DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th May 2011
rjtp rjtp is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default No sound azalia intel 82801H HD Audio

Hi,

The device is detected and i can see the audio being played by mplayer,vlc.
But there's no sound. here's my current mixerctl and audio settings


$ mixerctl -av
outputs.hp_source=mix2 [ dac-0:1 dac-2:3 mix2 ]
outputs.hp_boost=off [ off on ]
outputs.mic_dir=input-vr80 [ none input input-vr0 input-vr50 input-vr80 ]
outputs.mic2_dir=input-vr80 [ none input input-vr0 input-vr50 input-vr80 ]
outputs.spkr_source=dac-2:3 [ dac-0:1 dac-2:3 mix2 ]
inputs.dac-0:1_mute=off [ off on ]
inputs.dac-0:1=0,0
inputs.dac-2:3_mute=off [ off on ]
inputs.dac-2:3=0,0
inputs.sel_source=mix2 [ dac-0:1 dac-2:3 mix2 ]
inputs.mix2_source=dac-0:1,dac-2:3,sel2,sel3 { dac-0:1 dac-2:3 sel2 sel3 }
inputs.mix2_dac-0:1=120,120
inputs.mix2_dac-2:3=120,120
inputs.mix2_sel2=120,120
inputs.mix2_sel3=120,120
inputs.sel2_source=mic2 [ mic mic2 ]
outputs.sel2=85,85
inputs.sel3_source=mic [ mic mic2 ]
outputs.sel3=85,85
record.adc-0:1_source=sel2 [ sel2 mix2 ]
record.adc-0:1_mute=off [ off on ]
record.adc-0:1=119,119
record.adc-2:3_source=sel3 [ sel3 mix2 ]
record.adc-2:3_mute=off [ off on ]
record.adc-2:3=119,119
inputs.sel6_source=adc-0:1 [ adc-0:1 adc-2:3 ]
inputs.sel7_source=adc-0:1 [ adc-0:1 adc-2:3 ]
inputs.beep_mute=off [ off on ]
inputs.beep=85
outputs.hp_sense=unplugged [ unplugged plugged ]
outputs.mic_sense=unplugged [ unplugged plugged ]
outputs.spkr_muters=hp { hp }
outputs.master=0,0
outputs.master.mute=off [ off on ]
outputs.master.slaves=dac-0:1,dac-2:3 { dac-0:1 dac-2:3 sel2 sel3 beep }
record.volume=119,119
record.volume.mute=off [ off on ]
record.volume.slaves=adc-0:1,adc-2:3 { adc-0:1 adc-2:3 }



$audioctl -f /dev/audio
name=HD-Audio
version=1.0
config=azalia0
encodings=slinear_le:16:2:1,slinear_le:20:4:1,slin ear_le:24:4:1
properties=full_duplex,independent
full_duplex=0
fullduplex=0
blocksize=9600
hiwat=6
lowat=4
output_muted=0
monitor_gain=0
mode=play
play.rate=48000
play.sample_rate=48000
play.channels=2
play.precision=16
play.bps=2
play.msb=1
play.encoding=slinear_le
play.gain=0
play.balance=32
play.port=0x0
play.avail_ports=0x0
play.seek=0
play.samples=0
play.eof=0
play.pause=0
play.error=0
play.waiting=0
play.open=1
play.active=0
play.buffer_size=65536
play.block_size=9600
play.errors=0
record.rate=48000
record.sample_rate=48000
record.channels=2
record.precision=16
record.bps=2
record.msb=1
record.encoding=slinear_le
record.gain=119
record.balance=32
record.port=0x0
record.avail_ports=0x0
record.seek=0
record.samples=0
record.eof=0
record.pause=0
record.error=0record.open=1
record.active=0
record.buffer_size=65536
record.block_size=9600
record.errors=0

record.waiting=0
Attached Files
File Type: txt dmesg.txt (7.0 KB, 11 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th May 2011
denta denta is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 73
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It seems like your master volume is set to 0?
Quote:
outputs.master=0,0
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th May 2011
rjtp rjtp is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

Sorry i didn't noticed it. i had tried increasing the output.masters to output.masters=255,255. still no sound. Any thing else to be changed? here's the current one.
outputs.hp_source=mix2 [ dac-0:1 dac-2:3 mix2 ]
outputs.hp_boost=off [ off on ]
outputs.mic_dir=input-vr80 [ none input input-vr0 input-vr50 input-vr80 ]
outputs.mic2_dir=input-vr80 [ none input input-vr0 input-vr50 input-vr80 ]
outputs.spkr_source=dac-2:3 [ dac-0:1 dac-2:3 mix2 ]
inputs.dac-0:1_mute=off [ off on ]
inputs.dac-0:1=254,254
inputs.dac-2:3_mute=off [ off on ]
inputs.dac-2:3=254,254
inputs.sel_source=mix2 [ dac-0:1 dac-2:3 mix2 ]
inputs.mix2_source=dac-0:1,dac-2:3,sel2,sel3 { dac-0:1 dac-2:3 sel2 sel3 }
inputs.mix2_dac-0:1=120,120
inputs.mix2_dac-2:3=120,120
inputs.mix2_sel2=120,120
inputs.mix2_sel3=120,120
inputs.sel2_source=mic2 [ mic mic2 ]
outputs.sel2=85,85
inputs.sel3_source=mic [ mic mic2 ]
outputs.sel3=85,85
record.adc-0:1_source=sel2 [ sel2 mix2 ]
record.adc-0:1_mute=off [ off on ]
record.adc-0:1=119,119
record.adc-2:3_source=sel3 [ sel3 mix2 ]
record.adc-2:3_mute=off [ off on ]
record.adc-2:3=119,119
inputs.sel6_source=adc-0:1 [ adc-0:1 adc-2:3 ]
inputs.sel7_source=adc-0:1 [ adc-0:1 adc-2:3 ]
inputs.beep_mute=off [ off on ]
inputs.beep=85
outputs.hp_sense=unplugged [ unplugged plugged ]
outputs.mic_sense=unplugged [ unplugged plugged ]
outputs.spkr_muters=hp { hp }
outputs.master=255,255
outputs.master.mute=off [ off on ]
outputs.master.slaves=dac-0:1,dac-2:3 { dac-0:1 dac-2:3 sel2 sel3 beep }
record.volume=119,119
record.volume.mute=off [ off on ]
record.volume.slaves=adc-0:1,adc-2:3 { adc-0:1 adc-2:3 }
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th May 2011
shep shep is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 582
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

The hda sound codec is somewhat of a morass with manufacturers, particularly laptop manufacturers, hard wiring the chip in different, non-standardize ways. Have you tried internet searches for your particular device? How about FreeBSD/NetBSD support? Searching Linux/alsa compatability might let you know about funny wiring. I put Arch Linux on an old laptop for a neighbor and what was detected as speaker outputs actually was the headphones jack. I also installed OpenBSD on a Via Viotech 3100+ motherboard (would not support 2 SATA drives but would support 1 SATA and 1 IDE) only to have the hda sound not work. Rather than fight with it, I put in FreeBSD and sound worked out of the box.

Last edited by shep; 6th May 2011 at 08:54 PM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 7th May 2011
rjtp rjtp is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

I have tried searching on the internet. found in some forums to change some
mixerctl values, but it don't work for me. audio device here seems to be same as mine but sound works http://www.daemonforums.org/showpost...6&postcount=48 . Yes, sound works fine on Freebsd with snd_hda module,but i really liked Openbsd,suspend/resume and everything else works fine,except for the audio

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 7th May 2011
shep shep is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 582
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Do you get sound from the green headphone jack?
According to the azalia man page outputs.hp is for the pin complex for the headphone jack
http://resin.csoft.net/cgi-bin/man.c...4&topic=azalia
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th May 2011
rjtp rjtp is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I get a very low sound when inputs.dac* other outputs.* variables are set to maximum, but the sound is too low and not clear.seems like there's some settings that i need to change, will get back if it works
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th May 2011
shep shep is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 582
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Another thought would be to try the OSS drivers. I used the older OSS drivers in a linux laptop that used a second sound driver for the on board modem. I was able to work around an IRQ conflict between the modem/sound drivers by using the OSS drivers instead of alsa

The OSS website has not been updated so I do not know if the OSS drivers work for more recent OpenBSD version.

http://www.opensound.com/openbsd.html

Last edited by shep; 12th May 2011 at 12:35 AM. Reason: Correct Grammer
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 12th May 2011
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Indeed, do not use them.. OpenBSD has its own wrapper implemetation API of OSSv3 and a native interface, sndio.

The kernel drivers are good, but azalia is complex and often needs some fine tuning.. it is almost impossible to pick default settings that work on every device, so play with mixerctl.

The alternative is to contact someone who can help you, the primary developer, for example.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2011
rjtp rjtp is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,
Thank you all for helping. i haven't checked the audio for sometimes, i have openbsd installed on an another laptop,Everything works on it, except for keyboard not working after suspend http://www.daemonforums.org/showthread.php?t=5945 .But it's ok, I'm happy with it now

Thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
azalia Intel SCH HD Audio strange audio issues tehsean OpenBSD General 3 26th August 2012 12:21 AM
netbsd 5 audio from mic in jaideep_jdof NetBSD General 0 28th April 2010 06:15 PM
netbsd 5 and intel hda audio support jaideep_jdof NetBSD General 5 18th September 2009 05:50 PM
Recording sound with external sound card backrow OpenBSD General 5 21st August 2009 08:17 PM
Intel High Definition Audio Stuttering Mare FreeBSD General 0 17th June 2008 10:03 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick