DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Miscellaneous > General software and network

General software and network General OS-independent software and network questions, X11, MTA, routing, etc.

View Poll Results: Which VT software do you prefer?
Parallels 0 0%
Virtualbox 13 37.14%
VMWare (various flavors) 16 45.71%
Qemu (various combos or not) 6 17.14%
Voters: 35. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 6th August 2008
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

I'd give the VM between 512 and 750MB of memory if you want to do much in it. Of course your main box needs about that amount for itself.
Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2008
JMJ_coder JMJ_coder is offline
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 464
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Hello,

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJ View Post
I'd give the VM between 512 and 750MB of memory if you want to do much in it. Of course your main box needs about that amount for itself.
The whole system has only 1 GB RAM. I guess I could give the VM 512 MB, but all I'll primarily be doing with it is Office - and maybe ssh. It's been awhile since I really did any in-depth work with Windows, but I thought that 256 MB would be enough for XP and Office - is that the case (note that the installer, which was told this was going to be a Windows XP VM, only recommended 192 MB)?
__________________
And the WORD was made flesh, and dwelt among us. (John 1:14)
Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2008
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

In most VMs you can up the allocated memory pretty easily. If it starts swapping, then bump it up. 256M for XP is pretty marginal; I'd be very careful about the services and applications you load at boot time.

Or you could just add a GB of memory. In the US that would probably cost $30 or so.
Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008
JMJ_coder JMJ_coder is offline
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 464
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I'm running VBOX on a Slackware Host and Windows XP as a guest. I am having difficulty trying to do something.

I have another system (also Windows XP) that I need to remote into and setup a share. I have no problem getting into the remote system via Remote Desktop. I try to setup a shared drive, but it is a no go. The remote system cannot see the Windows XP guest enough to map a network drive. The guest OS has a private (10.x.x.x) IP address and a different hostname than what it really is on the network.

I need to do this so that I can install Visual Studio on the remote systems. I have the DVD and need the remote system to install from the DVD mounted on my local system.

I need help in solving this. I can see three different solutions, but cannot figure out completely how to solve them completely:

1) figure out a way for the remote system to be able to map a network drive on the VBOX guest OS.
2) setup a Windows share in Linux (without installing additional software like Samba).
3) connect to the Linux system from the remote system via ssh (that is rdesktop from the Linux system to the remote Windows system and remote back from the Windows system to the Linux system).


Number three seems like it would be the easiest - I already have the ssh server/client setup - but I don't know how to allow installation via ssh from the local system to the remote system.


Any advice?
__________________
And the WORD was made flesh, and dwelt among us. (John 1:14)
Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008
ephemera's Avatar
ephemera ephemera is offline
Knuth's homeboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 537
Thanked 49 Times in 43 Posts
Default

if you setup bridging for vbox then the remote m/c should be able "see" the share in the guest OS.

Last edited by ephemera; 19th August 2008 at 08:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008
lvlamb's Avatar
lvlamb lvlamb is offline
Real Name: Louis V. Lambrecht
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .be
Posts: 221
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Always many ways.
The guest usually has his own IP address, as the host has his.
Set an FTP, NFS, Samba server on the host, the guest can use the client side.
With coLinux on Windows, you even can, from the guest, access the Windows files natively.
With UWIN on Windows, you are in a full *nix world when seen from a remote machine: ssh, (s)ftp,.... (if coLinux isn't enough, and you can even acces both with different privileges).
Or use the directory services, but you don't seem to like Windows.
__________________
da more I know I know I know nuttin'
Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2008
JMJ_coder JMJ_coder is offline
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 464
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ephemera View Post
if you setup bridging for vbox then the remote m/c should be able "see" the share in the guest OS.
You would think! I not certain of the bridging setup - networking was functioning right out of the box without me having to configure anything.

The host has a static public IP, but the guest gets a private assigned by VBOX.
__________________
And the WORD was made flesh, and dwelt among us. (John 1:14)
Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2008
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 322
Thanked 31 Times in 25 Posts
Default

As a rule, with VBox in NAT mode, it's a bit difficult to access the guest. I usually bridge it. Have I spammed my page in this thread yet?

http://home.nyc.rr.com/computertaijutsu/vboxbridge.html
Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2008
ephemera's Avatar
ephemera ephemera is offline
Knuth's homeboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 537
Thanked 49 Times in 43 Posts
Default

> The host has a static public IP

so, the remote m/c is across the Internet.
your isp's probably given you only one ip? in which case you could enable port forwarding (port 445 - w/o netbios) on vbox's NAT.
Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008
JMJ_coder JMJ_coder is offline
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 464
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ephemera View Post
> The host has a static public IP

so, the remote m/c is across the Internet.
your isp's probably given you only one ip? in which case you could enable port forwarding (port 445 - w/o netbios) on vbox's NAT.
We have a whole class B network. But, my terminal only has a single IP address.

Either way, I decided it was just quicker just to do the installations manually this time - there were only three machines. But, I will be continuing to investigate this for the next time I need to do a remote install.
__________________
And the WORD was made flesh, and dwelt among us. (John 1:14)
Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2008
JMJ_coder JMJ_coder is offline
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 464
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottro View Post
As a rule, with VBox in NAT mode, it's a bit difficult to access the guest. I usually bridge it. Have I spammed my page in this thread yet?

http://home.nyc.rr.com/computertaijutsu/vboxbridge.html
Thanks, I'll be looking into this.
__________________
And the WORD was made flesh, and dwelt among us. (John 1:14)
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2008
hansivers hansivers is offline
Real Name: Hans Ivers
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Posts: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

For those of us who are addicted to benchmarks, i found this link quite interesting :

http://www.wilderssecurity.com/archi.../t-168825.html

The author compares :

VMWare Workstation 5.5.3
Microsoft Virtual PC 2007
Parallels Workstation 2.2.2112
VirtualBox 1.3.6
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2008
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 322
Thanked 31 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I don't know about the MS or Parallels but that VBox version (as well as VMware) are rather dated. VBox improved greatly since 1.3. It's up to 1.6.4.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtualization Software ninjatux FreeBSD Ports and Packages 4 8th January 2009 08:49 PM
Fax software drhowarddrfine General software and network 31 25th December 2008 06:18 AM
any wlanconfig-like software? niedzwiedz FreeBSD General 2 30th July 2008 11:56 PM
Server virtualization satimis Off-Topic 27 22nd June 2008 06:57 PM
bbs software mjt FreeBSD Ports and Packages 3 8th May 2008 03:02 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick