DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th May 2008
topche's Avatar
topche topche is offline
Real Name: Tosho
New User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sofia,Bulgaria
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question mount on boot problem

I have two disks on FreeBSD 7.0:
Code:
fdisk /dev/ad0
******* Working on device /dev/ad0 *******
parameters extracted from in-core disklabel are:
cylinders=155061 heads=16 sectors/track=63 (1008 blks/cyl)

Figures below won't work with BIOS for partitions not in cyl 1
parameters to be used for BIOS calculations are:
cylinders=155061 heads=16 sectors/track=63 (1008 blks/cyl)

Media sector size is 512
Warning: BIOS sector numbering starts with sector 1
Information from DOS bootblock is:
The data for partition 1 is:
sysid 165 (0xa5),(FreeBSD/NetBSD/386BSD)
    start 63, size 20964762 (10236 Meg), flag 80 (active)
        beg: cyl 0/ head 1/ sector 1;
        end: cyl 1023/ head 254/ sector 63
The data for partition 2 is:
sysid 130 (0x82),(Linux swap or Solaris x86)
    start 20964825, size 2088450 (1019 Meg), flag 0
        beg: cyl 1023/ head 255/ sector 63;
        end: cyl 1023/ head 254/ sector 63
The data for partition 3 is:
sysid 165 (0xa5),(FreeBSD/NetBSD/386BSD)
    start 23053275, size 133243110 (65060 Meg), flag 0
        beg: cyl 1023/ head 255/ sector 63;
        end: cyl 1023/ head 254/ sector 63
The data for partition 4 is:
<UNUSED>
and:
Code:
 fdisk /dev/ad1
******* Working on device /dev/ad1 *******
parameters extracted from in-core disklabel are:
cylinders=627651 heads=16 sectors/track=63 (1008 blks/cyl)

Figures below won't work with BIOS for partitions not in cyl 1
parameters to be used for BIOS calculations are:
cylinders=627651 heads=16 sectors/track=63 (1008 blks/cyl)

Media sector size is 512
Warning: BIOS sector numbering starts with sector 1
Information from DOS bootblock is:
The data for partition 1 is:
sysid 131 (0x83),(Linux native)
    start 63, size 632671767 (308921 Meg), flag 0
        beg: cyl 0/ head 1/ sector 1;
        end: cyl 1023/ head 254/ sector 63
The data for partition 2 is:
<UNUSED>
The data for partition 3 is:
<UNUSED>
The data for partition 4 is:
<UNUSED>
in fstab i have this:
Code:
 cat /etc/fstab
# Device                Mountpoint      FStype  Options         Dump    Pass#
/dev/ad0s2              none            swap    rw              0       0
/dev/ad0s1a             /                       ufs             rw                      1       1
/dev/ad0s3c            /second         ufs     rw                      2       2
/dev/ad1s1              /maxtor         ufs     rw                      2       2
/dev/cd0                /cdrom          cd9660  ro,noauto       0       0
Now the problem is that on boot is mounted only ad0s1a. I can mount without any problems other slices manual. What i miss ?
__________________
TANSTAAFL : "There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch"
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th May 2008
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,193
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

You fstab specifies UFS (BSD filesytem) type while fdisk detects it as Linux Native.(ext2fs ?)
Code:
/dev/ad1s1              /maxtor         ufs     rw                      2
Next problem is your mount of a reserved label "c", which should not be used in mounting, because that label designates the size of the slice/partition.
Code:
/dev/ad0s3c            /second         ufs     rw                      2       2
What is the output of bsdlabel /dev/ad0s3?
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th May 2008
topche's Avatar
topche topche is offline
Real Name: Tosho
New User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sofia,Bulgaria
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Code:
bsdlabel /dev/ad0s3
# /dev/ad0s3:
8 partitions:
#        size   offset    fstype   [fsize bsize bps/cpg]
  c: 133243110        0    unused        0     0         # "raw" part, don't edit
  d: 133243110        0    4.2BSD     2048 16384 28552
for ad1s1:
Code:
[root@server ~]# mount /dev/ad1s1 /maxtor/
[root@server ~]# mount
/dev/ad0s1a on / (ufs, local)
devfs on /dev (devfs, local)
/dev/ad0s3c on /second (ufs, local, soft-updates)
/dev/ad1s1 on /maxtor (ufs, local)
in this case what should be in fstab entry ?
__________________
TANSTAAFL : "There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch"
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th May 2008
ephemera's Avatar
ephemera ephemera is offline
Knuth's homeboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 537
Thanked 49 Times in 43 Posts
Default

if ad1s1 has an ext2/3 filesystem on it:

/dev/ad1s1 /maxtor ext2fs rw 0 0

but from your mount o/p it looks like maybe its formatted with ufs


/dev/ad0s3d /second ufs rw 2 2

incidently in your case ad0s3c will work but as a rule don't use 'c' partition in fstab

Last edited by ephemera; 10th May 2008 at 10:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th May 2008
ephemera's Avatar
ephemera ephemera is offline
Knuth's homeboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 537
Thanked 49 Times in 43 Posts
Default

what the o/p of:

# tunefs -p ad1s1
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th May 2008
topche's Avatar
topche topche is offline
Real Name: Tosho
New User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sofia,Bulgaria
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ephemera View Post
what the o/p of:

# tunefs -p ad1s1
Code:
tunefs -p ad1s1
tunefs: ACLs: (-a)                                         disabled
tunefs: MAC multilabel: (-l)                               disabled
tunefs: soft updates: (-n)                                 disabled
tunefs: gjournal: (-J)                                     disabled
tunefs: maximum blocks per file in a cylinder group: (-e)  2048
tunefs: average file size: (-f)                            16384
tunefs: average number of files in a directory: (-s)       64
tunefs: minimum percentage of free space: (-m)             8%
tunefs: optimization preference: (-o)                      time
tunefs: volume label: (-L)
i try to change in my fstab c flag to d and result was the same.

Code:
[root@server ~]# uptime
 8:12AM  up 2 mins, 1 user, load averages: 0.17, 0.23, 0.11
[root@server ~]# mount
/dev/ad0s1a on / (ufs, local)
devfs on /dev (devfs, local)
[root@server ~]# cat /etc/fstab
# Device                Mountpoint      FStype  Options         Dump    Pass#
/dev/ad0s2              none            swap    rw              0       0
/dev/ad0s1a             /                       ufs             rw                      1       1
/dev/ad0s3d             /second         ufs     rw                      2       2
/dev/ad1s1              /maxtor         ufs     rw                      2       2
/dev/cd0                /cdrom          cd9660  ro,noauto       0       0
i have another BSD servers and there is not problems like this ?
Is it possible to be this problem because i add second disk (ad1) and make second slice (ad0s3) after i finish installation ?? I mean when i make installation i create just ad0s1 (/ partition).When i had full working BSD I create and make file system for other slices .....
__________________
TANSTAAFL : "There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch"
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th May 2008
ephemera's Avatar
ephemera ephemera is offline
Knuth's homeboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 537
Thanked 49 Times in 43 Posts
Default

whats the o/p of:

# umount /second && mount -a && df -h | grep /second


if the above gives the expected o/p then attach the o/p of:

# umount /second && sh -x /etc/rc.d/mountcritlocal start && mount

and

# dmesg -a
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th May 2008
topche's Avatar
topche topche is offline
Real Name: Tosho
New User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sofia,Bulgaria
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The half of problem is solved.
First problem was swap entry in fstab:
Code:
/dev/ad0s2              none            swap    rw              0       0
when i change it - voala. With mount -a or/and reboot all other filesystems are mounted.
Now I change rw to sw, but still swap is not active.
Code:
root@server /etc]# mount
/dev/ad0s1a on / (ufs, local)
devfs on /dev (devfs, local)
/dev/ad0s3d on /second (ufs, local, soft-updates)
/dev/ad1s1 on /maxtor (ufs, local)
[root@server /etc]# swapinfo
Device          1K-blocks     Used    Avail Capacity
[root@server /etc]# swapon /dev/ad0s2
[root@server /etc]# swapinfo
Device          1K-blocks     Used    Avail Capacity
/dev/ad0s2        1044224        0  1044224     0%
as is seeing when i active manually swap, there is not problem.
__________________
TANSTAAFL : "There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, filesystem, mount

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot problem. Geometry problem? gulanito FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 0 3rd July 2009 03:03 AM
boot0cfg or grub and mount (HARDDISK PROBLEM) disappearedng FreeBSD General 9 10th July 2008 06:26 PM
FreeBSD boot problem kdi FreeBSD General 2 25th May 2008 07:09 AM
Installation cd boot problem michaela FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 1 20th May 2008 07:47 PM
Boot abort with gmirror problem lil_elvis2000 FreeBSD General 1 9th May 2008 08:06 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick