DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th May 2009
jrs jrs is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Processor Utilisation zero on AMD64

Installed AMD64 on Dell Poweredge R300 with dual corp Intel Xeon E3113 processor.

Top utitlity reports system load but 0% utilisation for both cores and all processes.

Does Processor utilisation and process cpu utilisation require AMD processor?
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th May 2009
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,825
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

No, 64-bit Intel CPUs run the same instruction set, though there are differences in implementation of PAE NX on some Intel processors -- see the opening paragraph of www.openbsd.org/amd64.html for details.

For help with diagnosing your problem, please post your dmesg and a sample of the incorrect top output.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th May 2009
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,825
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Ah, your dmesg is here: http://www.daemonforums.org/showthre...3867#post23867

So just post the top output.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th May 2009
jrs jrs is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

load averages: 0.06, 0.08, 0.08 13:49:48
37 processes: 36 idle, 1 on processor
CPU0 states: 0.0% user, 0.0% nice, 0.0% system, 0.0% interrupt, 100% idle
CPU1 states: 0.0% user, 0.0% nice, 0.0% system, 0.0% interrupt, 100% idle
Memory: Real: 180M/409M act/tot Free: 1570M Swap: 0K/50G used/tot

PID USERNAME PRI NICE SIZE RES STATE WAIT TIME CPU COMMAND
22734 root 2 0 47M 43M sleep/1 select 0:00 0.00% perl
18568 root 2 0 3428K 3056K sleep/0 select 0:00 0.00% sshd
3226 root 2 0 10M 5036K sleep/1 select 0:00 0.00% perl
27811 root 18 0 608K 528K sleep/0 pause 0:00 0.00% ksh
24146 root 10 0 336K 708K sleep/0 nanosle 0:00 0.00% svscan
7957 root 2 0 109M 1416K idle poll 0:00 0.00% clamd
30244 qmails 2 0 448K 836K idle select 0:00 0.00% qmail-send
16765 root 2 0 47M 5372K sleep/1 select 0:00 0.00% perl
12464 root 2 0 47M 5404K sleep/0 select 0:00 0.00% perl
6315 _syslogd 2 0 484K 780K sleep/0 poll 0:00 0.00% syslogd
2108 root 2 0 468K 728K idle select 0:00 0.00% qmail-lspawn
31978 _clamav 2 0 684K 1352K idle poll 0:00 0.00% freshclam
10420 qmaill -6 0 312K 744K idle piperd 0:00 0.00% splogger
28185 root 2 0 564K 892K idle select 0:00 0.00% cron
15068 qmaild 2 0 444K 824K idle netcon 0:00 0.00% tcpserver
21983 qmailq -6 0 388K 728K idle piperd 0:00 0.00% qmail-clean
2967 root 2 0 376K 572K idle poll 0:00 0.00% supervise
22934 root 2 0 288K 580K idle poll 0:00 0.00% supervise
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th May 2009
jrs jrs is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Top now appears to be working properly. Apart from a reboot , nothing relevant was changed.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th May 2009
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,825
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Odd.

The load values looks reasonable, but there were no active/running processes other than top. If it happens again, just run a looping shell script, or something else that should busy out one or both CPUs, such as sysutils/stress.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st June 2009
bsdplus bsdplus is offline
Real Name: Alan Cheng
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

not quite sure about this, but my understanding is that this is caused by TOP sampling interval. Top get CPU utilization statistics every second, but on a idle server, most processes finish their operation within, say, 200 mili seconds, so Top just reports 0 utilization.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FreeBSD 7.2 amd64 no sound erim FreeBSD General 5 3rd June 2009 07:54 AM
AMD64 Problems? anyone? bigearsbilly FreeBSD General 4 28th April 2009 01:58 AM
How to detect the frequency of individual cores in a dual core processor? mc_i2020 FreeBSD General 5 18th July 2008 01:46 AM
amd64 or x86? mosburn FreeBSD General 8 21st May 2008 09:51 PM
Revert from AMD64 to i386 chavez243 FreeBSD General 6 6th May 2008 12:24 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick