DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 16th November 2008
jaideep_jdof jaideep_jdof is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 45
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Open BSD 4.4 boot up issue

I have installed openbsd 4.4 on my laptop and after reboot the system is not booting up. It gets stuck at a line which reads something like "recoh firewire 6 not configured 0 ".

How do i rectifiy this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 16th November 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,711
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

That message you see is just the last line of kernel messages before it hangs during boot. Your problem has nothing to do with firewire, which is unsupported (and ignored) hardware.

The easiest way to find the root cause is to do a verbose kernel boot.

Step 1: At the boot> prompt, type "boot -c"

Step 2: At the first UKC> prompt, type "verbose"

Step 3: At the second UKC> prompt, type "quit"

Step 4: See if there are any messages produced after the firewire probe has ended. This should point to the device causing the hang. It can be disabled at the UKC> prompt if necessary.

For more detail, see the boot_config(8) man page.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th November 2008
jaideep_jdof jaideep_jdof is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 45
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jggimi View Post
That message you see is just the last line of kernel messages before it hangs during boot. Your problem has nothing to do with firewire, which is unsupported (and ignored) hardware.

The easiest way to find the root cause is to do a verbose kernel boot.

Step 1: At the boot> prompt, type "boot -c"

Step 2: At the first UKC> prompt, type "verbose"

Step 3: At the second UKC> prompt, type "quit"

Step 4: See if there are any messages produced after the firewire probe has ended. This should point to the device causing the hang. It can be disabled at the UKC> prompt if necessary.

For more detail, see the boot_config(8) man page.
The last msg is the msg for probling "recoh firewire 6 not configured 0 sdhc0"
after that no msg.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th November 2008
jaideep_jdof jaideep_jdof is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 45
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I i disable sdhc it boots file, how can I disable sdhc for ever and what is tis purpose
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th November 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,711
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

The man page for sdhc(4) indicates it is the host controller for SD memory devices.

To disable it permanently after disabling it during boot -c at the UKC> prompt, issue:

# cp -p /bsd /bsd.orig
# config -euf /bsd

Please read the config(8) man page prior to executing the command, so you understand the impact.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th November 2008
jaideep_jdof jaideep_jdof is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 45
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If i disable it at boot time will i be able to reload this module when the system is up and i want to use my sd card reader. One more thing to enable softupdate i have added in the end softdep to the options line of my / and /home. How do i check that softdep is working.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th November 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,711
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaideep_jdof View Post
...will i be able to reload this module when the system is up...
No. This driver is not a module, it is a component of the monolithic kernel.

I don't know what architecture you are using, but if your hardware uses ACPI, you might consider "disable acpi" at the UKC> prompt; it often cures ills caused by varying interpretations of the ACPI standard by different manufacturers.
Quote:
One more thing to enable softupdate i have added in the end softdep to the options line of my / and /home. How do i check that softdep is working.
I assume you mean you've edited /etc/fstab. You can check mount options for all mounted filesystems by issuing:

$ mount
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th November 2008
jaideep_jdof jaideep_jdof is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 45
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open-source Flash? stukov Off-Topic 35 17th December 2009 04:53 PM
cannot open cloning pty l2fl2f FreeBSD General 2 10th December 2008 07:30 PM
How to open port 80 on FreeBSD kapom FreeBSD General 14 19th June 2008 04:48 AM
What Open Source package shall I run? satimis Off-Topic 2 2nd June 2008 12:43 PM
Dual-boot laptop won't boot OpenBSD after upgrade to 4.3 kbeaucha OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 17 30th May 2008 02:40 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick