DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th May 2008
ClaptonOrient ClaptonOrient is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Router - recommendations for FreeBSD?

It's way past time that I got onto adsl - broadband, as we quaintly call it in the UK - and I'm wondering if anyone can recommend a router (with built-in modem, and wireless broadcast) that's not too fiddly with FreeBSD.

I've heard some routers need Internet Explorer to set them up ...

Last edited by ClaptonOrient; 14th May 2008 at 11:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th May 2008
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,051
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

Quote:
I've heard some routers need Internet Explorer to set them up ...
Sound like an urban legend to me...
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th May 2008
hamba hamba is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 71
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Not really, here at work I have two brand new netgear switches and to get into there web interface you have to use MS Internet explorer, firefox just hangs.

At home I have an asus router and its working very nicely with firefox.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th May 2008
tuck's Avatar
tuck tuck is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 99
Thanked 14 Times in 6 Posts
Default

The same problem with some routers from t-online. I don't know the exact name of the devices but my father bought two that refuse to respond to Firefox.

Last edited by tuck; 14th May 2008 at 02:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th May 2008
anomie's Avatar
anomie anomie is offline
Local
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 446
Thanked 69 Times in 46 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClaptonOrient
... I'm wondering if anyone can recommend a router (with built-in modem, and wireless broadcast) that's not too fiddly with FreeBSD.
I've been using a SpeedStream ethernet DSL modem / NAT device with FreeBSD for a couple years. (I can't seem to remove it from my wall at the moment to see the exact model number .) This was provided by my ISP for "free" as part of a DSL contract.

I don't have any experience with a single device that fulfills all of your requirements: modem + router + wireless AP. AFAIK it is more common for home users to attach a so-called SOHO wireless router to a DSL modem, and then attach the home PC(s) to the SOHO wireless router/switch.
__________________
Kill your t.v.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th May 2008
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Thanked 112 Times in 104 Posts
Default

Any thing that needs IE for the setup, I'd through the F out...


The main reason why I would rather press my OpenBSD machine into service if I had the hardware, is so I don't need a *new* web interface every time we replace a router with a different brand :-(
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th May 2008
18Googol2's Avatar
18Googol2 18Googol2 is offline
Real Name: whoami
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: pwd
Posts: 283
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anomie View Post
I've been using a SpeedStream ethernet DSL modem / NAT device with FreeBSD for a couple years. (I can't seem to remove it from my wall at the moment to see the exact model number .) This was provided by my ISP for "free" as part of a DSL contract.
Is it SpeedStream 4200? I got one, had used for months before moving to cable internet, and it served me very well.

To the OP: take a look at Netcomm NB6plus4w or Dynalink RTA1025W.

And yes, you guys remind me of my abandoned D-Link 320g. There are some settings which can only be changed in IE!
__________________
The power of plain text? It can control an entire OS

Last edited by 18Googol2; 14th May 2008 at 06:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th May 2008
anomie's Avatar
anomie anomie is offline
Local
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 446
Thanked 69 Times in 46 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18Googol2
Is it SpeedStream 4200?
I'm not sure. Rather than breaking the plastic mounting, I've taken a photo of it and attached it here. Not sure if that helps identify it or not.

Anyway, it's been a nice modem (though I'm not thrilled that it acts as a NAT device).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg speedstream.jpg (23.7 KB, 32 views)
__________________
Kill your t.v.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th May 2008
18Googol2's Avatar
18Googol2 18Googol2 is offline
Real Name: whoami
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: pwd
Posts: 283
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Yes thats it. I still remember sometimes its uptime could reach a month easily

Small, doesnt look fancy but it does the job
Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2008
protologic protologic is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You might be interested in monowall, http://www.m0n0.ch/wall, or pfsense, http://www.pfsense.org/
Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2008
mtx's Avatar
mtx mtx is offline
Real Name: Valentin Bud
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: RO/TM
Posts: 79
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Default

been using SpeedTouch v516 ADSL modem/router (running in bridge mode) and mpd4 on FreeBSD for almost an year and a half. Works well. Stay away from TP Link. At my first job i have bought one and it crashed serving 5 computers.

all the best,
v
__________________
Stop! think! ... the problem is somewhere between the monitor and chair...
"First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win." Gandhi
links: spreadbsd syk
Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2008
coppermine's Avatar
coppermine coppermine is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 40
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It, as always, depends where are you going to use this router. At home? Ok, such devices are good enough. But I wouldn't trust them at company level...
The price correlates very good in the case of router quality/capabilities!
Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 699
Thanked 90 Times in 81 Posts
Default

Check out the Linksys WRTG line of home routers. They run embedded Linux, and can be flashed with alternate firmware (like OpenWRT) that add a lot of features to them.
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2008
18Googol2's Avatar
18Googol2 18Googol2 is offline
Real Name: whoami
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: pwd
Posts: 283
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix View Post
Check out the Linksys WRTG line of home routers. They run embedded Linux, and can be flashed with alternate firmware (like OpenWRT) that add a lot of features to them.
Not really, only WRT54L running stock Linux (L is short for Linux), all other running normal Linksys firmware. Also, not all WRT series routers can be flashed with 3rd party firmware (like the recent WRT54G version v7.0) or they only take the mini, not full version. Im pretty much familiar with WRT series since I own 2 of WRT54L atm

Btw, the OP asks for all in one device (modem, router, AP), not just router
__________________
The power of plain text? It can control an entire OS
Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2008
windependence's Avatar
windependence windependence is offline
Real Name: Tim
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 116
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I've been running an Actiontec and serving the web from it for over 5 years. Uptime has been several months unless I have to change hardware for some reason.

-Tim
__________________
www.windependence.org
Get your Windependence today!
Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2008
billtotman billtotman is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Not An Urban Legend

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carpetsmoker View Post
Sound like an urban legend to me...
I know SofaWare Edge devices use to require IE to initially log in. After that FireFox and even Konqueror worked just fine.

The 7.5.55 firmware version of their Safe@Office device did not need IE when I initialized mine about a month ago.

The funny thing about that is the Safe@Office is the 'lesser' of the two devices.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008
mish's Avatar
mish mish is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Makati City, Philippines
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Another vote for the Siemens Speedstream 4200 here. I've been using it for a small home network for two years now. It's one of those set it up and forget about it types. Really reliable.

It fronts for our network at home, but I've disabled almost all of its built-in features, preferring to let the OpenBSD machine behind it do all the work (packet filtering, NAT, DHCP, DNS, NTP, proxy, wireless AP, bandwidth-shaping, spam delaying, etc).
Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008
harisman's Avatar
harisman harisman is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hellas (Greece)
Posts: 66
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

My recommendation is to buy:
a) a PC Engines miniITX (or other brand, lets say Soekris )
b) an Atheros cm9 minipci wifi card
c) one ethernet card
d) a cheap ethernet pppoe adsl modem
e) a cheap external wifi antenna
.... and install pfsence on it - as protologic already suggested.

You will end up having a little more expensive BUT powerfull router. Not many cheap commercial adsl routers offers the functionality and the capabilities compared to this setup.

Last edited by harisman; 12th June 2008 at 06:18 PM. Reason: Added Soekris ;-)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable modem + router + FreeBSD Beastie FreeBSD General 2 24th June 2009 07:58 AM
FreeBSD as firewall/router on VMware ESXi Bruco FreeBSD General 12 6th December 2008 08:37 PM
Decision for FreeBSD router bichumo General software and network 3 3rd July 2008 07:33 PM
Where to go for specific freebsd router problems? borngeniusat1974 FreeBSD General 3 19th June 2008 11:21 PM
freeBSD router running openospfd with failover using ifstated dk_netsvil Guides 0 21st May 2008 05:26 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick