DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th January 2009
maxrussell maxrussell is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montrose, Angus
Posts: 181
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default mount da0s1 not recognised.

I'm trying to mount a Western Digital Passport drive. I can see it turn up in /dev as da0s1.

I try to mount it, thusly:

sudo mount -t msdosfs -o -m=644,-M=755 /dev/da0s1 /mnt/flash/

however I keep getting either:

mount_msdosfs: /dev/da0s1: : Input/output error

I am working on the premise that this is msdosfs here.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th January 2009
cajunman4life cajunman4life is offline
Real Name: Aaron Graves
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Coolidge, Arizona
Posts: 203
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Default

What is listed in /dev/msdosfs?
__________________
I just saved a bunch of money on my car insurance by fleeing the scene of the accident!
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th January 2009
maxrussell maxrussell is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montrose, Angus
Posts: 181
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ls /dev doesn't report /msdosfs

Code:
max@/dev: ls
acd0            ad0s1e          cuad0           dsp0.0          klog            net             nvidiactl       sndstat         ttyp1           ttyv6           ttyvf           zero
acd1            ad0s1f          cuad0.init      dumpdev         kmem            net1            pass0           stderr          ttyp2           ttyv7           ugen0
acpi            ata             cuad0.lock      fd              log             net2            pci             stdin           ttyp3           ttyv8           ugen0.1
ad0             atkbd0          da0             fido            lpt0            net3            ppi0            stdout          ttyv0           ttyv9           ums0
ad0s1           audit           da0s1           geom.ctl        lpt0.ctl        network         ptyp0           sysmouse        ttyv1           ttyva           urandom
ad0s1a          bpf0            dcons           io              mdctl           nfs4            ptyp1           ttyd0           ttyv2           ttyvb           usb
ad0s1b          console         devctl          kbd0            mem             nfslock         ptyp2           ttyd0.init      ttyv3           ttyvc           usb0
ad0s1c          consolectl      devstat         kbd1            midistat        null            ptyp3           ttyd0.lock      ttyv4           ttyvd           usb1
ad0s1d          ctty            dgdb            kbdmux0         mixer0          nvidia0         random          ttyp0           ttyv5           ttyve           xpt0
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th January 2009
maxrussell maxrussell is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montrose, Angus
Posts: 181
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

dmesg keeps reporting:

umass0: BBB reset failed, IOERROR
umass0: BBB bulk-in clear stall failed, IOERROR
umass0: BBB bulk-out clear stall failed, IOERROR
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th January 2009
maxrussell maxrussell is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montrose, Angus
Posts: 181
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Do I need to install fusefs? I've seen that used elsewhere for a Seagate drive (although the instructions were for 6.x)

EDIT:

max@~: usbdevs -v
Controller /dev/usb0:
addr 1: full speed, self powered, config 1, OHCI root hub(0x0000), nVidia(0x0000), rev 1.00
port 1 addr 2: full speed, power 100 mA, config 1, product 0x0920(0x0920), vendor 0x046d(0x046d), rev 0.01
port 2 addr 3: low speed, power 100 mA, config 1, Microsoft 3-Button Mouse with IntelliEye(TM)(0x0040), Microsoft(0x045e), rev 3.00
port 3 powered
port 4 powered
port 5 powered
port 6 powered
port 7 powered
port 8 powered
Controller /dev/usb1:
addr 1: high speed, self powered, config 1, EHCI root hub(0x0000), nVidia(0x0000), rev 1.00
port 1 powered
port 2 powered
port 3 powered
port 4 powered
port 5 powered
port 6 powered
port 7 powered
port 8 addr 2: high speed, power 100 mA, config 1, product 0x2168(0x2168), vendor 0x0ea0(0x0ea0), rev 2.00
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th January 2009
cajunman4life cajunman4life is offline
Real Name: Aaron Graves
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Coolidge, Arizona
Posts: 203
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Hmm... strange.

On my system, I plug in a WD Passport USB drive, and its device entry is listed in /dev/msdosfs/<VOLUME NAME>.

Then I do a mount_msdosfs /dev/msdosfs/<VOLUME NAME> /mnt/hdd and it works perfectly.
__________________
I just saved a bunch of money on my car insurance by fleeing the scene of the accident!
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th January 2009
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,088
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

The problems are coming from the umass(4) driver, I would say there is something from with either your USB drive or your computers USB port.

Try the stick at another PC, try another stick on this PC.
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 16th January 2009
maxrussell maxrussell is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montrose, Angus
Posts: 181
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carpetsmoker View Post
The problems are coming from the umass(4) driver, I would say there is something from with either your USB drive or your computers USB port.

Try the stick at another PC, try another stick on this PC.
This USB HD definitely works (wife's laptop, other WIndows PC). It does have some kind of proprietary drivers on it though... Could be that?
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 16th January 2009
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,254
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

Please verify your premise that it is msdos/FAT. What does fdisk report about that slice?
Code:
# fdisk da0s1
EDIT: INCORRECT as pointed out by Mr Carpetsmoker. It should be
Code:
# fdisk da0
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump

Last edited by J65nko; 16th January 2009 at 08:56 AM. Reason: Correction
Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2009
maxrussell maxrussell is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montrose, Angus
Posts: 181
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

max@/dev: sudo fdisk da0s1
Password:
fdisk: can't open device da0s1
fdisk: cannot open disk da0s1: Input/output error
Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2009
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,088
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

You should use fdisk da0, not fdisk da0s1

Quote:
It does have some kind of proprietary drivers on it though... Could be that?
Hm, I've used passport drives in the past (On Windows, not FreeBSD) and I never needed a special driver or something, just the generic USB mass storage device.
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2009
maxrussell maxrussell is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montrose, Angus
Posts: 181
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I believe they actually have driver software on as default on the latest versions, however I may look at reformatting it.
Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2009
maxrussell maxrussell is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montrose, Angus
Posts: 181
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Reformatted it as NTFS, having backed off the data. Now it doesn't seem to turn up at all as da0s1 under /dev
Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2009
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,088
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

How did you format it? Maybe there is no MBR on the device? In that case you'll have to use /dev/da0.

And what does dmesg say?
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2009
maxrussell maxrussell is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montrose, Angus
Posts: 181
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

da0 does not show up under dev either:

Code:
max@/dev: ls
acd0            ad0s1d          consolectl      dgdb            kbd1            mem             nfs4            ptyp1           ttyd0.init      ttyv4           ttyvc           usb
acd1            ad0s1e          ctty            dsp0.0          kbdmux0         midistat        nfslock         random          ttyd0.lock      ttyv5           ttyvd           usb0
acpi            ad0s1f          cuad0           dumpdev         klog            mixer0          null            sndstat         ttyp0           ttyv6           ttyve           usb1
ad0             ata             cuad0.init      fd              kmem            net             nvidia0         stderr          ttyp1           ttyv7           ttyvf           xpt0
ad0s1           atkbd0          cuad0.lock      fido            log             net1            nvidiactl       stdin           ttyv0           ttyv8           ugen0           zero
ad0s1a          audit           dcons           geom.ctl        lpt0            net2            pci             stdout          ttyv1           ttyv9           ugen0.1
ad0s1b          bpf0            devctl          io              lpt0.ctl        net3            ppi0            sysmouse        ttyv2           ttyva           ums0
ad0s1c          console         devstat         kbd0            mdctl           network         ptyp0           ttyd0           ttyv3           ttyvb           urandom
I know that -
The usb port functions as I have tested it with two thumb drives.
The USB Hard Drive functions, is formatted to NTFS.

How would I tell if it doesn't have an MBR? (Verify?)

EDIT - I formatted it on XP using the disk format tool, selecting NTFS and quick format.

Last edited by maxrussell; 17th January 2009 at 10:39 AM. Reason: note on formatting
Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2009
maxrussell maxrussell is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montrose, Angus
Posts: 181
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Also, I've seen instructions for installing fusefs:

http://blog.opusinteractive.com/ever...te-in-freebsd/

Is this required in 7.0?
Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2009
maxrussell maxrussell is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montrose, Angus
Posts: 181
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

My kernel config is currently GENERIC:

Code:
# USB support
device		uhci		# UHCI PCI->USB interface
device		ohci		# OHCI PCI->USB interface
device		ehci		# EHCI PCI->USB interface (USB 2.0)
device		usb		# USB Bus (required)
#device		udbp		# USB Double Bulk Pipe devices
device		ugen		# Generic
device		uhid		# "Human Interface Devices"
device		ukbd		# Keyboard
device		ulpt		# Printer
device		umass		# Disks/Mass storage - Requires scbus and da
device		ums		# Mouse
device		ural		# Ralink Technology RT2500USB wireless NICs
device		rum		# Ralink Technology RT2501USB wireless NICs
device		urio		# Diamond Rio 500 MP3 player
device		uscanner	# Scanners
Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2009
cajunman4life cajunman4life is offline
Real Name: Aaron Graves
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Coolidge, Arizona
Posts: 203
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Default

I think the reason why it's not showing up at all now is because you formatted NTFS... Try to format as fat32 again, and this time try mount with no type.

My WD Passport drive works as I mentioned above, but when I tried to use my Sandisk Micro Cruzer USB thumbdrive last night, I had the same problems as you, but used:

mount /dev/da0s1 /mnt

And it worked fine. But with mount_msdosfs I was getting errors.
__________________
I just saved a bunch of money on my car insurance by fleeing the scene of the accident!
Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2009
maxrussell maxrussell is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montrose, Angus
Posts: 181
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Okay. Just backed it off, reformatted as vfat (using a Vista machine), plugged it in, run ls /dev

not there.
Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2009
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,088
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

It does not matter what filesystem is on the device, the device can be filled with complete random data, /dev/da0 should still be there.

/dev/da0s* is/are only created if there is a partition table/MBR on the device, if there isn't a partition table (Common on USB sticks because of Windows limitations) then you can just mount /dev/da0.

Again, when you plug in the device, what does dmesg say?
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to mount ext3 guitarscn FreeBSD General 2 26th August 2009 07:31 PM
ssh mount inquiry revzalot Solaris 1 18th March 2009 11:49 PM
mount ufs from linux kanonmat FreeBSD General 8 2nd December 2008 06:13 AM
NFS mount /usr/home? giddyupman FreeBSD General 1 1st September 2008 07:06 PM
Cannot mount (NTFS) IIMarckus OpenBSD General 4 11th August 2008 08:44 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick