DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2008
enpey enpey is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Unhappy Deleted my /boot/loader

After deleting my /boot/loader file, how would I go about getting it back in there? Can I do that through an emergency shell or similar or do I have to reinstall?

Thanks,
enpey
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

There is /boot/loader.old (If you ever created custom world)

Why did you removed it? Does it looks like virus.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2008
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,062
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

You can recompile it from source:

Code:
# cd /usr/src/sys/boot/i386/loader
# make install
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2008
enpey enpey is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

No, it is not a virus. I simply made a mistake. To quote "UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things"...
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2008
enpey enpey is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I don't believe I have a /boot/loader.old, and in terms of compiling it from source, how am I to gain access to it once the computer has been rebooted?

I only have an install disc, no emergency or backup floppies.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2008
cajunman4life cajunman4life is offline
Real Name: Aaron Graves
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Coolidge, Arizona
Posts: 203
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Default

If you do exactly as carpetsmoker has said above, the "make install" will install it to /boot/loader, so when you reboot it'll be there.
__________________
I just saved a bunch of money on my car insurance by fleeing the scene of the accident!
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 7th June 2008
enpey enpey is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

The computer has already been rebooted. I am asking how to get in and do that. Can I go in through the install disc?
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 7th June 2008
enpey enpey is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I shall try compiling through a LiveCD system...downloading Frenzy Lite now.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 7th June 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

That may not work, to compile loader you will need sources (maybe including cvs/csup/include directory/ ...) and lots of RAM if you want to do that from LIVE FreeBSD.
Just copying it from cd/dvd will work, I guess, well I never tried.
Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,062
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richardpl View Post
That may not work, to compile loader you will need sources (maybe including cvs/csup/include directory/ ...) and lots of RAM if you want to do that from LIVE FreeBSD.
Just copying it from cd/dvd will work, I guess, well I never tried.
You can just mount the hard disk and store the sources there (If it's not there already).

Also, you don't lots of RAM, we're just compiling the boot loader, not a full buildworld.
On a sidenote, you can compile world with low RAM, it just takes a bit longer (I compiled FreeBSD 6 on my P1 133 / 32MB laptop).
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008
enpey enpey is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Easy as pie. Had a /boot/loader.old.

Thanks to all for their help. Here's to hoping I reduce the mistakes...
Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 699
Thanked 90 Times in 81 Posts
Default

If you have the full install CD1 (not the bootonly CD), it has a "Fixit" option in the installer. That will load a live FreeBSD system off the CD. Look under /dist once in the fixit shell for everything that comes in a FreeBSD install. Just mount your harddrive partitions onto /mnt, then you can just copy files from /dist to /mnt as needed.

FreeBSD has had a Fixit option since the early 4.x days.
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2008
enpey enpey is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix View Post
If you have the full install CD1 (not the bootonly CD), it has a "Fixit" option in the installer. That will load a live FreeBSD system off the CD. Look under /dist once in the fixit shell for everything that comes in a FreeBSD install. Just mount your harddrive partitions onto /mnt, then you can just copy files from /dist to /mnt as needed.
That was my initial plan (after which I posted here) but I was unable to use many commands (Like ls mount cp etc). I was unsure as to where and how I either get these commands (ie how to mount the hard drive with the commands or relevant part of the disc). Perhaps I was not going to the right section?

I went to Fixit -> Emergency Holographic Shell (Or something along those lines) -> ttyv4

What do I do from there in order to use the commands?
Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

YEAH, I got the point, when mounting hard disk (and adding swap) there is no real need for lots of RAM.
Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 699
Thanked 90 Times in 81 Posts
Default

Wrong option. You need to use Fixit --> CD-Rom. If you don't have the full CD1, or the Fixit CD, this option won't work. If you do, then you will be dropped to a command prompt, with a full, working FreeBSD system.
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2008
Weaseal's Avatar
Weaseal Weaseal is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 177
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

For future reference, don't delete /boot/loader. It is your boot loader
__________________
FreeBSD addict since 4.2-RELEASE.
My FreeBSD wiki.
Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2008
enpey enpey is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Ah ok, there lies my problem. That option is unavailable to me on the CD I was using.

Thank you for your helpful words Weaseal...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to boot from a CD with the FreeBSD BTX Loader? Turquoise88 FreeBSD General 6 25th August 2009 04:16 PM
How to disable FreeBSD boot loader? Turquoise88 FreeBSD General 2 17th July 2009 03:11 PM
FreeBSD boot loader menu is missing PeterSteele FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 0 26th November 2008 06:08 PM
installworld fails - because I deleted master.passwd? TomAmundsen FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 4 22nd September 2008 07:51 PM
How to modify the boot loader? Sunsawe FreeBSD General 5 29th May 2008 05:13 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick