DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2nd June 2008
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Thanked 112 Times in 104 Posts
Default

8MB of (shared) memory is enough for a desktop I think, at least I was able to use KDE with 384MB of PC100 and a ram stealing 8MB Matrox G200 ^_^

64MB of RAM on the other hand is _problematic_
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2008
aleunix aleunix is offline
Real Name: Alessandro
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 224
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

warriors you can use X but it's necessary installing a light WM (window manager), for examples:
icewm
or
fluxbox
or
fvwm
In this manner only 25 Mb will be occupied, the problem is that if launches applications, for example firefox, you already exceed the threshold of 64 mb and go in this swap.

With at least 128 mb you would use discreet.
Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2008
lvlamb's Avatar
lvlamb lvlamb is offline
Real Name: Louis V. Lambrecht
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .be
Posts: 221
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Xenocara comes with fvwm, cwm, twm.
OpenBSD defaults to fvwm
So, id you startx, without any ~/.xinitrc or /etc/X11/xorg.conf
you should have the fvwm with the console icon, the clock and the virtual desktop app.
If you don't, something went wrong in the install.

----

Note for -current users:
forgot to generate xorg.conf
Both mouse and keyboard azerty Belgian worked rightaway,
keyboard is el cheapo Rainbow made in China. Thumbs up!
Still need a xorg.conf on my server to tell him to use Xenocara and not dual display.
__________________
da more I know I know I know nuttin'
Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008
mrTurquoise mrTurquoise is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I was reading this thread and although it was quite informative, it failed to help my situation. I am running this OS through virtualization. I used following commands and got following results:
Code:
startx

Code:
X -configure


Any input on this problem would be welcome!
Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,890
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Welcome, mrTurquoise.
  1. Did you answer "Yes" to the question during install regarding X? Confirm the aperture is open:

    $ sysctl machdep.allowaperture

    The value should be 2, for either i386 or amd64. If it is 2, then:
  2. Which virtual machine facility are you using?
  3. Would you provide a dmesg, please?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre-installed Groups: What are they for? Greg_Morgan OpenBSD General 5 11th October 2009 01:05 AM
Listing of installed packages cyril OpenBSD Packages and Ports 2 9th June 2009 01:24 AM
How to copy FBSD installation from one which is already installed on a HDD? padmanabh FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 2 7th October 2008 04:09 AM
Has anyone installed mod_perl erehwon OpenBSD Packages and Ports 5 23rd June 2008 08:11 PM
Command to list all installed ports? windependence FreeBSD Ports and Packages 2 13th May 2008 11:10 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick