevan, Armenia
Posts: 58
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

PS. By default FreeBSD includes ee and vi text editors so you can choose what you prefer or install your favorite editor via ports or packages.
__________________
rtfm
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th July 2008
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Thanked 112 Times in 104 Posts
Default

Unless you are familiar with vi, you should use ee -> it's simple and easy to use.

(installing nano or your favorite console editor is also a good option)
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desktop, gui, kde, x window

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FreeBSD as a desktop - Thoughts.. harisman FreeBSD General 62 6th September 2008 01:27 AM
Can I start using FreeBSD as desktop machine paragkalra FreeBSD General 4 19th July 2008 05:20 PM
32bit freebsd 7 on 64x2 system for desktop cysquatch FreeBSD General 9 15th July 2008 12:08 PM
Problems with 1000baseTX on Intel Pro 1000 desktop PCI card [FreeBSD 7.0 RELEASE] asmo FreeBSD General 0 28th June 2008 07:12 PM
Can't start KDE desktop in FreeBSD bryancostanich FreeBSD Ports and Packages 9 11th June 2008 10:47 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick