DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st July 2008
Tyrall Tyrall is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Pseudo RAID issue

Got an alert from one of my log parsing scripts that there was something wrong with my RAID (on a remote box) after a reboot, so logged in to check. From dmesg:
Code:
ad4: 152627MB <SAMSUNG SP1614C SW100-34> at ata2-master SATA150
ad6: 152627MB <SAMSUNG SP1614C SW100-34> at ata3-master SATA150
ad8: 152627MB <SAMSUNG SP1614C SW100-34> at ata4-master SATA150
ad10: 152627MB <SAMSUNG SP1614C SW100-34> at ata5-master SATA150
ar0: 305255MB <FreeBSD PseudoRAID RAID0+1 (stripe 64 KB)> status: DEGRADED
ar0: disk0 READY (master) using ad4 at ata2-master
ar0: disk1 DOWN no device found for this subdisk
ar0: disk2 DOWN no device found for this subdisk
ar0: disk3 READY (mirror) using ad10 at ata5-master
OK, so my RAID0+1 is degrade, icky. Best check what's going on and rebuild:
Code:
# atacontrol status ar0
ar0: ATA RAID0+1 stripesize=128 status: DEGRADED
 subdisks:
   0 ad4  ONLINE
   1 ---- MISSING
   2 ---- MISSING
   3 ad10 ONLINE
# atacontrol rebuild ar0
atacontrol: ioctl(IOCATARAIDREBUILD): Input/output error
Hmmm, check some forums and attempt to detach one of the faulty disks (which atacontol info has no problem seeing):

Code:
# atacontrol detach ata3
And the system crashes, requiring a remote power cycle.
At this point I discover someone's swiped my remote serial console, and much swearing occurs. Get all this sorted, and the box restarted, only to find the RAID is REALLY unhappy now, and has two arrays:
Code:
ar0: ATA RAID0+1 stripesize=128 status: BROKEN
 subdisks:
   0 ad4  ONLINE
   1 ---- MISSING
   2 ---- MISSING
   3 ---- MISSING
ar1: ATA RAID0+1 stripesize=128 status: BROKEN
 subdisks:
   1 ---- MISSING
   2 ---- MISSING
   3 ---- MISSING
   4 ad10 ONLINE
Any suggestions on steps I can take to get the array recognised again?
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th August 2008
Weaseal's Avatar
Weaseal Weaseal is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 177
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

So from looking at your array, it looks like the top of the first strip (ad4) and the bottom of the second strip (ad10) are still okay. In theory, it may be possible to create a RAID 0 array out of the two of them, and repair from them. This is only speculation, perhaps someone can post and say if it's possible and if so, how.
__________________
FreeBSD addict since 4.2-RELEASE.
My FreeBSD wiki.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 7th August 2008
Tyrall Tyrall is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Definitely seems that way.
At a pinch, I guess a RAID0 of ad6 and ad8 would also give some (if not as current) data.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What about FreeBSD's RAID-5? stukov FreeBSD General 3 11th November 2008 09:40 PM
RAID-1 over NFS with fail-over PatrickBaer FreeBSD General 0 12th October 2008 12:03 AM
Suggestion for RAID 1 over Network revzalot FreeBSD Ports and Packages 1 12th June 2008 08:35 PM
freebsd 7 sofware raid-5 nimmen FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 2 23rd May 2008 01:04 PM
RAID 10 on FreeBSD bigb89 FreeBSD General 5 11th May 2008 03:58 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick