DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th September 2008
lumiwa lumiwa is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 145
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default swap partition

When I installed FreeBSD I had 512 MB of RAM and swap partition which I made is 1024MB. Now I have 2 GB RAM. Do I need to resize a swap partition, please?

Thanks.

Mitja
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th September 2008
J65nko J65nko is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,252
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

Although without knowing what you are using the computer for, you probably don't need a bigger swap partition.

You can use current swap usage with swapctl -l.

If you really would need more swap space, then you can increase swap space
by adding swapping to a file. See swapctl(8).
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th September 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 699
Thanked 90 Times in 81 Posts
Default

Monitor swap usage over a long-ish period of time (2-4 weeks). If your system never touches it, you don't have to worry it. If your system does touch swap a lot, then add more RAM.
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
robbak's Avatar
robbak robbak is offline
Real Name: Robert Backhaus
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Queensland, Australia
Posts: 366
Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
Default

With the huge amounts of cheap RAM that are becoming standard in systems these days, swap is usually redundant.

However, about the only thing cheaper than RAM these days is HDD space, so it harms nobody to have a few gigs of swap configured. Swap space is required if you want to use hibernation, as the system (IIRC) uses swap to store the system state, and it gives the system some elbow room if things go haywire.
My system is 344K into its 3.8G swap, but it does have 151MB Free.

If it is regularly in use, you should enlarge it (Not and easy task!). One thing you loose if the swap is less than the RAM is that you do not get a core dump if the kernel panics. Unlikely to be an issue for you unless you need to debug a problem in the future.
__________________
The only dumb question is a question not asked.
The only dumb answer is an answer not given.

Last edited by robbak; 11th September 2008 at 04:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbak View Post
One thing you loose if the swap is less than the RAM is that you do not get a core dump if the kernel panics. Unlikely to be an issue for you unless you need to debug a problem in the future.
Who on earth needs dumps.... even more, who would like to analyze them
Ever since i turned of core dumps, apps stopped to crash that much.... (is it for me me only?)
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by killasmurf86 View Post
Who on earth needs dumps.... even more, who would like to analyze them
Ever since i turned of core dumps, apps stopped to crash that much.... (is it for me me only?)
That's a really bad mindset, yet not an uncommon one..
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
Speedy Speedy is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Pelican State
Posts: 23
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbak View Post
... If it is regularly in use, you should enlarge it (Not and easy task!).
One can use a swap file. For instance, I was compiling OO in one of my Gentoo boxes, I saw the RAM got filled, swap usage started grow too. I managed to create a 3 GB swap file and turn it on without interrupting the build.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to swap partitions Help revzalot OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 2 1st September 2009 07:44 AM
I think I just mangled my partition table Mantazz FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 2 2nd July 2009 09:55 PM
Cannot activate partition in XP. bsdnewbie999 OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 6 4th May 2009 05:21 PM
Do you still use swap? JMJ_coder Off-Topic 22 11th July 2008 01:24 AM
/etc on a separate partition DarkEnergy FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 13 20th May 2008 04:24 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick