DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Miscellaneous > General software and network

General software and network General OS-independent software and network questions, X11, MTA, routing, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th September 2010
guitarscn guitarscn is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 166
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default My domain name as my IRC hostname?

When I connect to any IRC server, it's usually my ISP IP address/hostname. I own a domain, but I'm not using it for anything (no web hosting service or server). Is it possible for me to use my domain as my IRC hostname instead of my regular ISP hostname?
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th September 2010
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

It's usually a virtual host/vhost, this is controlled by the IRC server operators, often done to mask their connecting IP (..sometimes assigned by services, i.e: after identifying/authenticating).

You can either ask them to do this for you, or, as I mentioned in your previous topic here.. ask your ISP if switching to a business tier will allow them to assign a custom PTR record for your IP.

Generally the first option is easier, if they're your friends, justifying the PTR record to an ISP is often difficult.. and some have no procedure to change it for customers.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th September 2010
Oko's Avatar
Oko Oko is offline
Fsck Surgeon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kosovo, Serbia
Posts: 768
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarscn View Post
When I connect to any IRC server, it's usually my ISP IP address/hostname. I own a domain, but I'm not using it for anything (no web hosting service or server). Is it possible for me to use my domain as my IRC hostname instead of my regular ISP hostname?
Who controls primary DNS for your IRC server?
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th September 2010
guitarscn guitarscn is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 166
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSDfan666 View Post
It's usually a virtual host/vhost, this is controlled by the IRC server operators, often done to mask their connecting IP (..sometimes assigned by services, i.e: after identifying/authenticating).

You can either ask them to do this for you, or, as I mentioned in your previous topic here.. ask your ISP if switching to a business tier will allow them to assign a custom PTR record for your IP.

Generally the first option is easier, if they're your friends, justifying the PTR record to an ISP is often difficult.. and some have no procedure to change it for customers.
Well I'm talking about networks like Efnet, Freenode, etc. where it displays your public IP address with no vhost masking. Would I have to set up my own nameservers and have my reverse DNS point to my domain from my public IP address in order to change my host?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oko View Post
Who controls primary DNS for your IRC server?
I have no idea, but this is for just IRC networks in general not just one
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th September 2010
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

For IRC, the virtual host doesn't even have to be real.. on Freenode, it's not uncommon for someone to have nick@unaffiliated/account and all that requires is a private message to one of the several network operators, full procedure is on their FAQ somewhere.

To avoid contacting the operators of the IRC network, an ISP assigned PTR record needs to point to a real domain that has a matching A record, so having a static IP is an absolute requirement.

Generally it's a complicated procedure which needs the cooperation of a competent professional on both ends, it's more common for VPS/dedicated server providers to do this as generally they are allotted IP ranges by their ISP and are given control over PTR records.

Learning more about some of those protocols is probably advisable, it's generally an extensive topic and doing some reading of your own is encouraged.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th September 2010
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

The point is when you're connecting to an IRC server, the hostname they show for you is one the server was able to resolve using a vhost database, domain resolver routines, and if these fails to provide any result they just show your IP or whatever they feel like.

You can't directly influence how this will be displayed, not easily, and not by yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th September 2010
guitarscn guitarscn is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 166
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Ah, okay...I was just trying to reproduce the same effect I had gotten while I had a VPS. All I did was change a couple of settings (set reverse DNS hostname and the A/CNAME records, and modify the /etc/hosts and hostname accordingly) and the IP I had on the server pointed to my domain (I think I also had to set my domain's DNS servers as the VPS's in the registrar's control panel). Whenever I joined an IRC network from the VPS, my hostname was shown as my domain name. This lead me to believe all I needed to do was set up my own DNS servers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to set reverse DNS to my domain? guitarscn General software and network 1 12th September 2010 04:58 PM
Score a free domain (it will be gone fast) 18Googol2 Off-Topic 8 15th August 2008 07:39 AM
Hostname problem, and others gaeilgeboy FreeBSD General 3 7th July 2008 11:30 PM
Problem with my domain name reacing my machine whispersGhost General software and network 0 6th June 2008 03:28 AM
Hostname / web hosting issues vitiate FreeBSD General 4 20th May 2008 02:23 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick