DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 8th May 2008
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,888
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfaridi View Post
Please do not use Desktop with root
I suspect mfaridi is trying to point out that spending prolonged time while logged in as root is not advisable, but it is possible that root could have its own X configuration.
Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2008
lvlamb's Avatar
lvlamb lvlamb is offline
Real Name: Louis V. Lambrecht
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .be
Posts: 221
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Not quite. Until now, all users with a non-qwerty keyboard needed an xorg.conf just to handle the keyboard.
With keyboard auto-recognition this further reduces the need of the xorg.conf to people not using standard material, or special cases.
Note that, IIRC from ancient history, Memorex had in excess of 120 keyboard layouts in the offer. Which one's are standard?

The keyboards were with blank keys, silk-screened on demand. My! my!, shows my age.
__________________
da more I know I know I know nuttin'
Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2008
stukov's Avatar
stukov stukov is offline
Real Name: Jean-Michel Philippon-Nadeau
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada
Posts: 167
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocicat View Post
Not true. As explained above, /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc contains the default configuration for X.
Didn't knew about that. Thanks for the info ocicat!
__________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction."
Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,710
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default Step-by-step problem analysis needs to be done.

Are Shredder's problems Gnome related? Or is his X11 environment broken?

I recommend issuing "startx" from a user that does not have an .xinitrc file. Does X start? Does the default fvwm(1) window manager come up?

Trying to get Gnome working atop a broken X is a wasted effort.
If X won't start, then perhaps the problem is something as simple as FAQ 8.2, or something in FAQ 11.3 will provide appropriate guidance.

I would ensure X is working before worrying about Gnome.
Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2008
Shredder's Avatar
Shredder Shredder is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The problem is whenever X type startx, it runs OK for sometime but suddenly and randomly the system just completely hangs and freezes(Nothing works at this time, except I can turn ON and turn OFF Numlock, Capslock etc, Mouse and everything else does'nt work),

I face this problem even after configuring X using xorgconfig,

My config is:- P3 700MHz, Intel 810 Chipset(Whitney), 256MB SDRAM, 15" TFT, PS/2 Mouse, AT Keyboard, Realtek RTL8139 LAN CARD, VIA USB PCI CARD.
Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,710
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

When the X "hangs" like that again ... you can try CTRL-ALT-Backspace.

If X is still operating, it will shut itself down and you will return to console mode. (Of course, if it is no longer paying attention to the keyboard, this won't help.)
Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2008
lvlamb's Avatar
lvlamb lvlamb is offline
Real Name: Louis V. Lambrecht
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .be
Posts: 221
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

256MB RAM is a bit short for Gnome on OpenBSD.
Rule of thumg 512M on OpenBSD, 768M on FreeBSD, for relativelivy high loaded sessions.
With 256MB you need a swap label. This one might slow down the system.
Don't know if it is your case (and you aren't patient enough , but, IMVHO, if you still can use the keyboard, X might have with the display: display driver, display RAM, swapfile.
Before spending too much time, I first would check for which Intel drivers are available. On other forums, there have been problems reported for the i810 but this was a while ago.
Xenocara -current now build both i810 and the new Intel driver and choses at autoconfigure. For releases and older versions, you would have to try them manually. Maybe use the vesa driver.

If it still "hangs": check swapfile, run concky/gkrellm and top to find the culprit, try to keep your memory usage close to available RAM.
Switch to a less memory hungry window manager.
__________________
da more I know I know I know nuttin'
Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2008
Shredder's Avatar
Shredder Shredder is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

@lvlamb Dude I'm really patient ,

@jggimi, Like I said nothing works dude (CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE etc.),

If I have a swap partition will X stop hanging?

And in xorgconfig I selected i810 driver,

And does Intel 810 display adapter have any inbuilt memory?

Last edited by Shredder; 9th May 2008 at 02:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,710
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

If you don't have swap space defined ... and you run out of RAM, the OS will do one of two things:
  1. Panic
  2. Hang
It could be doing either; a panic will drop to the ddb(8) debugger by default, but ... when you have X running, you would not see it.
Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2008
lvlamb's Avatar
lvlamb lvlamb is offline
Real Name: Louis V. Lambrecht
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .be
Posts: 221
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

I am not litterate about i810.
I have an Intel (#???) said VGA "chip" on my motherboard. Such on-board VGA mostly "share" (what that means? Thery reserve, they don't share) a part of the system RAM. Done via the BIOS setup. Hence, eats a part of your 256MB.
The way VGA card works, huge memory on VGA cards will not help your system memory to be a bit short for GNOME.

On-board VGA all are different, can be wired differently at the manufacturer from one revision of the mobo to the other.
The i810 driver {might | might not} be the proper one for your system.
__________________
da more I know I know I know nuttin'
Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2008
Shredder's Avatar
Shredder Shredder is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

@ jggimi ,

I downloaded this Gnome Live CD(Comes with OpenBSD 4.3 rite?):-
ftp://bsd.pls.msu.edu/pub/livecd/gno...v4.3.0.iso.zip

And I reached the Gnome desktop(didn't allow me to login to Gnome desktop via root),

How do I install OpenBSD on my HDD along with Gnome and the other utilities?

And its a "stable" release rite?






PS:-
"Except for the compiler file set (comp43.tgz), each LiveCD contains the complete 4.3-release for the i386 or amd64 architecture"

I quoted from your site, what exactly does it mean?

Last edited by Shredder; 11th May 2008 at 11:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2008
mfaridi's Avatar
mfaridi mfaridi is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Afghanistan
Posts: 282
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shredder View Post
@ jggimi ,

I downloaded this Gnome Live CD(Comes with OpenBSD 4.3 rite?):-
ftp://bsd.pls.msu.edu/pub/livecd/gno...v4.3.0.iso.zip

And I reached the Gnome desktop(didn't allow me to login to Gnome desktop via root),

How do I install OpenBSD on my HDD along with Gnome and the other utilities?

And its a "stable" release rite?






PS:-
"Except for the compiler file set (comp43.tgz), each LiveCD contains the complete 4.3-release for the i386 or amd64 architecture"

I quoted from your site, what exactly does it mean?

you can not install LiveCD of OpenBSD , I asked this question before from jggimi and said no.
Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,710
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

  1. The LiveDVD is not "installable", as mfaridi has mentioned.
  2. You can see a list of what packages have been installed with:
    $ pkg_info
    and you may use that information to configure a hard-drive based OS in similar fashion.
  3. If you start the LiveDVD in [C]onsole mode, you can log in as "root" or "user" and start Gnome with:
    $ startx
  4. If you start the LiveDVD in [G]raphical mode, the XDM login screen will appear, and you can then log in as "root" or "user".
  5. These LiveCDs/LiveDVDs are -release. I explain why in http://jggimi.homeip.net/livecd/faq.html#release. See OpenBSD FAQ 5.1 for a description of -release, -release+errata, -stable, and -current.

Last edited by jggimi; 11th May 2008 at 02:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2008
Shredder's Avatar
Shredder Shredder is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the replies guys,

Well I thought I could install OpenBSD from this LiveDVD, looks like I must take the tougher path to setup a OpenBSD desktop .
Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2008
mfaridi's Avatar
mfaridi mfaridi is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Afghanistan
Posts: 282
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

just install OpenBSD 4.3 then install Gnome and then enjoy OpenBSD.
Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2008
Shredder's Avatar
Shredder Shredder is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a Realtek RTL8139 LAN(rl0)

Each time I have to use these commands after restarting my PC,

Code:
#ifconfig rl0 192.168.1.10

#route add default 192.168.1.1
How do I avoid this and set the IP addresses of the LAN and default gateway permanently?
Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2008
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,888
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shredder View Post
How do I avoid this and set the IP addresses of the LAN and default gateway permanently?
As someone new to OpenBSD, you will save yourself a significant amount of time & aggravation by taking the time now to study the FAQ for all kinds of information concerning configuration & usage.

Last edited by ocicat; 16th May 2008 at 10:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2008
Shredder's Avatar
Shredder Shredder is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I get this error sometimes:-

Code:
pckbcintr: no dev for slot 1
Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2008
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,888
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shredder View Post
Code:
pckbcintr: no dev for slot 1
pckbc(4) is the driver used to detect & configure any attached keyboard. You may want to check that the keyboard is securely seated before booting again as this message above indicates that the kernel has trouble determining whether a keyboard is actually attached.
Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2008
Shredder's Avatar
Shredder Shredder is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Even after following all the instructions here I still get the same errors as mentioned in my 1st post ,

Can anyone plz give me a complete tutorial as to how to install and execute Gnome on a freshly installed OpenBSD system,

I have searched google and read a lot about this but nothing has worked till now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Set Of gnome issues jaideep_jdof NetBSD General 13 17th September 2009 06:39 AM
issues with setting up symon on openbsd badguy OpenBSD Security 12 22nd July 2009 02:21 AM
Full install of Gnome on OpenBSD 4.4 mfaridi OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 17 9th November 2008 01:54 PM
Instaling Gnome in OpenBSD 4.3 Ragnar FreeBSD Ports and Packages 1 21st May 2008 02:21 AM
Unicode issues with gnome-mount/HAL? milkycow FreeBSD Ports and Packages 3 9th May 2008 11:46 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick