DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Off-Topic Everything else.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18th July 2008
ephemera's Avatar
ephemera ephemera is offline
Knuth's homeboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 537
Thanked 49 Times in 43 Posts
Default

> Most shells have a vi editing mode.

Ofcourse, but somehow i prefer emacs keybindings for the shell.
Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2008
18Googol2's Avatar
18Googol2 18Googol2 is offline
Real Name: whoami
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: pwd
Posts: 283
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

I configured some favourite for hot keys in Opera, d for deletion, q for going to the top of the page, z for the bottom and so on. And that really pisses me off if I need to use a different browser. Sometimes I dont even get a single clue what is going on lol
Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2008
FBSDin20Steps FBSDin20Steps is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: nl
Posts: 21
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Sometimes when i work behind a "full screen mode" VMware window... and nothing happens!? I hit the reset button of my computer...
Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2008
tad1214 tad1214 is offline
Real Name: Thomas Donnelly
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 60
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FBSDin20Steps View Post
Sometimes when i work behind a "full screen mode" VMware window... and nothing happens!? I hit the reset button of my computer...
Doh!

I use vmware server and I had to take the power buttons off the task bar because I get going in a hurry some times and will accidentally reboot a server or similar, bc it doesn't ask, are you sure?
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2008
FBSDin20Steps FBSDin20Steps is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: nl
Posts: 21
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I give my machine a warm reboot and actually forgot that i was using VMware worstation...

...and Yes, I am sure.
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2008
18Googol2's Avatar
18Googol2 18Googol2 is offline
Real Name: whoami
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: pwd
Posts: 283
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FBSDin20Steps View Post
I give my machine a warm reboot and actually forgot that i was using VMware worstation...

...and Yes, I am sure.
If the host is Windows machine, Im pretty sure there is an option in "Power management" to de/activate the confirmation when you hit the power button
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2008
FBSDin20Steps FBSDin20Steps is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: nl
Posts: 21
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18Googol2 View Post
If the host is Windows machine, Im pretty sure there is an option in "Power management" to de/activate the confirmation when you hit the power button
Nope. Take another guess...
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2008
18Googol2's Avatar
18Googol2 18Googol2 is offline
Real Name: whoami
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: pwd
Posts: 283
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Display Properties => Screen Savers => Power => Advanced => When I press the power button...
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2008
FBSDin20Steps FBSDin20Steps is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: nl
Posts: 21
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18Googol2 View Post
Display Properties => Screen Savers => Power => Advanced => When I press the power button...
I give up! you win.
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2008
ai-danno's Avatar
ai-danno ai-danno is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Posts: 284
Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drugar View Post
I am a System administrator and infrastructure consultant in a company with a Windows based architecture. At home I user *BSD.

Every time I get to work and need to make something work using the Windows Command Prompt I find myself using *nix commands.
ditto, ditto, ditto!
__________________
Network Firefighter
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2008
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,074
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

Actually, I have a C:\bin\ folder which contains Windows version of most Unix commands ...

http://unxutils.sourceforge.net/
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2008
ai-danno's Avatar
ai-danno ai-danno is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Posts: 284
Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
Default

And there's always Windows SFU (Services For Unix) but it's been, well, pretty sloppy so far. Like Cygwin on acid.
__________________
Network Firefighter
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2008
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Thanked 112 Times in 104 Posts
Default

My XP system has the GNU utilities for Win32, Micro$oft Services For Unix, and Cygwin installed...


Doing likewise and adjusting things accordingly will usually alleviate many problems of using unix commands on NT, although I've yet to find a solution to trying to use a 'dir /b' command on a system expecting /bin/ls program instead ^_^


I would think in a commercial environment just buying a DOS quick reference (or better yet one for newer versions of NT) would be a better solution then, say carting gnucky fried utilities around on a thumb drive.
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2008
eine's Avatar
eine eine is offline
Real Name: Hendri Sugiarto
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bandung, West Java
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I once had multiple consoles in my workspace, then when i'm going home i shutdown my own server and get ready to go home..the next thing i know before i go is that my server console is still there..idle..the first question i asked to myself is : if my server is still here, what did i shutdown before?.....

Company's main router's, which is also an email server....

Another story, i used to help my boss ripping his music CD and DVD's..for almost a month i spend 3-5 hours a day ripping cd's in his iMac.. one day, in the office, i want to copy some stuff from my friend's stuff.. i ended up trying to insert cd into my monitor, just like in iMac
__________________
Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards. -- Soren Kierkegaard
Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2008
YogeshSawant's Avatar
YogeshSawant YogeshSawant is offline
Real Name: Yogesh Sawant
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rossem, Tazenda
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

while editing files using notepad and some other editors, i press :w to save the file
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
discussion, habits, mistakes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick