DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading

FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading FreeBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 23rd September 2008
jimbus's Avatar
jimbus jimbus is offline
Real Name: Jim Babcock
www.jimbus.com
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default portability to allegedly byte compatable but non-i386 CPUs

Hello,

We recently bought one of those sub $200 Everex PCs with gOS (a stripped don't Ubuntu for running mostly Google apps) and it's ok, but I'm a FreeBSD kind of guy...

So I'm wondering are the Via CPUs (which is the current iteration of the old Cyrix CPU) and the new Intel Atom CPU, which are i386 compatable but don't actually use the i386 instruction set (if I have that right... it's been about 15 years since I had those classes), are they compatible with the i386 distribution of FreeBSD?

Thanks,

JimB
__________________
Insert witty comment here!
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 23rd September 2008
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

I think you're confused, even the latest Intel processor can run code for the original 8086.. it's called backwards compatibility.

AMD/VIA/Intel, are manufactures.. Intel created the x86 architecture, and others have produced clones.

The BSD projects call their x86 port "i386" because that was the start of the 32-bit x86 architecture... the port originally being for the Intel 386 processor.

Some time ago, Intel had the idea to phase out the x86 architecture due to all the legacy.. their Itanium architecture, the reception was poor, AMD took it upon itself to create a 64-bit extension of the x86 architecture, "AMD64".

People liked it, in fact... so much so... Intel cloned AMD's work and produced their own "AMD64" compatible systems, "EMT64" was their code name.. they call it "Intel 64" now, most people call both compatible systems "x86-64" as a generic moniker.

The BSD's do not call their port "x86-64", because it was orignally of AMD's creation.. thus it's called "amd64".

So, to answer your original question... will the i386 port of FreeBSD run on a VIA x86 clone? Yes, it probably will.. assuming the device has a traditional PC BIOS and not some sort of custom boot infrastructure.

Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 23rd September 2008
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Update; here are some reference links..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Itanium
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X86-64
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X86
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
netinet/in.h in OpenBSD 4.4 i386 broken? SunSpyda OpenBSD General 4 3rd June 2009 01:51 PM
FreeBSD 7 i386, PAE and kernel modules eztiger FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 7 1st April 2009 06:07 PM
ddrescue: Must one use 512-byte blocks for HDDs? robbak General software and network 0 13th November 2008 04:12 AM
i386 drivers on amd64 kienjakenobi FreeBSD Ports and Packages 5 25th June 2008 05:37 PM
Revert from AMD64 to i386 chavez243 FreeBSD General 6 6th May 2008 12:24 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick