DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25th March 2009
running_fist running_fist is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEPennsylvania
Posts: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Heck, I don't have a sound card at all right now. I am using the crappy on board (intel) sound. You guys are going to be the ruin of my marriage
Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2009
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by running_fist View Post
Heck, I don't have a sound card at all right now. I am using the crappy on board (intel) sound. You guys are going to be the ruin of my marriage
Always a pleasure to be of service!

Seriously, your on-board sound might be OK for your purposes, but I'll defer to Rod on that topic. I just don't have enough experience. Seriously, though, the sound cards he mentions are not that expensive, and undoubtedly you can find one on eBay.

Which Intel on-board do you have?
Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2009
running_fist running_fist is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEPennsylvania
Posts: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I am using an IBM Intellistation A Pro workstaion, (picked up off ebay) which is great for building from ports and the sound is not terrible, only poor with decent speakers. I will have to look around to see which chipset they use. I am off to work so it will have to be later.

jlt
Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2009
roddierod's Avatar
roddierod roddierod is offline
Real Name: Rod Person
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 372
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by running_fist View Post
I am using an IBM Intellistation A Pro workstaion, (picked up off ebay) which is great for building from ports and the sound is not terrible, only poor with decent speakers. I will have to look around to see which chipset they use. I am off to work so it will have to be later.
jlt
One of my workstations at work is an IntelliStation Z Pro, I'm picky so this my not affect you, but I think the on board sound add lots of noise - of course in running XP Enterprise
__________________
"The basic tool for the manipulation of reality is the manipulation of words. If you can control the meaning of words, you can control the people who must use the words." -Philip K. Dick
Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2009
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Hmmm. The A Pro is a dual Opteron system. That can't have an Intel chipset. I have an old Z Pro; that uses the ICH4 south bridge. There is also the M Pro.

Do you have the model right?
Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2009
running_fist running_fist is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEPennsylvania
Posts: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

It's an A with dual opterons. You may be right about the board, being IBM I assumed intel (the opteron intel combo seemed odd, but hey). I will have to take her apart and have a look. I know the sata controller was SI(3214 I think), which caused a lot of grief. I ended up getting a 3ware card although the onboard scsi(Adaptec) works well.
When I say poor sound it is typical "onboard computer sound" gets the job done but certainly uninspiring.

checking the driver
It uses the snd_ich driver , from the man page
SND_ICH(4) FreeBSD Kernel Interfaces Manual SND_ICH(4)

NAME
snd_ich -- Intel ICH PCI and compatible bridge device driver
jlt

Last edited by running_fist; 26th March 2009 at 05:35 PM. Reason: additional info
Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2009
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Look up the user or service manual -- they always have specifications. IBM still has those on line. You should also be able to get the info from dmesg.
Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2009
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

It appears to use the AMD 8000 chipset. I don't know why you find ICH4, but presumably it is compatible with Intel's chipset. That is a standard AC97 audio system. No idea what the quality might be -- you may just have to try it.
Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2009
running_fist running_fist is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEPennsylvania
Posts: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I am an idiot!! I did this

$kldload snd_driver
$cat /dev/sndstat

And got this

FreeBSD Audio Driver (newpcm: 32bit 2007061600/i386)
Installed devices:
pcm0: <AMD-8111> at io 0x1000, 0x1400 irq 17 bufsz 16384 kld snd_ich [MPSAFE] (1p:1v/1r:1v channels duplex default)

How I saw the driver and missed the AMD-8111, I cannot say.

I think to get started I am going to scavenge what I can until I figure out what I am doing, I got the turn table as cast off and with the exception of the cartridge I think I can find everything else I need. Once I have played around a bit I will look into better quality h-ware.

Do you use Audacity? Any advice for the conversion process?
Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2009
roddierod's Avatar
roddierod roddierod is offline
Real Name: Rod Person
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 372
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

I use Audacity. What I usually do is record an enitre side of an album or tape and then go back and cut the file up into individual tracks. And export them as wav files.

Once all the files are written to a directory, I run a script to convert them into the desired format.
__________________
"The basic tool for the manipulation of reality is the manipulation of words. If you can control the meaning of words, you can control the people who must use the words." -Philip K. Dick
Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2009
IdOp's Avatar
IdOp IdOp is offline
Too dumb for a smartphone
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: twisting on the daemon's fork(2)
Posts: 555
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

My 2cents:

I used command-line tools like the SoX package, normalize, dd and cdrdao.

Recording a whole album side can be a good idea. You may want to do it more than once both to optimize your recording volume level and see how much dirt the stylus drags out of the grooves (depends on the record's condition).

I just recorded the stuff as .raw rather than .wav. In the beginning I pulled out individual tracks too, but eventually decided it was slightly counter-productive, because all you need to do is find the track boundaries and put them in the .toc file that cdrdao uses. To make mp3's (or the like) you can key off that as well and use dd to feed it into the encoder.

It's worth using a good sensitive set of headphones to do the boundary work, so you can really hear where the track starts and fades out completely.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick