DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 13th May 2008
buba buba is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default iwi0

OpenBSD 4_2 on laptop

dmesg |grep iwi0

iwi0 at pci2 dev 4 function 0 "Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG" rev 0x05: irq 11, address 00:0e:35:ed:98:b8
iwi0 at pci2 dev 4 function 0 "Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG" rev 0x05: irq 11, address 00:0e:35:ed:98:b8


ifconfig iwi0

iwi0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
lladdr 00:0e:35:ed:98:b8
groups: wlan
media: IEEE802.11 autoselect
status: no network
ieee80211: nwid "" 100dBm

My wifi lamp is not shining. But ifconfig -M iwi0 shows some networks.
Why lamp is shining when i starting kismet ?

And i can't use dstumbler : dstumbler iwi0 -o . error : unable to ioctl device socket.

When i use kismet, i see some networks. Why i can't see wifi packets via tcpdump -i iwi0 ?
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 13th May 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

dstumbler is broken, and was working only with older net80211 stack.

tcpdump can show packets iff associated with AP.

kismet show packets from lower, net80211 layer - including tcp, udp, etc.

Is lamp shining when using kismet all the time?
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 13th May 2008
buba buba is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

> Is lamp shining when using kismet all the time?

Yes
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 13th May 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Hmm, is should not happen, card operating in monitor mode should not transmit any packet.

send output of # ifconfig -v iwi0
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 13th May 2008
buba buba is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ifconfig iwi0 (-v : bad value)

iwi0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
lladdr 00:0e:35:ed:98:b8
groups: wlan
media: IEEE802.11 autoselect
status: no network
ieee80211: nwid "" 100dBm
inet6 fe80::20e:35ff:feed:98b8%iwi0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 13th May 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

better try -A flag

Output of ifconfig is more usefull when kismet is actually using iwi, not when interface is down.

What is your real problem with iwi?
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th May 2008
buba buba is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

without kismet

iwi0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
lladdr 00:0e:35:ed:98:b8
groups: wlan
media: IEEE802.11 autoselect
status: no network
ieee80211: nwid "" 100dBm


with kismet

iwi0: flags=8903<UP,BROADCAST,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
lladdr 00:0e:35:ed:98:b8
groups: wlan
media: IEEE802.11 autoselect monitor
status: no network
ieee80211: nwid "" chan 2 100dBm
inet6 fe80::20e:35ff:feed:98b8%iwi0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 16th May 2008
buba buba is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

oh, ye..!!!

I decided my problem today.

i wanted to find AP and used command: ifconfig -M iwi0 . I found some AP and saw that my lamp is shining.

Now i use this command to start iwi0 (lamp is shining). Then i can connect to AP. But , when iwi0 have status "active" and i run kismet i lost connection to AP.

Why "ifconfic -M iwi0" ups iwi0 ? I see "man ifconfig" , it tell me that "-M" - shows the result of an AP scan. Coomand "ifconfig iwi0 up" didn't my problems.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 16th May 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Kismet puts device, in this case iwi0, in monitor mode, in such mode none of packets are transmited, so this is also explanation why your card is no more associated with certain AP.

That is normal behaviour with iwi driver and with such intel cards(and many others).

Of course some cards allow multi-BSS but that is another story.
Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2008
buba buba is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok , thanks !!!
__________________
Please, correct my english if i make mistake !
Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richardpl View Post
tcpdump can show packets iff associated with AP.
Incorrect, at least on FreeBSD tcpdump will show packets if card is not associated. Note that such packets doesnt have anything with tcp, ip and other (IPS) *higher* protocols. So in short tcpdump allow monitor of 802.11 packets.

Didnt tried same thing with OpenBSD, but probably pcap(3) plays some role in this.
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2008
buba buba is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I want test mode "monitor". --> ifconfig iwi0 mediaopt monitor; ifconfig iwi0 up.

ifconfig iwi0

media: IEEE802.11 autoselect monitor
status: active


How can i see all traffic ? (kismet - working) I used any sniffers, but didn't catch traffic.
__________________
Please, correct my english if i make mistake !
Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2008
buba buba is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
I want test mode "monitor". --> ifconfig iwi0 mediaopt monitor; ifconfig iwi0 up.

ifconfig iwi0

media: IEEE802.11 autoselect monitor
status: active


How can i see all traffic ? (kismet - working) I used any sniffers, but didn't catch traffic.
Could you give me advice, what toos i can use ?
__________________
Please, correct my english if i make mistake !
Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Update to OpenBSD 4.3, Why? maybe iwi dont have monitor working (I dont have time to look in OpenBSD iwi source to answer 100% correct)

Try to see if capturing raw packets will work with latest beta aircrack-ng (using airodump-ng iwi0) from www.aircrack-ng.org [1.0-beta2]
Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2008
buba buba is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Richardpl, i cant understand why i can't use build in OS tools (tcpdump) --- it is very uncomfortable.
__________________
Please, correct my english if i make mistake !
Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2008
buba buba is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

tcpdump -y IEEE802_11 - is working



Thanks!!!
__________________
Please, correct my english if i make mistake !
Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Looks like on OpenBSD you need to do it manually ... btw, I completly forgot that tcpdump can do that nice trick.
Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2008
buba buba is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ifconfig iwi0 down;

ifconfig iwi0 mediaopt monitor chan 6;

ifconfig iwi0 --- says that chan is 6


But after : ifconfig iwi0 up; ifconfig iwi0 --- says that chan is 1

Why ?
__________________
Please, correct my english if i make mistake !
Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Dont know what is standard behaviour (if it is defined at all).
Change chan while interface is up. (at least thats what kismet and airodump-ng currently doing)
Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2008
buba buba is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

>Change chan while interface is up

ifconfig iwi0 chan 6 ;

But ifcconfig iwi0 --- says that chan is 1
__________________
Please, correct my english if i make mistake !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
configure iwi0 milo974 OpenBSD General 1 4th August 2008 12:27 PM
dhclient iwi0 "Could not read iwi-bss' error FreeMan OpenBSD General 2 15th May 2008 08:01 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick