DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 8th August 2008
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Right, with apm disabled acpi should take over.. you never showed a dmesg with acpi enabled yet, so, can't we work with that.

If apm is at fault for some reason, you could try version 1.1 instead of 1.2.
Quote:
Originally Posted by apm(4)
The driver supports versions 1.0, 1.1, and 1.2 interface specifications.
..
The value of 0x0101 would specify version 1.1 of the interface specification to be used.
This can be set via config(8) or boot time UKC, sadly this all is really hit and miss.. sometimes vendors just don't entirely comply with standards.
Code:
ukc> change apm
321 apm0 at bios0 disable flags 0x0
change [n] y
flags [0] ? 0x0101
321 apm0 changed
321 apm0 at bios0 disable flags 0x101
ukc> quit

Last edited by BSDfan666; 8th August 2008 at 03:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Below is dmesg with apm disabled (as you see I plugged in my flashcard again, since it seems not to be the problem):

While I'm here I'd like to ask a general question: if I understand right, if I will have a machine with 2g of ram, I should have a swap or 4g+ and a /var partition that always has at least as much free available to be safe?
The installation faq doesn't seem to appreciate swap space very much.


Code:
OpenBSD 4.3 (GENERIC) #698: Wed Mar 12 11:07:05 MDT 2008
    deraadt@i386.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sys/arch/i386/compile/GENERIC
cpu0: Intel Pentium III ("GenuineIntel" 686-class) 449 MHz
cpu0: FPU,V86,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,SER,MMX,FXSR,SSE
real mem  = 200785920 (191MB)
avail mem = 185978880 (177MB)
User Kernel Config
UKC> disable apm
321 apm0 disabled
UKC> quit
Continuing...
mainbus0 at root
bios0 at mainbus0: AT/286+ BIOS, date 11/11/99, BIOS32 rev. 0 @ 0xfd790, SMBIOS rev. 2.2 @ 0xf0850 (38 entries)
bios0: vendor Phoenix Technologies LTD version "CL.M7.13" date 11/11/99
bios0: Hewlett-Packard HP OmniBook PC
apm at bios0 function 0x15 not configured
acpi0 at bios0: rev 0
acpi0: tables DSDT FACP
acpi0: wakeup devices LID_(S3) COM1(S3) BAT1(S3) BAT2(S3) PX42(S2)
acpitimer0 at acpi0: 3579545 Hz, 24 bits
acpiprt0 at acpi0: bus 0 (PCI0)
acpiprt1 at acpi0: bus 1 (AGP_)
acpiec0 at acpi0
acpicpu0 at acpi0: C3, C2
acpitz0 at acpi0acpitz0: THRM: failed to read _CRT
: no critical temperature defined
acpitz0: THRM: failed to read _AC0
acpitz0: THRM: failed to read _PSV
acpibtn0 at acpi0: LID_
acpiac0 at acpi0: AC unit online
acpibat0 at acpi0: BAT1 not present
acpibat1 at acpi0: BAT2 not present
acpidock at acpi0 not configured
bios0: ROM list: 0xc0000/0xc800
cpu0 at mainbus0
pci0 at mainbus0 bus 0: configuration mode 1 (no bios)
pchb0 at pci0 dev 0 function 0 "Intel 82443BX AGP" rev 0x03
agp0 at pchb0: aperture at 0xe0000000, size 0x4000000
ppb0 at pci0 dev 1 function 0 "Intel 82443BX AGP" rev 0x03
pci1 at ppb0 bus 1
vga1 at pci1 dev 0 function 0 "ATI Mobility 1" rev 0x64
wsdisplay0 at vga1 mux 1: console (80x25, vt100 emulation)
wsdisplay0: screen 1-5 added (80x25, vt100 emulation)
cbb0 at pci0 dev 4 function 0 "TI PCI1225 CardBus" rev 0x01: irq 10, CardBus support disabled
cbb1 at pci0 dev 4 function 1 "TI PCI1225 CardBus" rev 0x01: irq 10, CardBus support disabled
piixpcib0 at pci0 dev 7 function 0 "Intel 82371AB PIIX4 ISA" rev 0x02
pciide0 at pci0 dev 7 function 1 "Intel 82371AB IDE" rev 0x01: DMA, channel 0 wired to compatibility, channel 1 wired to compatibility
wd0 at pciide0 channel 0 drive 0: <IBM-DBCA-206480>
wd0: 16-sector PIO, LBA, 4887MB, 10009440 sectors
wd0(pciide0:0:0): using PIO mode 4, Ultra-DMA mode 2
pciide0: channel 1 disabled (no drives)
uhci0 at pci0 dev 7 function 2 "Intel 82371AB USB" rev 0x01: irq 10
piixpm0 at pci0 dev 7 function 3 "Intel 82371AB Power" rev 0x03: SMI
iic0 at piixpm0
spdmem0 at iic0 addr 0x50: 128MB SDRAM non-parity PC133CL2
maestro0 at pci0 dev 8 function 0 "ESS Maestro 2E" rev 0x10: irq 10
ac97: codec id 0x83847609 (SigmaTel STAC9721/23)
ac97: codec features 18 bit DAC, 18 bit ADC, SigmaTel 3D
audio0 at maestro0
cbb0: bad Vcc request. sock_ctrl 0x0, sock_status 0x30000a10
cardslot0 at cbb0 slot 0 flags 0
pcmcia0 at cardslot0
cardslot1 at cbb1 slot 1 flags 0
pcmcia1 at cardslot1
isa0 at piixpcib0
isadma0 at isa0
pckbc0 at isa0 port 0x60/5
pckbd0 at pckbc0 (kbd slot)
pckbc0: using irq 1 for kbd slot
wskbd0 at pckbd0: console keyboard, using wsdisplay0
pms0 at pckbc0 (aux slot)
pckbc0: using irq 12 for aux slot
wsmouse0 at pms0 mux 0
pcppi0 at isa0 port 0x61
midi0 at pcppi0: <PC speaker>
spkr0 at pcppi0
lpt0 at isa0 port 0x378/4 irq 7
npx0 at isa0 port 0xf0/16: reported by CPUID; using exception 16
pccom0 at isa0 port 0x3f8/8 irq 4: ns16550a, 16 byte fifo
pccom1 at isa0 port 0x2f8/8 irq 3: ns16550a, 16 byte fifo
usb0 at uhci0: USB revision 1.0
uhub0 at usb0 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
biomask ed65 netmask ed65 ttymask ffe7
mtrr: Pentium Pro MTRR support
cbb0: bad Vcc request. sock_ctrl 0x0, sock_status 0x30000a10
cbb0: bad Vcc request. sock_ctrl 0x33, sock_status 0x30000a10
cbb0: bad Vcc request. sock_ctrl 0x0, sock_status 0x30000a19
cbb0: bad Vcc request. sock_ctrl 0x0, sock_status 0x30000a10
cbb0: bad Vcc request. sock_ctrl 0x33, sock_status 0x30000a10
cbb0: bad Vcc request. sock_ctrl 0x0, sock_status 0x30000a19
wdc2 at pcmcia0 function 0 "TS128MFLASHCP, , "cbb0: bad Vcc request. sock_ctrl 0x0, sock_status 0x30000a10
cbb0: bad Vcc request. sock_ctrl 0x33, sock_status 0x30000a10
 port 0xa000/16
wd1 at wdc2 channel 0 drive 0: <Hitachi CVM1.1.1>
wd1: 1-sector PIO, LBA, 122MB, 250368 sectors
wd1(wdc2:0:0): using BIOS timings
softraid0 at root
root on wd0a swap on wd0b dump on wd0b
umass0 at uhub0 port 1 configuration 1 interface 0 "USB Flash Disk" rev 2.00/2.00 addr 2
umass0: using SCSI over Bulk-Only
scsibus0 at umass0: 2 targets
sd0 at scsibus0 targ 1 lun 0: <Aigo USB, Storage Device, 2.00> SCSI2 0/direct removable
sd0: 125MB, 15 cyl, 255 head, 63 sec, 512 bytes/sec, 256000 sec total
msdosfs: reducing max cluster to 126975 from 126976 due to FAT size
Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2008
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

If you read Reyk Floeter's recent Undeadly story, you'll notice he as well mentions that GENERIC.MP enables ioapic(4) and another method of interrupt routing.

(I myself own a few systems that actually get a performance boost by using the MP kernel, even if their non-MP systems.)
http://undeadly.org/cgi?action=artic...20080808071238

If you can, obtain a bsd.mp off a mirror.. and try booting with that, be thorough... see if it works with apm, if not.. disable apm and use acpi.

Good luck... 4.4 is around the corner, with a new ACPI implementation, perhaps it might work.
Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have bsd.mp, because I installed everything, so I'll give it a try.
The only thing I don't understand is it worked fine for a few months, and now it suddenly does not work anymore

Thank you anyway
Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,609
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSDfan666 View Post
...sadly this all is really hit and miss.. sometimes vendors just don't entirely comply with standards.
True. Looking at the ACPI-based dmesg, it seems gosha's cardbus is recognized but the APCI implementation on that laptop doesn't seem to have any positive probe results, with it, so the malo(4) NIC is never seen.

As for the failure which appears to be APM related ... if gosha is able to eventually obtain a successful dump, dmesg with -N and -M will show the specific panic details and gosha will be able to paste them here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gosha View Post
If I understand right, if I will have a machine with 2g of ram, I should have a swap or 4g+ and a /var partition that always has at least as much free available to be safe?
That would be my recommendation.
Quote:
The installation faq doesn't seem to appreciate swap space very much.
FAQ 4.7 says:
Quote:
The 'b' partition of your root drive automatically becomes your system swap partition. Many people follow an old rule of thumb that your swap partition should be twice the size of your main system RAM. This rule is nonsense. On a modern system, that's a LOT of swap, most people prefer that their systems never swap. You don't want your system to ever run out of RAM+swap, but you usually would rather have enough RAM in the system so it doesn't need to swap.
I happen to disagree with the author of that section -- nick@ -- on this. I do not know if he considers it a requirement to be able to use savecore(8). While it is true that you may not need 2X RAM for swap, you need at least 1X RAM to dump memory, pluss some additional MB for control information ... and that space needs to be available (uncommitted) in swap at the time of the panic. So 2X is a fair rule-of-thumb, in my estimation. In your current situation, you had 192MB RAM and 200MB swap -- and, as you saw, you were unable to obtain a core dump. If you had 384MB of swap, and were, say, using 100MB of it for swapped processes, in the event of a panic there would be enough freespace there to dump memory. Depending on your application mix, you might want more.

A typical X user will be swapping regularly with only 192MB of RAM. How much swapping depends on the application set, obviously. e.g.: Firefox consumes 50+MB of RAM, how much "+" depends on use, and if you have gnash the total consumption can go beyond 200-300MB, depending on the amount of flash in the websites you visit.

Last edited by jggimi; 8th August 2008 at 04:24 PM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank you again, now I know better how to partition my disk next time, it would be useful to integrate the installation faq for new people like me who can't really decide when they start installing openbsd. Now I finally understand why I should "waste" so much space in swap.

I'll use an external drive as swap and see if I can get a dump
Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default still no dump

I added an external drive and gave 1 g of swap, but still nothing, the computer hanged again and I could only reset. And actually, if it was trying to write a dump to disk I should be able to see it from the leds and hear it (old hd, quite noisy), but nothing.

Now I'll try bsd.mp to see if it works.

what else could I do?
Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the same thing happened with bsd.mp

definitly stuck
Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,609
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

I have some questions:
  1. How did you add the swap space?
    Does the disklabel for your external drive (sd0) show a swap partition? Is this partition included in /etc/fstab?
  2. Does the hang occur when ddb.panic is set to 0? (You may recall that if X is running and ddb.panic=1, you will never get a dump.)
  3. How many hours did you run memtest86?
  4. Have you installed and run the stress package? How many hours, what types of loads?
Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2008
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,873
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Please provide the output of the following command:

$ swapctl -l
Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I added the swap adding a line in /etc/fstab and running swapctl -A

With ddb.panic=0 or commented out it hangs, actually, although I have ddb.panic=0 if in console it still goes into ddb>

The problem is it panics also in console, it does not seem to be a problem with X.

I have a feeling it has to do with my wireless card, a quite cheap one: Netgear wg511 v2. Now I took away both the flashcard and the wireless card, and see if it still happens.

To tell the truth, I did memtest for a couple of hours only.
I installed stress, but, sorry, I can't figure out what parameters should I run it with.

Last edited by gosha; 9th August 2008 at 03:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

swapclt -l

Code:
Device      512-blocks     Used    Avail Capacity  Priority
swap_device     410130        0   410130     0%    0
/dev/sd0b      2104515        0  2104515     0%    0
Total          2514645        0  2514645     0%
Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2008
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

With any luck, the flash card or wireless card are defective... if it's an internal component failure, there's not much you can do about it.

If you run out of options, as I said earlier, 4.4 might fix the mysterious problem..

There are snapshots on the OpenBSD mirrors, but note, they might be 4.4-CURRENT now..

Last edited by BSDfan666; 9th August 2008 at 04:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank you, I'll try and use it with my old and good ethernet card (cable) and see if it's fine
Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,609
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gosha View Post
...I installed stress, but, sorry, I can't figure out what parameters should I run it with.
The man page provides a brief overview, the info page provides more detailed information.

As you know, memtest86 is a stand-alone booted application which stress tests RAM. Those tests can sometimes point out other problem areas, particularly with CPU(s) and front-side-bus interconnection to RAM. But memtest86 is primarily a RAM tester.

The "stress" package allows one to stress test other components -- in particular, you want to stress test CPU and I/O. Stress can also put load on your virtual memory system (swap/page) but that is more helpful for sizing or tuning rather than attempts to cause a hardware failure.

I would use stress to test CPU and I/O load. Here's an example of loading up CPU and I/O a bit, and watching what happens:$ stress -c 30 -d 30 &
$ top
Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this is what I get, it also says filesystem full although it is not. Actually, I'm using my old ethernet card now and everything seems fine. I bought that wiresell Netgear a couple of months ago and probably it's already broken


Code:
$ stress -c 30 -d 30 &
[1] 31835
$ stress: info: [31835] dispatching hogs: 30 cpu, 0 io, 0 vm, 30 hdd
stress: FAIL: [31835] (305) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (367) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (305) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (367) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (305) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (367) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (305) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (367) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (305) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (367) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (305) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (367) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (305) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (367) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (305) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (367) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (305) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (367) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (305) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (367) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (305) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable
stress: FAIL: [31835] (367) fork failed: Resource temporarily unavailable

/home: write failed, file system is full

/home: write failed, file system is full

/home: write failed, file system is full
stress: FAIL: [24859] (573) stress: FAIL: [11506] (573) write failed: No space left on device

/home: write failed, file system is full

/home: write failed, file system is full
stress: FAIL: [22440] (573) write failed: No space left on device
stress: FAIL: [31835] (395) <-- worker 24859 returned error 1
stress: WARN: [31835] (397) now reaping child worker processes
stress: FAIL: [31835] (395) <-- worker 22440 returned error 1
stress: WARN: [31835] (397) now reaping child worker processes
stress: FAIL: [31835] (452) failed run completed in 26s

[1] + Done (2)             stress -c 30 -d 30
$ df -h
Filesystem     Size    Used   Avail Capacity  Mounted on
/dev/wd0a     98.0M   47.3M   45.7M    51%    /
/dev/wd0f      490M    337M    129M    72%    /home
/dev/wd0g      3.6G    3.1G    339M    90%    /usr
/dev/wd0e      294M   45.8M    234M    16%    /var
Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,609
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Try fewer resources. 3, instead of 30, for example. Your workstation is significantly more constrained than mine.

Your file system was full, the 30 -d process write files to disk. As I recommended above, try "$ info stress" for details.
Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

same result even with 1
I think I need to make some room for it
Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,609
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

A better use of your time, I think, would be to recreate the problem while not in X, and this time, capture the specific panic message and the complete traceback.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I guess you're right
For some reason, I cannot get any dump if I set "ddb.panic=0" but if I comment it out I get into "ddb>"
I tried typing "show panic" and it says "The kernel did not panic".

It seems to happen only if I use that Netgear card, with my old Planet ethernet card everything seems fine. I don't know it is just that. I should say that to make Netgear work I downloaded a firmware from somewhere, otherwise OpenBSD would not support it (if I understand for some copyright reason), whereas the Planet adapter works just fine without any tricking.
I'll keep on using the Planet adapter and see if it happens again.

tks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your OpenBSD Hardware mfaridi OpenBSD General 70 5 Days Ago 03:50 AM
Your NetBSD hardware PhotoJim NetBSD General 12 5th January 2012 07:37 AM
Hardware recommendation: what hardware to buy for my new FreeBSD desktop? Broodjegehaktmetmayo General Hardware 92 11th February 2009 10:43 PM
What Sun hardware do you have revzalot General Hardware 7 22nd August 2008 01:44 PM
hardware not working Terminal-Chaos FreeBSD General 2 29th May 2008 05:32 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick