DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2011
mbonitat mbonitat is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Lenovo T60 as a wireless AP (wpi0), DHCP server

All,
I have been diligent in looking for the missing piece of this wireless puzzle. I have configured as far as I know the AP (with wpi0) including the firmware. DHCP is configured as well. When I do an ifconfig the laptop shows wpi0 is up, broadcast, and running, shows ssid (nwid) and wpakey. I can ping address 192.168.1.1. Here is where my problem lies, status:no network. Why? Did I miss something? Is there some other info I can provide? Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2011
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,831
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbonitat View Post
Is there some other info I can provide?
Yes. Please post the entire contents of the following:
  • the entire output of dmesg(8).
  • the entire output of ifconfig(8).
  • the entire contents of /etc/hostname.wpi if it exists.
  • the entire contents of /etc/dhcpd.conf if you are running dhcpd on this laptop. If not, where is the DHCP server, & what subnet is it providing?
Have you tried to connect to the AP using a static IP address instead of attempting to provide a DHCP address?

Thanks.

Last edited by ocicat; 30th December 2011 at 04:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2011
mbonitat mbonitat is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ocicat,
Thanks for the response...here is the info:

/etc/hostname.wpi0 inet 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0 NONE media autoselect mode 11g mediaopt hostap nwid zuma wpakey xxxxxxxxxxx

/etc/dhcpd.conf option domain-name "markjb.com";
option domain-name-servers 167.x.x.x, 167.x.x.x;

subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
option routers 192.168.0.1; (this is my openbsd router and firewall nat machine for my lan) Just want to use laptop for wireless devices
range 192.168.1.32 192.168.1.127;
}

ifconfig...not all of it (I am typing this on a window xp box)
em0 ...inet 192.168.0.87 gave it a static IP when configured it on my lan
media:Ethernet autoselect (100 baseTX full-duplex)
status:active

wpi0:flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTI CAST> mtu 1500
lladr 00:1b:77:11:a4:31
priority:4
groups:wlan
media:IEEE802.11 autoselect (autoselect mode 11g)
status:no network
ieee80211:nwid zuma wpakey (long letter/numbers of course) wpaprotos wpa1, wpa2 wpaaakms psk wpaciphers tkip,ccmp wpaggroupcipher tkip inet 192.168.1.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
Trying to figure out how to do total dmesg...its pretty lengthy as you know.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2011
IdOp's Avatar
IdOp IdOp is offline
Too dumb for a smartphone
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: twisting on the daemon's fork(2)
Posts: 534
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
media:IEEE802.11 autoselect (autoselect mode 11g)
This line from your ifconfig output suggests the interface is not running in AP mode; if it was I think the word "hostap" would appear on this line. It is probably in managed mode (the default) and is looking for an access point, is not finding one with the given network ID, and so ... no network.

To get it into hostap mode you could either reboot so that the /etc/hostname.wpi0 file will take effect. Or to do it before rebooting, just issue an ifconfig command to update to the desired mode:

# ifconfig wpi0 media autoselect mediaopt hostap

Hope that helps.

Correction: My comments above assumed that the wpi(4) driver supports hostap mode. A look at the man page indicates it doesn't. Oh well, sorry about that.

For the dmesg output, perhaps you could direct it to a file and upload that?

Last edited by IdOp; 30th December 2011 at 07:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2011
mbonitat mbonitat is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

IdOp,
Well that is certainly a bummer...I was given this laptop and I really was hoping to use it for wireless devices. I did try to change the hostname.wpi0 like you suggested rebooted and ifconfig says media:IEEE802.11 autoselect and status: no network. Back to the drawing board. Thanks for your response I greatly appreciate it. Mark
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2011
IdOp's Avatar
IdOp IdOp is offline
Too dumb for a smartphone
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: twisting on the daemon's fork(2)
Posts: 534
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

You're welcome, Mark. From my limited experience and from what I've read in this forum, my sense is that host AP mode generally is still pretty hit-and-miss, also for NetBSD and Linux. On the bright side you have a laptop to play with.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worm uses built-in DHCP server to spread J65nko News 0 6th June 2011 09:39 AM
isc dhcp server queshaw OpenBSD Packages and Ports 1 8th February 2011 11:09 AM
lenovo x60s need help with wireless kapu OpenBSD General 5 10th November 2009 02:58 PM
DHCP Server WeakSauceIII OpenBSD General 1 25th September 2008 03:34 AM
Lenovo Thinkpad T60 - FreeBSD Configuration Guidelines and Advices worldofopensource General Hardware 5 19th May 2008 12:27 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick