DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
renej renej is offline
Real Name: Rene
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Sound problem

I have installed FreeBSD 7 and am slowly trying to solve all problems.
For now the biggest problem is that i do not have any sound.
I installed oss via ports.

ossinfo gives me
Code:
"SNDCTL_CARDINFO: Device not configured"
osstest gives no sound but just says
Code:
"SNDCTL_AUDIOINFO_EX: Device not configured"
i have two sound cards really, but am trying to use the onboard one :
Code:
cat /dev/sndstat
FreeBSD Audio Driver (newpcm: 32bit 2007061600/i386)
Installed devices:
pcm0: <Intel ICH5 (82801EB)> at io 0xf7101000, 0xf7102000 irq 17 bufsz 16384 kld snd_ich [MPSAFE] (1p:1v/1r:1v channels duplex default)
Anybody to give me some hints??
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

Start by disabling one sound cart with bios
of removing one....
does kernels snd_ich doesn't work for you? (why you use oss from ports?)

I got ICH5 as well, and it works great...
Code:
pcm0: <Intel ICH5 (82801EB)> port 0xd800-0xd8ff,0xdc00-0xdc3f mem 0xf3101000-0xf31011ff,0xf3102000-0xf31020ff irq 17 at device 31.5 on pci0
magic part in kernel config
Code:
device sound
device snd_ich
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 12th September 2008
BSDKaffee's Avatar
BSDKaffee BSDKaffee is offline
Real Name: Jason Hale
Coffee Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wintersville, Ohio
Posts: 212
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
Default

You cannot use the FreeBSD pcm driver and the OSS drivers from ports at the same time. If you want to use OSS, unload the FreeBSD driver then load the OSS driver. You would be better to let the OSS driver load at boot time, however, rather than load it after unloading the FreeBSD driver. The reason being that there can be leftover devices that will conflict.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 12th September 2008
renej renej is offline
Real Name: Rene
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Bit confused here ...
Oss is deinstalled (since apparently I do not need it).
I did not do a kernel config though, but added this to /boot/loader.conf :
snd_ICH_load="YES"
Does that make a difference???
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 12th September 2008
BSDKaffee's Avatar
BSDKaffee BSDKaffee is offline
Real Name: Jason Hale
Coffee Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wintersville, Ohio
Posts: 212
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by renej View Post
Bit confused here ...
Oss is deinstalled (since apparently I do not need it).
I did not do a kernel config though, but added this to /boot/loader.conf :
snd_ICH_load="YES"
Does that make a difference???
OSS is a completely separate sound driver. FreeBSD comes with it's own sound driver that works just fine.

You should add to /boot/loader.conf:
Code:
snd_ich_load="YES"
Notice the lowercase. This will load the FreeBSD sound driver when you reboot.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 12th September 2008
renej renej is offline
Real Name: Rene
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry BSDKaffee, but I made a typo here ...
I actually did add just that to /boot/loader.conf :
Quote:
snd_ich_load="YES"
alas ... no sound for me
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 12th September 2008
BSDKaffee's Avatar
BSDKaffee BSDKaffee is offline
Real Name: Jason Hale
Coffee Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wintersville, Ohio
Posts: 212
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
Default

What application are you trying to use that isn't working?

It looked like you had the pcm driver loaded before and it recognized your sound card.

Make sure your speakers or whatever are plugged into the correct jack. Sometimes the driver doesn't always pick the one that you think it should be. Try the other ones.

You can do a quick test to see if sound is flowing to the speakers (turn the volume down a bit first):
$ cat /dev/random > /dev/dsp
That should produce some audible static. You could also use a .wav file...that might be a little bit more pleasant to listen to (although it may sound slow).
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 12th September 2008
robbak's Avatar
robbak robbak is offline
Real Name: Robert Backhaus
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Queensland, Australia
Posts: 366
Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
Default

So, you uninstalled OSS, added snd_ich_load="YES", rebooted, and got no sound?

If so, then do kldload snd_driver, and check the console output, and /dev/sndstat.

Also, do you not get the sound devices, do you get the /dev/dsp* devices but get an error when you attempt to use them, or do things appear to work, but it stays silent? There are many ways in which sound could fail, you know.
__________________
The only dumb question is a question not asked.
The only dumb answer is an answer not given.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 12th September 2008
18Googol2's Avatar
18Googol2 18Googol2 is offline
Real Name: whoami
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: pwd
Posts: 283
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Pls post the output of

%kldstat
__________________
The power of plain text? It can control an entire OS
Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008
renej renej is offline
Real Name: Rene
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The outcome of 'kldstat'
Quote:
$kldstat
Id Refs Address Size Name
1 13 0xc0400000 97c8a8 kernel
Segmentation fault: 11 (core dumped)
I did do the command
Quote:
#kldload snd_driver
I am trying to use the BMPx player. Sound does seem to play, there is no specific error message .. but I hear nothing. Changing the jack does not make any difference.

$ cat /dev/random > /dev/dsp doesn't seem to do a thing

I really appreciate your help .. as you may notice i am not exactly a BSD guru. I also try to find information, but till now nothing i read seems to help.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008
BSDKaffee's Avatar
BSDKaffee BSDKaffee is offline
Real Name: Jason Hale
Coffee Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wintersville, Ohio
Posts: 212
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
Default

What is the output of:
$ mixer
Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008
renej renej is offline
Real Name: Rene
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
$mixer
Mixer vol is currently set to 75:75
Mixer pcm is currently set to 75:75
Mixer speaker is currently set to 75:75
Mixer line is currently set to 75:75
Mixer mic is currently set to 0:0
Mixer cd is currently set to 75:75
Mixer rec is currently set to 0:0
Mixer igain is currently set to 0:0
Mixer line1 is currently set to 75:75
Mixer video is currently set to 75:75
Recording source: mic
By the way, I noticed that when booting up, among the countless lines I see this one :
pcm0rimary codec not ready!
Does that have any significance for this case??

It also has nothing to do with permissions, does it?? When setting up the system I added myself to group wheel ... that should give me the needed permissions or do i see that wrong?
Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008
BSDKaffee's Avatar
BSDKaffee BSDKaffee is offline
Real Name: Jason Hale
Coffee Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wintersville, Ohio
Posts: 212
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
Default

Try turning igain up:
$ mixer igain 75

If that doesn't help, I would suspect that your AC'97 codec is not supported since you are getting "primary codec not ready" messages. Do you know which AC'97 codec you have?

In the case it's not supported, I would try using the OSS drivers instead. They tend to support a wider range of hardware. The only downside about them is that they don't allocate virtual channels automatically. Be sure to unload the FreeBSD driver (and preferably reboot) before trying to use them though.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

Did you
Code:
kld_load sound
or forgot to do it?
Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008
DutchDaemon's Avatar
DutchDaemon DutchDaemon is offline
Real Name: Ben
Spam Refugee
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 337
Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
Default

FreeBSD will load the sound module automatically when a sound device module is loaded. At least, FreebSD 7 does that.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

OK, what does dmesg says?
Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008
renej renej is offline
Real Name: Rene
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

dmesg says :
Quote:
FreeBSD 7.1-PRERELEASE #0: Mon Sep 8 09:18:48 CEST 2008
root@bsddevil:/usr/obj/usr/src/sys/GENERIC
Timecounter "i8254" frequency 1193182 Hz quality 0
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz (2992.51-MHz 686-class CPU)
Origin = "GenuineIntel" Id = 0xf29 Stepping = 9
Features=0xbfebfbff<FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE ,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CLFLUSH, DTS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PBE>
Features2=0x4400<CNXT-ID,xTPR>
Logical CPUs per core: 2
real memory = 2684289024 (2559 MB)
avail memory = 2610778112 (2489 MB)
ACPI APIC Table: <IntelR AWRDACPI>
FreeBSD/SMP: Multiprocessor System Detected: 2 CPUs
cpu0 (BSP): APIC ID: 0
cpu1 (AP): APIC ID: 1
ioapic0: Changing APIC ID to 2
ioapic0 <Version 2.0> irqs 0-23 on motherboard
kbd1 at kbdmux0
ath_hal: 0.9.20.3 (AR5210, AR5211, AR5212, RF5111, RF5112, RF2413, RF5413)
acpi0: <IntelR AWRDACPI> on motherboard
acpi0: [ITHREAD]
acpi0: Power Button (fixed)
acpi0: reservation of 0, a0000 (3) failed
acpi0: reservation of 100000, 9fef0000 (3) failed
Timecounter "ACPI-fast" frequency 3579545 Hz quality 1000
acpi_timer0: <24-bit timer at 3.579545MHz> port 0x408-0x40b on acpi0
pcib0: <ACPI Host-PCI bridge> port 0xcf8-0xcff on acpi0
pci0: <ACPI PCI bus> on pcib0
agp0: <Intel 82865 host to AGP bridge> on hostb0
pcib1: <PCI-PCI bridge> at device 1.0 on pci0
pci1: <PCI bus> on pcib1
vgapci0: <VGA-compatible display> mem 0xf4000000-0xf4ffffff,0xe0000000-0xefffffff,0xf5000000-0xf5ffffff irq 16 at device 0.0 on pci1
nvidia0: <Unknown> on vgapci0
vgapci0: child nvidia0 requested pci_enable_busmaster
vgapci0: child nvidia0 requested pci_enable_io
nvidia0: [GIANT-LOCKED]
nvidia0: [ITHREAD]
uhci0: <Intel 82801EB (ICH5) USB controller USB-A> port 0xac00-0xac1f irq 16 at device 29.0 on pci0
uhci0: [GIANT-LOCKED]
uhci0: [ITHREAD]
usb0: <Intel 82801EB (ICH5) USB controller USB-A> on uhci0
usb0: USB revision 1.0
uhub0: <Intel UHCI root hub, class 9/0, rev 1.00/1.00, addr 1> on usb0
uhub0: 2 ports with 2 removable, self powered
uhci1: <Intel 82801EB (ICH5) USB controller USB-B> port 0xa000-0xa01f irq 19 at device 29.1 on pci0
uhci1: [GIANT-LOCKED]
uhci1: [ITHREAD]
usb1: <Intel 82801EB (ICH5) USB controller USB-B> on uhci1
usb1: USB revision 1.0
uhub1: <Intel UHCI root hub, class 9/0, rev 1.00/1.00, addr 1> on usb1
uhub1: 2 ports with 2 removable, self powered
uhci2: <Intel 82801EB (ICH5) USB controller USB-C> port 0xa400-0xa41f irq 18 at device 29.2 on pci0
uhci2: [GIANT-LOCKED]
uhci2: [ITHREAD]
usb2: <Intel 82801EB (ICH5) USB controller USB-C> on uhci2
usb2: USB revision 1.0
uhub2: <Intel UHCI root hub, class 9/0, rev 1.00/1.00, addr 1> on usb2
uhub2: 2 ports with 2 removable, self powered
uhci3: <Intel 82801EB (ICH5) USB controller USB-D> port 0xa800-0xa81f irq 16 at device 29.3 on pci0
uhci3: [GIANT-LOCKED]
uhci3: [ITHREAD]
usb3: <Intel 82801EB (ICH5) USB controller USB-D> on uhci3
usb3: USB revision 1.0
uhub3: <Intel UHCI root hub, class 9/0, rev 1.00/1.00, addr 1> on usb3
uhub3: 2 ports with 2 removable, self powered
ehci0: <Intel 82801EB/R (ICH5) USB 2.0 controller> mem 0xf7100000-0xf71003ff irq 23 at device 29.7 on pci0
ehci0: [GIANT-LOCKED]
ehci0: [ITHREAD]
usb4: EHCI version 1.0
usb4: companion controllers, 2 ports each: usb0 usb1 usb2 usb3
usb4: <Intel 82801EB/R (ICH5) USB 2.0 controller> on ehci0
usb4: USB revision 2.0
uhub4: <Intel EHCI root hub, class 9/0, rev 2.00/1.00, addr 1> on usb4
uhub4: 8 ports with 8 removable, self powered
ugen0: <vendor 0x046d product 0x0994, class 239/2, rev 2.00/0.07, addr 2> on uhub4
pcib2: <ACPI PCI-PCI bridge> at device 30.0 on pci0
pci2: <ACPI PCI bus> on pcib2
pci2: <network> at device 0.0 (no driver attached)
pci2: <multimedia, audio> at device 3.0 (no driver attached)
vr0: <VIA VT6105 Rhine III 10/100BaseTX> port 0x9400-0x94ff mem 0xf7002000-0xf70020ff irq 20 at device 9.0 on pci2
vr0: Quirks: 0x0
vr0: Revision: 0x8b
miibus0: <MII bus> on vr0
ukphy0: <Generic IEEE 802.3u media interface> PHY 1 on miibus0
ukphy0: 10baseT, 10baseT-FDX, 100baseTX, 100baseTX-FDX, auto
vr0: Ethernet address: 00:0c:76:77:6a:41
vr0: [ITHREAD]
isab0: <PCI-ISA bridge> at device 31.0 on pci0
isa0: <ISA bus> on isab0
atapci0: <Intel ICH5 UDMA100 controller> port 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6,0x170-0x177,0x376,0xf000-0xf00f at device 31.1 on pci0
ata0: <ATA channel 0> on atapci0
ata0: [ITHREAD]
ata1: <ATA channel 1> on atapci0
ata1: [ITHREAD]
pci0: <serial bus, SMBus> at device 31.3 (no driver attached)
pci0: <multimedia, audio> at device 31.5 (no driver attached)
cpu0: <ACPI CPU> on acpi0
p4tcc0: <CPU Frequency Thermal Control> on cpu0
cpu1: <ACPI CPU> on acpi0
p4tcc1: <CPU Frequency Thermal Control> on cpu1
acpi_button0: <Power Button> on acpi0
acpi_button1: <Sleep Button> on acpi0
acpi_tz0: <Thermal Zone> on acpi0
fdc0: <floppy drive controller> port 0x3f0-0x3f5,0x3f7 irq 6 drq 2 on acpi0
fdc0: [FILTER]
fd0: <1440-KB 3.5" drive> on fdc0 drive 0
sio0: <16550A-compatible COM port> port 0x3f8-0x3ff irq 4 flags 0x10 on acpi0
sio0: type 16550A
sio0: [FILTER]
atkbdc0: <Keyboard controller (i8042)> port 0x60,0x64 irq 1 on acpi0
atkbd0: <AT Keyboard> irq 1 on atkbdc0
kbd0 at atkbd0
atkbd0: [GIANT-LOCKED]
atkbd0: [ITHREAD]
pmtimer0 on isa0
orm0: <ISA Option ROMs> at iomem 0xd0000-0xd7fff,0xef000-0xeffff pnpid ORM0000 on isa0
ppc0: <Parallel port> at port 0x378-0x37f irq 7 on isa0
ppc0: SMC-like chipset (ECP/EPP/PS2/NIBBLE) in COMPATIBLE mode
ppc0: FIFO with 16/16/9 bytes threshold
ppbus0: <Parallel port bus> on ppc0
ppbus0: [ITHREAD]
ppbus0: IEEE1284 device found /NIBBLE/ECP
Probing for PnP devices on ppbus0:
ppbus0: <HEWLETT-PACKARD DESKJET 720C> SCP,VLINK
plip0: <PLIP network interface> on ppbus0
plip0: WARNING: using obsoleted IFF_NEEDSGIANT flag
lpt0: <Printer> on ppbus0
lpt0: Interrupt-driven port
ppi0: <Parallel I/O> on ppbus0
ppc0: [GIANT-LOCKED]
ppc0: [ITHREAD]
sc0: <System console> at flags 0x100 on isa0
sc0: VGA <16 virtual consoles, flags=0x300>
sio1: configured irq 3 not in bitmap of probed irqs 0
sio1: port may not be enabled
vga0: <Generic ISA VGA> at port 0x3c0-0x3df iomem 0xa0000-0xbffff on isa0
ums0: <Logitech USB RECEIVER, class 0/0, rev 1.10/25.10, addr 2> on uhub0
ums0: 16 buttons and Z dir.
umass0: <MEDION Medion Flash XL V3.0A, class 0/0, rev 1.10/3.0a, addr 2> on uhub1
uhub5: <ALCOR Generic USB Hub, class 9/0, rev 1.10/3.12, addr 2> on uhub3
uhub5: 2 ports with 2 removable, self powered
uhid0: <vendor 0x0d8c product 0x000c, class 0/0, rev 1.10/1.00, addr 3> on uhub5
ugen1: <vendor 0x0e6a USB Bridge, class 0/0, rev 1.10/5.12, addr 4> on uhub5
Timecounters tick every 1.000 msec
ad0: 152627MB <Seagate ST3160021A 3.04> at ata0-master UDMA100
acd0: DVDROM <SONY DVD-ROM DDU1612/DYS3> at ata0-slave UDMA33
acd1: DVDR <PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-106D/1.07> at ata1-master UDMA33
SMP: AP CPU #1 Launched!
da0 at umass-sim0 bus 0 target 0 lun 0
da0: <Medion Flash XL CF 3.0A> Removable Direct Access SCSI-0 device
da0: 1.000MB/s transfers
da0: Attempt to query device size failed: NOT READY, Medium not present
da1 at umass-sim0 bus 0 target 0 lun 1
da1: <Medion Flash XL MS 3.0A> Removable Direct Access SCSI-0 device
da1: 1.000MB/s transfers
da1: Attempt to query device size failed: NOT READY, Medium not present
da2 at umass-sim0 bus 0 target 0 lun 2
da2: <Medion Flash XL MMC/SD 3.0A> Removable Direct Access SCSI-0 device
da2: 1.000MB/s transfers
da2: Attempt to query device size failed: NOT READY, Medium not present
da3 at umass-sim0 bus 0 target 0 lun 3
da3: <Medion Flash XL SM 3.0A> Removable Direct Access SCSI-0 device
da3: 1.000MB/s transfers
da3: Attempt to query device size failed: NOT READY, Medium not present
GEOM_LABEL: Label for provider ad0s3 is msdosfs/DATACOMMON.
Trying to mount root from ufs:/dev/ad0s1a
GEOM_LABEL: Label msdosfs/DATACOMMON removed.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008
renej renej is offline
Real Name: Rene
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok all,

I installed OSS via ports and added "oss_load="YES" to etc/rc.conf.
And HURRAH, success .. i now have sound.
Only thing is that now ossinfo and osstest see two soundcards; the onboard one
and the other one (AudigyLS). Can that later give me problems? For now it seems
to be working alright.
I do use the AudigyLS in my other partitions and for SKYPE, so don't really wanna remove that one. Guess i could uncheck the onboard in BIOS, but is that needed??

I want to thank all of you for the support and advice!! And don't worry, you'll hear from me again. I already have a next problem .. and my next big challenge will be to install Skype.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

No no need removing it.
When i was linux guy i was using 2 sound cards at same time (one for sound, one for skype) (with ALSA as usually)

idk, if it's possible on FreeBSD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
oss, sound

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording sound with external sound card backrow OpenBSD General 5 21st August 2009 08:17 PM
Sound Problem. MetalHead OpenBSD General 3 16th November 2008 09:27 PM
Problem with no sound in games troberts FreeBSD General 9 21st July 2008 08:53 PM
problem with Virtual Sound Channels in FreeBSD 7 casper007 FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 3 16th July 2008 04:22 PM
USB Sound? FreeMan OpenBSD General 16 7th May 2008 06:09 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick