DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th August 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Quote:
...I tried typing "show panic" and it says "The kernel did not panic"...
Then you are having some other sort of kernel abort. There should be a kernel message PRIOR to entering ddb and getting the standard "provide trace and ps" messages and the ddb> prompt. Capture that message. In addition, capture the complete output from trace.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, I'll do that.
Actually it just happened again with the Planet card, so it should not be the nic problem.

Vermaden at the beginning asked if my cooling is working properly. Now I'm starting to pay attention to anything, and I have to say that when the system boots the fan goes on for a few seconds (I guess it's the bios testing it) and then it never goes on again, but it did in the past, when I tried to recompile the kernel for example (not this kernel, this is a standard install).
Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hello
here is what first comes out hilighted in blu on the screen:
Code:
Stopped at	0x58b3:uvm_fault(0xd07e9980), 0x50000, 0, 1) -> e kernel: page fault 

trap, code=0
Stopped at	db_read_bytes+0x14:	movb	0(%edx),%al
ddb>
then I typed "trace":
Code:
ddb> trace
db_read_bytes(58b3,1,d6a87d20,2,d6a87ddc) at db_read_bytes+0x14
db_get_value(58b3,1,0,2,0) at db_get_valuee+0x24
db_disasm(58b3,1,d0357b78,0,0) at db_disasm+0x25
db_print_loc_and_inst(58b3,d6a87e08,0,fffbf5c0,0) at db_print_loc_and_inst+0x2d

db_trap(9,0,1234de,0,0) at db_trap+0x75
kdb_trap(9,0,d6a87e88,0) at kdb_trap+0xab
trap() at trap+0x95
--- trap (number 9) ---
(null)(7ef00040,0,53050000,12,38492d) at 0x58b3
ddb>
Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Decidedly odd. db_read_bytes is inside ddb -- your uvm_fault shown here occurred after ddb had already been called; which means this is the second panic/fault, and not the primary problem.

Something is definitely out-of-whack. What, though, I cannot tell with any certainly.

If this secondary uvm_fault trap is in any way part of the problem, note that these are problems in virtual memory (paging/swapping/RAM). It isn't necessarily hardware; even so I recommend lots of memtest86, see if it an overnight test shows anything.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I see, thanks a lot
I'll try what you say. Is the memtester in the packages as reliable as memetest86? This machine long ago lost its floppy and cd drives which were in a n external dock, so I cannot do such a test without booting the system (no usb boot support in bios).
Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gosha View Post
...Is the memtester in the packages as reliable as memetest86?
"Reliable" is probably the wrong adjective. I have never tried it, but it cannot possibly be as robust and thorough as memtest86. It has fewer tests, and cannot test all sections of RAM as there is a running operating system in the way.
Quote:
This machine long ago lost its floppy and cd drives which were in a n external dock...
How did you install OpenBSD?
Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I took out the hd and with an ide adapter used the box where I have windows installed, then put it back in. HP Omnibook has a slot on the side from where you can just pull out you hd without opening the case, very nice.
Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2008
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

I thought you previously ran memtest86?

That could very well be the cause of the problems.. defective memory...
Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sorry, I misspelled, in fact I was running memtester from the packages
I'll try and take out the extra ram module I installed a few years ago, and see if with the original ram it will work.
Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this time it didn't even boot it went into ddb> right after the "Copyright..."
This is what came out:

Code:
kernel: page fault trap, code=0
Stopped at	uvm_page_init+0x413:	repe stosl	%es:(%edi)
uvm_page_init(d092cf2c,d092cf30,d092cf38,d0357be8,d078aad0) at uvm_page_init+0x143
uvm_init(d06ac675,d06aeb40,d092cfa0,d033dcdb,3) at uvm_init+0x3d
main(0,0,0,0,0) at main+0x4e
ddb>
and trace gives:
Code:
ddb> trace
uvm_page_init(d092cf2c,d092cf30,d092cf38,d0357be8,d078aad0) at uvm_page_init+0x143
uvm_init(d06ac675,d06aeb40,d092cfa0,d033dcdb,3) at uvm_init+0x3d
main(0,0,0,0,0) at main+0x4e
Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

If I understand what happened -- I may be wrong -- this happened during initialization of the virtual memory subsystem during boot. If this happened with just the "original RAM" in the computer -- I can think of only two possibilities: either your "original" RAM is bad, or your "original" RAM is insufficient to boot. You need at least 24-32MB of it.
Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the original ram is 64, so it's enough
Now it booted and works, sometimes it works and sometimes not, I guess it's normal if it's a ram problem?
Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Intermittent problems are common, yes.

Since you cannot boot memtest+ or memtest86, there is no easy for you to confirm this trouble is due to RAM, but it certainly seems likely.

Last edited by jggimi; 14th August 2008 at 11:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes, well this laptop is really quite old and had a quite rough life, maybe it's time for it to rest for good
When I'll have some time I'll try a clean install to make sure it's not a software problem.

Thanks a lot anyway to you all
Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Why not take out the original RAM module and put the new one in by itself? or vice versa? to determine which is the defective module. (Because that's the leading theory..).

Anyway, hope it works out for you..
Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

It may be that the "original RAM" is embedded in the motherboard and may not be removed, else gosha would have done that already.
Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jggimi View Post
It may be that the "original RAM" is embedded in the motherboard and may not be removed, else gosha would have done that already.
Whoops, never thought of that... *whistles*
Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

jggimi is right


I'm saving money for a NICE laptop, hope to get one next winter, thinking about a Thinkpad x61s (I want a light one).
Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Perhaps your other PC can be used to confirm the old laptop is the root cause? No traps or panics, using the old laptop's hard drive on a different platform, would mean that your problem isn't due to software.
Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008
gosha gosha is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: China
Posts: 256
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

haha
I didn't think about it, I will give it a try tomorrow
tks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your OpenBSD Hardware mfaridi OpenBSD General 70 20th July 2014 03:50 AM
Your NetBSD hardware PhotoJim NetBSD General 12 5th January 2012 07:37 AM
Hardware recommendation: what hardware to buy for my new FreeBSD desktop? Broodjegehaktmetmayo General Hardware 92 11th February 2009 10:43 PM
What Sun hardware do you have revzalot General Hardware 7 22nd August 2008 01:44 PM
hardware not working Terminal-Chaos FreeBSD General 2 29th May 2008 05:32 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick