DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading

FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading FreeBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th January 2009
tano tano is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Have you tried PC-BSD7.0.2?

It takes most of your fiddling needs resolved...
You can then concentrate on getting it more similar to your personal taste.

For instance, I am running Xmonad as a window manager on top of XFCE... instead of KDE4.
Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2009
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Thanked 112 Times in 104 Posts
Default

7.0Alpha builds didn't take well to my test PC, and caused a bit of dataloss as well - since then, the sacrificial PC has been removed from the line of fire ;-)

PC-BSD 7.0 Release also blew up at the boot loader in VirtualBox, so I haven't used any of the 7.0 s since before tbe switch from KDE3->KDE4
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2009
garfield270584 garfield270584 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi all, i'm trying to install grisbi from ports and i got trouble it said error code:2 stop in gio-fam-backend ?
what is this meaning?
how can i solve this ?
and when i tried to install vba from ports it stop suddenly, what's wrong? it has not showed up any error message?
Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2009
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Thanked 112 Times in 104 Posts
Default

It means the build failed in /usr/ports/devel/gio-fam-backend with error code 2; to find out anything more useful, you have to read the messages above that, which will generally give a more descriptive reason.

And deserves its own thread with full details ;-)
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2009
garfield270584 garfield270584 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well..., i forgot the detail , and hei,
my brother is messin around with some window enchancher and my samsung cd rw cannot be used to burn again can freebsd fix this problem? i dual boot windows - freebsd, thanks...
Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009
fbsduser fbsduser is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 103
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garfield270584 View Post
well..., i forgot the detail , and hei,
my brother is messin around with some window enchancher and my samsung cd rw cannot be used to burn again can freebsd fix this problem? i dual boot windows - freebsd, thanks...
Do you mean a mod/enhancer for windoze? Also try to burn from windoze, if it fails there too. Chances are your CD burner gave up the ghost.
Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009
garfield270584 garfield270584 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well, it cannot burn from windoze tooo....
i guess it's broken, well, cd rw is quite expensive here, 300.000 rupiahs, what a waste !!!
thanks for the answer.....
hey, i just thinking....
if openbsd has advance security, netbsd has portability or whatever it means, then what freebsd have ? usability ? can bsd have both quality of openbsd and netbsd ? how ? thanks....
Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2009
garfield270584 garfield270584 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

weell..., hello guys, i want to ask did someone in this forum has tried to use freebsd 7.1 in aspire 5580 ? is it worked well ? i mean the acpi problem, has it solved yet ? or any information about that....

thanks,
Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2009
garfield270584 garfield270584 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hai all, i want to ask about freebsd 7.1. is this release have been fix the acpi problem isues in acer aspire 5580 / 5583nwxmi ?

thanks alot guys....
Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2009
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Note that acpi with SMP is currently broken on every laptop/system.
If you have SMP cpu and SMP is enabled in BIOS this command may make resume working:
# echo "kern.smp.disabled=1" >> /boot/loader.conf && reboot
Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2009
garfield270584 garfield270584 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hey isn't that mean only one processor that worked ?
is that okay ?
Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2009
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Yes, on multi CPUs only one will work and on multicore CPUs all cores will work as same CPU(with no performance gains), but it should not matter once you are on batteries because then performace is less important than battery life.
Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2009
garfield270584 garfield270584 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

bu..t...
the performance loss ? is it matter ?
i mean is it affect my daily need of typing and doing my daily jobs with laptop?
Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2009
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Why you dont try it yourself.
I cant guess what are your daily jobs with computer, so I cant predict its performance with SMP disabled.
Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009
garfield270584 garfield270584 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks, i'll try it. btw, i just find out that freebsd can download file from ftp with command. what else freebsd can do ? because i don't want waste my time porting useless program like filezilla, because freebsd has command line ftp and it's faster.
oh, yes it bugging me, is the livefs is included in dvd installer for freebsd 7.1 ?
thanks...
Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Perhaps you should stick with Windows or Ubuntu or even better, stop asking questions and learn while exploring BSD.
Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2009
garfield270584 garfield270584 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well, i've read absolutebsd, but many things i don't understand, may i list my question ? or i hve to read another book ? what book are you suggesting me ?
Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009
jb_daefo jb_daefo is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 196
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

you can ask here, but there are many places on line which
have set up how-to's and guides already. Years of information
there, to ask here is sometimes a not-very-efficient way
compared to searching on the internet. For instance, onlamp.com...
__________________
using /LOOKAT/ with /var/db/pkg files and portmaster/aliases/pipes/find/grep to meteorically speedup port upgrades/installs...
Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009
garfield270584 garfield270584 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hello all,
long time no see er.. ask..

well, straight to the question....
i meet my old friend, we use dos together long timeago, well for short is, he ask me if freebsd can speed freebsd up with copying the file to swap or even to copy the whole of it to swap.... or ram...
i said i know a few tricks like make /tmp in ram, and then he say, it's not fast enough like dos in his hand, well, i said i don't know, i'm the new guy, can freebsd do it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FreeBSD-8.0-BETA1 Install Question. MetalHead FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 0 9th July 2009 06:23 PM
Any interest in some backup PCBSD forums in here? bforest Feedback and Suggestions 2 14th January 2009 09:33 PM
PCBSD Lead Developer Interview fridder FreeBSD General 0 27th August 2008 11:08 PM
Stupid question about FreeBSD giga FreeBSD General 4 16th August 2008 10:36 AM
Question about FreeBSD 7 and older HP Hardware. EvoIX_MR2006 FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 1 17th June 2008 07:37 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick