DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Other Operating Systems > Other BSD and UNIX/UNIX-like

Other BSD and UNIX/UNIX-like Any other flavour of BSD or UNIX that does not have a section of its own.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th November 2008
atphalix atphalix is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy can't boot live *BSD through QEMU!

I've tried to boot an openbsd based livcd (bsdanywhere43-i386.iso) and netbsd based one (jibbed-LiveCD-0.15.72.iso) with qemu but they both fail as the kernel hangs as it can't find the root filesystem.
I'm using the following command to boot:
.\qemu\qemu -boot d -cdrom ..\..\Downloads\bsdanywhere43-i386.iso -L .\qemu

here is a screenshot of openbsd:

and netbsd:



I've already checked both checksum and they are ok.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th November 2008
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

OpenBSD doesn't always place nicely with emulators..

Solution? don't boot OpenBSD in an emulator...
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th November 2008
fbsduser fbsduser is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 103
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Solution reverse the OS's (put BSD as the one booting the computer and windoze inside the emulator).
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th November 2008
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,116
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

I only played with qemu under OpenBSD, not under XP, so I am not sure if the following applies to qemu under XP

Have you created a image file for qemu to work with?
Code:
qemu-img create -f qcow2 MyQemu.disk 2G
Invoke qemu with the "-m 512" option to specify 512 MB of RAM for qemu to use:
Code:
qemu -m 512 -boot d -cdrom <your.livecd.iso> -monitor stdio -L <BIOS and keymaps> MyQemu.disk
Most LiveCD's I played with needed at least 512MB memory.
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st December 2008
DNAeon DNAeon is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 138
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

As J65nko suggested - you should have a qemu image file.

I'm running qemu on a FreeBSD host system with no problems.

Also, right now I tested qemu under Windows XP host system and OpenBSD works fine.

These are the commands I used:
Code:
qemu-img.exe create obsd.img 4G
Code:
qemu.exe -L . -boot d -hda obsd.img -cdrom install44.iso -localtime -m 256
However I haven't tested it with LiveCD, but instead I used an OpenBSD 4.4 ISO.
__________________
"I never think of the future. It comes soon enough." - A.E

Useful links: FreeBSD Handbook | FreeBSD Developer's Handbook | The Porter's Handbook | PF User's Guide | unix-heaven.org
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st December 2008
s2scott's Avatar
s2scott s2scott is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 198
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

If those are shots of guest openBSD-as-guest on a windows (xp) host, and if you're not married to qemu, I successfully run openBSD-as-guest (on XP) in VirtualBox (xVM).

Virtualbox is open source (Sun's meanings) and free.

Haven't tried the LiveCD, but the native openBSD installs and runs quite well.

/S
__________________
Never argue with an idiot. They will bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st December 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,431
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

One possibility is too small a memory system.

I have run my OpenBSD LiveCD images successfully in qemu for windows. I have found that adding -std-vga is helpful to run X. For example:

C:\qemu> qemu -L . -boot d -cdrom fluxbox.i386.4.4.3.iso -std-vga -m 384
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 12th June 2009
Igorokk's Avatar
Igorokk Igorokk is offline
Real Name: Igorokk
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default cant boot live BSD through QEMU

Good business!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
qemu

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live *BSD Distribution JMJ_coder Other BSD and UNIX/UNIX-like 22 12th February 2010 05:29 PM
Successfully booting NetBSD Live on a Sony Vaio PCG-GRZ530 with limited results Mr-Biscuit NetBSD General 6 26th May 2009 11:47 AM
pf and xbox live _mg_ FreeBSD Security 2 7th January 2009 10:32 PM
Jailed QEMU + other OS revzalot FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 3 29th May 2008 06:00 PM
Installing 64bit from scratch on a 32bit live system an0r0c FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 1 11th May 2008 04:16 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick