DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 25th February 2010
garthbrooks garthbrooks is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool pppoe0 won't connect to ISP DSL

Hi all,

I can't make this one work, though I think it's close. I'm setting up a OpenBSD 4.4 firewall (pf). I have ADSL-connection to my ISP with dynamically assigned ip. My DSL-modem is a bridge-type modem which is connected to the BSD machine, on which I run the built in PPPoE-daemon.

The interface connecting to the DSL-modem is rl0.

My /etc/hostname.rl0:
Code:
up
My /etc/hostname.pppoe0:
Code:
pppoedev rl0
!/sbin/ifconfig rl0 up
inet 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.255 NONE authproto chap authname 'username@tele2adsl8' authkey 'password' up
dest 0.0.0.1
!/sbin/route add default -ifp pppoe0 0.0.0.1
(of course username and password are the credentials I received from my ISP)


After I reboot or run the /etc/netstart i keep an eye on the ifconfig pppoe0:
Code:
pppoe0: flags=8851<UP,POINTOPOINT,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1492
        dev: rl0 state: PADI sent
        sid: 0x0 PADI retries: 5 PADR retries: 0
        sppp: phase establish authproto chap authname "username@tele2adsl8" 
        groups: pppoe egress
        inet6 fe80::219:5bff:fe7f:4d51%pppoe0 ->  prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x7
        inet 0.0.0.0 --> 0.0.0.1 netmask 0xffffffff

After a few attempts (PADI retries) it's terminated:
Code:
pppoe0: flags=8851<UP,POINTOPOINT,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1492
        dev: rl0 state: session
        sid: 0xcbe7 PADI retries: 6 PADR retries: 0 time: 00:00:03
        sppp: phase terminate authproto chap authname "username@tele2adsl8" 
        groups: pppoe egress
        inet6 fe80::219:5bff:fe7f:4d51%pppoe0 ->  prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x7
        inet 0.0.0.0 --> 0.0.0.1 netmask 0xffffffff

The PPPoE-client is talking to the DSLAM right? But something goes wrong. Am i missing out on the syntax somewhere?
Btw; pf is disabled during these tests.

I have tried the connection with a Netgear WLAN Router with built in PPPoE-client, and that works like a charm with the same log in credentials so I know the ISP-connection is OK.

Any ideas I can try out?

Thanx in advance.

/G

Last edited by J65nko; 25th February 2010 at 08:29 PM. Reason: [code] and [/code] tags added
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 25th February 2010
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,116
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

How about following the example in pppoe(4) closely:
Code:
EXAMPLES
     A typical /etc/hostname.pppoe0 file looks like this:

           inet 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.255 NONE \
                   pppoedev ne0 authproto pap \
                   authname 'testcaller' authkey 'donttell' up
           dest 0.0.0.1
           !/sbin/route add default -ifp pppoe0 0.0.0.1

     The physical interface must also be marked `up':

           # echo "up" > /etc/hostname.ne0

     Since this is a PPP interface, the addresses assigned to the interface
     may change during PPP negotiation.  There is no fine grained control
     available for deciding which addresses are acceptable and which are not.
     For the local side and the remote address there is exactly one choice:
     hard coded address or wildcard.  If a real address is assigned to one
     side of the connection, PPP negotiation will only agree to exactly this
     address.  If one side is wildcarded, every address suggested by the peer
     will be accepted.

     To wildcard the local address set it to 0.0.0.0; to wildcard the remote
     address set it to 0.0.0.1.
BTW OBSD 4.4 is quite old, 4.6 is the latest release. And 4.7 will be released in a couple of months
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th February 2010
garthbrooks garthbrooks is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yea, Im thinkin of upgrading, but was just trying to solve this on my present installation.

I tried the pppoe(4) example exactly but then when I run ifconfig pppoe0 the line:
dev: rl0 state: PADI sent
just show:
dev: state: PADI sent
...as if it hasn't detected tje connection to the rl0-interface. And the ppp-connection doesn't move, no retries are made and so on. So the hostname.pppoe0 config posted is the closest to success so far
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th February 2010
garthbrooks garthbrooks is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hm. Seems like PAP instead of CHAP solved it.....works fine now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
connect to OpenBSD BOX with VNC mfaridi OpenBSD General 9 14th April 2010 08:38 PM
How understand someone connect to my BOX with VNC mfaridi OpenBSD Security 8 21st November 2008 12:24 AM
FTP-Proxy cannot connect plexter OpenBSD Packages and Ports 6 11th October 2008 05:59 PM
wpa_supplicant won't connect to AP adamk FreeBSD General 4 24th September 2008 08:09 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick