DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th November 2008
mururoa mururoa is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 46
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default MB + CPU replacement

Hi there,
I'm gonna change motherboard + CPU on my computer soon.
From A64 X2 + nForce 4 to C2D + nVidia 680i SLI.
I hope I wont have to reinstall FreeBSD after that.
Outside network interfaces and sound chip what should I configure/prepare before final shutdown to have no problem booting after the change ?
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th November 2008
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,088
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

Quote:
I hope I wont have to reinstall FreeBSD after that.
Only if you change architecture (i.e. amd64, i386, sparc64).

Quote:
Outside network interfaces and sound chip what should I configure/prepare before final shutdown to have no problem booting after the change ?
The only thing I've ever had problems with is when my disk numbering changed (i.e. ad2 instead of ad0), so you will want make sure you use the same connector as before (But even if you don't, it's no disaster, you can change it in singe-user mode).
Other than this, no preperation is needed.
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th November 2008
mururoa mururoa is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 46
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Architecture remain the same, i386.
But print sample of fstab is a good point so I can reorder the disks in case of.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th November 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

What was your previous CPU?
If you had intel cpu, and your BSD box was build with optimizations for it....
switching to AMD, might (but not necessary) break some things
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th November 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 699
Thanked 90 Times in 81 Posts
Default

If you use a custom kernel, you may want to build/install a GENERIC kernel before doing the transition. That way, it's pretty much guaranteed to work, and you can build a new custom kernel after finding all the hardware drivers/modules needed.

If you have CPUTYPE defined in /etc/make.conf, you may need to rebuild the world before doing the transition, if it's set to anything other than i686 or p3. A system built with CPUTYPE=athlon* may have issues running on a P4/Core CPU.
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th November 2008
mururoa mururoa is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 46
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a pretty generic kernel but I had to build a new kernel.
Unfortunatly I dont remember exactly why but I will look in make.conf.
Anyway I'm sure it was not just for optimisation and that I didnt set the CPUTYPE myself.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 18th November 2008
mururoa mururoa is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 46
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, change made.
A64 X2 + Nforce 7150 Chipset to C2D + P45 Chipset.
And the result was EASY
All changes I had to make was select the right root partition under mountroot and then edit fstab accordingly and that's all !
Ok I must admit I cheated a little plugging the same network card on the new MB but, hey, that was allowed
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th November 2008
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,088
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

Quote:
And the result was EASY
Told you

At work I have a hard disk with a FreeBSD installation, I use it as a ``LiveCD'' to fix PCs sometimes, the difference being it's much faster and that I can install apps, copy stuff to HDD if needed etc.
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th November 2008
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

I do the same, CS. I have one 20GB IDE drive that I use for this purpose.

In fact, I used to do new installs on my fastest machine, and then move over the disk to the target machine. They all have basically the same parts.
Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2008
ephemera's Avatar
ephemera ephemera is offline
Knuth's homeboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 537
Thanked 49 Times in 43 Posts
Default

I use a 8G usb flash for this purpose. Its very handy.
Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008
mururoa mururoa is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 46
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh one more thing.
I had a 6th sense using the old network card as the new integrated network chipset is not supported for now by FreeBSD
The MB is Asus P5Q and Asus provides drivers for windows and linux only.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Replacement of OS mwatkins FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 4 5th April 2009 04:01 AM
Trisentry replacement? neurosis FreeBSD Security 0 10th December 2008 04:09 PM
Replacement for Mail? Bruco FreeBSD Ports and Packages 9 14th June 2008 05:15 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick