DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 28th June 2010
dmiparo dmiparo is offline
Real Name: Dmitry
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default halt -p problem

Dear Sirs
I need a help in solving a problem with a "halt -p" disorder which I encountered on my Presario CQ60 laptop.
My OS is OpenBSD 4.6.
When I need to shutdown and power off my system I use a ' shutdown -hp now' or 'halt -p' commands from the shell prompt. But the results are ambiguous: sometimes it really shuts down and power-offs and sometimes it just restarts.
Can you give me a hint, please, on how to make it so that when I type 'halt -p' my machine will always completely stop and turn its lights off?
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 28th June 2010
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,876
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmiparo View Post
But the results are ambiguous: sometimes it really shuts down and power-offs and sometimes it just restarts.
First, post the entire output of dmesg(8). We need to see whether your motherboard supports APM or ACPI.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 28th June 2010
shep shep is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 585
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

The Presario CQ60 is a fairly new machine that probably has acpi. If you are using OpenBSD i386 it has apm by default. OpenBSD amd64 has acpi by default.

You might want to try using the kernel configuration option at boot to disable apm as described in this post
http://www.daemonforums.org/showthread.php?t=3638

If this works then the post tells how to make it permanent.

Last edited by shep; 28th June 2010 at 10:27 PM. Reason: your -> you are
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 28th June 2010
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,876
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shep View Post
If you are using OpenBSD i386 it has apm by default. OpenBSD amd64 has acpi by default.
This isn't necessarily true which can be seen in the following:

http://marc.info/?l=openbsd-tech&m=124545473209570&w=2

This is why I asked for dmesg(8) output first.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 28th June 2010
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Theo has frequently stated that the choice between ACPI and APM is dependant on a few internal heuristics.. this system does indeed appear to be newer, and probably is defaulting to ACPI not APM, but ocicat is correct that the user could have offered a little more.. including a dmesg.

Upgrading to 4.7 or even to a snapshot would also be a good idea.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th June 2010
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,876
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Another thing that dmesg(8) output would show is the BIOS version. Depending upon what could be ferreted out on HP's Website, there may or may not be a newer version available. Upgrading the BIOS may also help in resolving shutdown problems.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th June 2010
dmiparo dmiparo is offline
Real Name: Dmitry
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for your response. These are the contents of the dmesg.boot file:
Code:
OpenBSD 4.6 (GENERIC.MP) #89: Thu Jul  9 21:32:39 MDT 2009
    deraadt@i386.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sy...ile/GENERIC.MP
RTC BIOS diagnostic error 80<clock_battery>
cpu0: Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T3200 @ 2.00GHz ("GenuineIntel" 686-class) 2 GHz
cpu0: FPU,V86,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,SBF,SSE3,MWAIT,DS-CPL,EST,TM2,CX16,xTPR
real mem  = 2074710016 (1978MB)
avail mem = 1997197312 (1904MB)
RTC BIOS diagnostic error 80<clock_battery>
mainbus0 at root
bios0 at mainbus0: AT/286+ BIOS, date 08/13/08, SMBIOS rev. 2.4 @ 0xe5180 (33 entries)
bios0: vendor Hewlett-Packard version "F.24" date 08/13/2008
bios0: Hewlett-Packard Compaq Presario CQ60 Notebook PC
acpi0 at bios0: rev 2
acpi0: tables DSDT FACP HPET APIC MCFG ASF! SLIC BOOT SSDT SSDT
acpi0: wakeup devices LID0(S3) SLPB(S3) P32_(S0) KBD0(S3) PS2M(S3) PXSX(S5) PXSX(S4) EXP2(S4) PXSX(S4) EXP3(S4) PXSX(S4) EXP4(S4) PXSX(S4) EXP5(S4) PXSX(S4) EXP6(S4)
acpitimer0 at acpi0: 3579545 Hz, 24 bits
acpihpet0 at acpi0: 14318179 Hz
acpimadt0 at acpi0 addr 0xfee00000: PC-AT compat
cpu0 at mainbus0: apid 0 (boot processor)
cpu0: apic clock running at 166MHz
cpu1 at mainbus0: apid 1 (application processor)
cpu1: Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T3200 @ 2.00GHz ("GenuineIntel" 686-class) 2 GHz
cpu1: FPU,V86,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,SBF,SSE3,MWAIT,DS-CPL,EST,TM2,CX16,xTPR
ioapic0 at mainbus0: apid 4 pa 0xfec00000, version 20, 24 pins
ioapic0: misconfigured as apic 0, remapped to apid 4
acpiprt0 at acpi0: bus 0 (PCI0)
acpiprt1 at acpi0: bus 3 (P32_)
acpiprt2 at acpi0: bus 1 (EXP1)
acpiprt3 at acpi0: bus 2 (EXP2)
acpiprt4 at acpi0: bus -1 (EXP3)
acpiprt5 at acpi0: bus -1 (EXP4)
acpiprt6 at acpi0: bus -1 (EXP5)
acpiprt7 at acpi0: bus -1 (EXP6)
acpiec0 at acpi0
acpicpu0 at acpi0: C2, C1, PSS
acpicpu1 at acpi0: C2, C1, PSS
acpitz0 at acpi0: critical temperature 120 degC
acpitz1 at acpi0: critical temperature 120 degC
acpibtn0 at acpi0: LID0
acpibtn1 at acpi0: SLPB
acpibat0 at acpi0: BAT0 not present
acpiac0 at acpi0: AC unit online
acpivideo0 at acpi0: OVGA
acpivideo1 at acpi0: VGA_
acpivout0 at acpivideo1: CRT_
acpivout1 at acpivideo1: LCD_
acpivout2 at acpivideo1: TVO_
acpivout3 at acpivideo1: HDMI
bios0: ROM list: 0xc0000/0xfa00!
cpu0: Enhanced SpeedStep 1996 MHz: speeds: 2000, 1666, 1333, 1000 MHz
pci0 at mainbus0 bus 0: configuration mode 1 (bios)
pchb0 at pci0 dev 0 function 0 "Intel GM45 Host" rev 0x07
vga1 at pci0 dev 2 function 0 "Intel GM45 Video" rev 0x07
wsdisplay0 at vga1 mux 1: console (80x25, vt100 emulation)
wsdisplay0: screen 1-5 added (80x25, vt100 emulation)
intagp0 at vga1
agp0 at intagp0: aperture at 0x80000000, size 0x10000000
inteldrm0 at vga1: apic 4 int 16 (irq 11)
drm0 at inteldrm0
"Intel GM45 Video" rev 0x07 at pci0 dev 2 function 1 not configured
uhci0 at pci0 dev 26 function 0 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 4 int 18 (irq 10)
uhci1 at pci0 dev 26 function 1 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 4 int 19 (irq 11)
uhci2 at pci0 dev 26 function 2 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 4 int 17 (irq 11)
ehci0 at pci0 dev 26 function 7 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 4 int 18 (irq 10)
usb0 at ehci0: USB revision 2.0
uhub0 at usb0 "Intel EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
azalia0 at pci0 dev 27 function 0 "Intel 82801I HD Audio" rev 0x03: apic 4 int 22 (irq 11)
azalia0: codecs: Conexant CX20561, Intel/0x2802, using Conexant CX20561
audio0 at azalia0
ppb0 at pci0 dev 28 function 0 "Intel 82801I PCIE" rev 0x03: apic 4 int 21 (irq 11)
pci1 at ppb0 bus 1
re0 at pci1 dev 0 function 0 "Realtek 8101E" rev 0x02: RTL8102E (0x3480), apic 4 int 16 (irq 11), address 00:1d:72:7c:97:d7
rlphy0 at re0 phy 7: RTL8201L 10/100 PHY, rev. 1
ppb1 at pci0 dev 28 function 1 "Intel 82801I PCIE" rev 0x03: apic 4 int 20 (irq 11)
pci2 at ppb1 bus 2
ath0 at pci2 dev 0 function 0 "Atheros AR5424" rev 0x01: apic 4 int 17 (irq 11)
ath0: AR5424 14.2 phy 7.0 rf 0.0, WOR02W, address 00:23:4d:59:54:78
uhci3 at pci0 dev 29 function 0 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 4 int 18 (irq 10)
uhci4 at pci0 dev 29 function 1 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 4 int 19 (irq 11)
uhci5 at pci0 dev 29 function 2 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 4 int 17 (irq 11)
ehci1 at pci0 dev 29 function 7 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 4 int 18 (irq 10)
usb1 at ehci1: USB revision 2.0
uhub1 at usb1 "Intel EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
ppb2 at pci0 dev 30 function 0 "Intel 82801BAM Hub-to-PCI" rev 0x93
pci3 at ppb2 bus 3
pcib0 at pci0 dev 31 function 0 "Intel 82801IBM LPC" rev 0x03
ahci0 at pci0 dev 31 function 2 "Intel 82801I AHCI" rev 0x03: apic 4 int 23 (irq 11), AHCI 1.2
ahci0: PHY offline on port 4
ahci0: PHY offline on port 5
scsibus0 at ahci0: 32 targets
sd0 at scsibus0 targ 0 lun 0: <ATA, Hitachi HTS54321, FB2O> SCSI3 0/direct fixed
sd0: 152627MB, 512 bytes/sec, 312581808 sec total
cd0 at scsibus0 targ 1 lun 0: <Optiarc, DVD RW AD-7591S, 1.83> ATAPI 5/cdrom removable
ichiic0 at pci0 dev 31 function 3 "Intel 82801I SMBus" rev 0x03: apic 4 int 19 (irq 11)
iic0 at ichiic0
spdmem0 at iic0 addr 0x50: 1GB DDR2 SDRAM non-parity PC2-5300CL5 SO-DIMM
spdmem1 at iic0 addr 0x52: 1GB DDR2 SDRAM non-parity PC2-5300CL5 SO-DIMM
"Intel 82801I Thermal" rev 0x03 at pci0 dev 31 function 6 not configured
usb2 at uhci0: USB revision 1.0
uhub2 at usb2 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb3 at uhci1: USB revision 1.0
uhub3 at usb3 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb4 at uhci2: USB revision 1.0
uhub4 at usb4 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb5 at uhci3: USB revision 1.0
uhub5 at usb5 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb6 at uhci4: USB revision 1.0
uhub6 at usb6 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb7 at uhci5: USB revision 1.0
uhub7 at usb7 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
isa0 at pcib0
isadma0 at isa0
pckbc0 at isa0 port 0x60/5
pckbd0 at pckbc0 (kbd slot)
pckbc0: using irq 1 for kbd slot
wskbd0 at pckbd0: console keyboard, using wsdisplay0
pms0 at pckbc0 (aux slot)
pckbc0: using irq 12 for aux slot
wsmouse0 at pms0 mux 0
pcppi0 at isa0 port 0x61
midi0 at pcppi0: <PC speaker>
spkr0 at pcppi0
npx0 at isa0 port 0xf0/16: reported by CPUID; using exception 16
mtrr: Pentium Pro MTRR support
umass0 at uhub0 port 3 configuration 1 interface 0 "Generic USB2.0-CRW" rev 2.00/58.87 addr 2
umass0: using SCSI over Bulk-Only
scsibus1 at umass0: 2 targets, initiator 0
sd1 at scsibus1 targ 1 lun 0: <Generic-, Multi-Card, 1.00> SCSI0 0/direct removable
sd1: drive offline
uvideo0 at uhub0 port 5 configuration 1 interface 0 "Chicony Electronics Co., Ltd. CNF7047" rev 2.00/13.24 addr 3
uvideo0: video control not supported for this device.
video0 at uvideo0
uhidev0 at uhub7 port 1 configuration 1 interface 0 "Genius Optical Mouse" rev 1.10/1.00 addr 2
uhidev0: iclass 3/1
ums0 at uhidev0: 3 buttons, Z dir
wsmouse1 at ums0 mux 0
softraid0 at root
root on sd0a swap on sd0b dump on sd0b

Last edited by ocicat; 29th June 2010 at 05:15 AM. Reason: dmesg output is easier to read with [code] & [/code] tags
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th June 2010
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,876
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmiparo View Post
Code:
bios0 at mainbus0: AT/286+ BIOS, date 08/13/08, SMBIOS rev. 2.4 @ 0xe5180 (33 entries)
In looking at HP's Website, I get 300 hits when looking for "Presario CQ60". In order to find out whether there is a newer BIOS available for your system, you need to look yourself. Having the SKU number found on the model tag will help.
  1. If you find that a newer BIOS is available, I would recommend installing it first. This may or may not resolve your shutdown(8) problems, but it will be a step in the right direction.
  2. If installing a newer BIOS does not resolve the problem, you may want to temporarily disable acpi(4). Information on how to temporarily disable drivers or permanently disable drivers can be found in
    Section 5.9 of the FAQ. This also may or may not fix the problem.
  3. Your dmesg(8) indicates that you are using the MP kernel:
    Quote:
    Code:
    OpenBSD 4.6 (GENERIC.MP) #89: Thu Jul 9 21:32:39 MDT 2009
    deraadt@i386.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sy...ile/GENERIC.MP
    You may want to experiment with the SP kernel to see if the same problem occurs with this kernel. Yes, I can understand why you might not want to use a single-processor kernel with a multi-core processor. Information on booting different kernels can be found in the boot(8) manpage & Section 5.8 of the FAQ.
  4. There has been a rash of acpi(4) problems on Hewlett-Packard hardware of late. Whoever is designing this hardware is not following the ACPI standard. An example thread on the official misc@ mailing list can be found at the following:

    http://marc.info/?t=127696382100004&r=1&w=2

    As seen here, work on acpi(4) is going on this week at the c2k10 hackathon. For these reasons, I agree with BSDfan666's suggestion of installing a -current snapshot & test. Because the hackathon is going on now, it may be worth waiting a few weeks for the CVS tree to settle down before trying -current. Trying 4.7-release is another option, but trying the latest code will be of more interest to the developers if you later choose to escalate the problem to them in a problem report.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th June 2010
dmiparo dmiparo is offline
Real Name: Dmitry
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

To: ocicat
I appreciate your help very much. Thank you for your advice.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot problem. Geometry problem? gulanito FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 0 3rd July 2009 03:03 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick