DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th October 2010
passthejoe passthejoe is offline
Real Name: Steven
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 30
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default My Ethernet interface shows up in dmesg, but I get no lights and no carrier

I'm trying to install OpenBSD 4.7 on a Lenovo G555 with an Atheros AR8132 Ethernet interface. The interface shows up in the dmesg as alc0 with "no carrier," and the lights don't blink.

I'm getting the same thing in FreeBSD -- the interface is recognized by the system but I get no lights and no carrier.

Is there something else I should/could be doing to bring this Ethernet interface to life?
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th October 2010
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,906
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by passthejoe View Post
I'm getting the same thing in FreeBSD...
The OpenBSD driver is based on the work originally done by the FreeBSD project. There have been some changes since the initial import into the OpenBSD source tree, but both share common roots.
Quote:
Is there something else I should/could be doing to bring this Ethernet interface to life?
There have been some changes made since both OpenBSD 4.7 was tagged as well as OpenBSD 4.8 (which is yet to be publicly available...):

http://www.openbsd.org/cgi-bin/cvswe...v/pci/if_alc.c

To take advantage of these changes, you may wish to download & install a snapshot of -current. If you are unfamiliar with OpenBSD's flavors, study Section 5.1 of the FAQ.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th October 2010
rocket357's Avatar
rocket357 rocket357 is offline
Real Name: Jonathon
Wannabe OpenBSD porter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 332
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by passthejoe View Post
The interface shows up in the dmesg as alc0 with "no carrier," and the lights don't blink.
I trust you tried the obvious (changing the cable, checking the other end of the connection, etc...)?
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th October 2010
passthejoe passthejoe is offline
Real Name: Steven
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 30
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I do have the interface working in Linux (Fedora 13). It's a relatively recent addition to the Linux kernel, I believe.

I just don't get anything out of it in OpenBSD 4.7 or FreeBSD 8.1.

I did boot an OpenBSD 4.8 ISO, and it was the same - system sees alc0, but no lights and "no carrier."
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th October 2010
rocket357's Avatar
rocket357 rocket357 is offline
Real Name: Jonathon
Wannabe OpenBSD porter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 332
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by passthejoe View Post
I do have the interface working in Linux (Fedora 13). It's a relatively recent addition to the Linux kernel, I believe.
Ahh, ok. Yeah, if a snapshot doesn't cut it, only time will (unless you can code the driver yourself).
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th October 2010
passthejoe passthejoe is offline
Real Name: Steven
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 30
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I found something in the FreeBSD Forum, where someone suggested setting the media type with ifconfig:

# ifconfig alc0 media 100baseTX
or
# ifconfig alc0 media 10baseT
or
# ifconfig alc0 media 10baseT/UTP

I'll see what the choices are for sure with:

$ ifconfig alc0 media

I'll run this tomorrow morning.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th October 2010
yggdrasil yggdrasil is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I, too, have the Lenovo G555 and had no problem with the wired NIC with OBSD 4.6 and 4.7, they just worked out of the box. If it helps you, here are my dmesg and ifconfig alc0:

Code:
OpenBSD 4.7 (GENERIC.MP) #130: Wed Mar 17 20:48:50 MDT 2010
    deraadt@amd64.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sys/arch/amd64/compile/GENERIC.MP
real mem = 1873362944 (1786MB)
avail mem = 1813540864 (1729MB)
RTC BIOS diagnostic error 80<clock_battery>
mainbus0 at root
bios0 at mainbus0: SMBIOS rev. 2.6 @ 0xe8fd0 (48 entries)
bios0: vendor LENOVO version "2CCN18WW(V1.07)" date 02/01/2010
bios0: LENOVO 0873
acpi0 at bios0: rev 2
acpi0: tables DSDT FACP HPET APIC MCFG BOOT SLIC SSDT
acpi0: wakeup devices PB2_(S5) PB3_(S4) PB4_(S5) PB5_(S5) PB6_(S5) PB7_(S5) PB9_(S5) PB10(S5) USB0(S3) USB1(S3) USB3(S3) USB4(S4) P2P_(S5) LID_(S3)
acpitimer0 at acpi0: 3579545 Hz, 32 bits
acpihpet0 at acpi0: 14318180 Hz
acpimadt0 at acpi0 addr 0xfee00000: PC-AT compat
cpu0 at mainbus0: apid 0 (boot processor)
cpu0: AMD Athlon(tm) II Dual-Core M320, 2095.71 MHz
cpu0: FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,HTT,SSE3,MWAIT,CX16,NXE,MMXX,FFXSR,LONG,3DNOW2,3DNOW
cpu0: 64KB 64b/line 2-way I-cache, 64KB 64b/line 2-way D-cache, 512KB 64b/line 16-way L2 cache
cpu0: ITLB 32 4KB entries fully associative, 16 4MB entries fully associative
cpu0: DTLB 48 4KB entries fully associative, 48 4MB entries fully associative
cpu0: apic clock running at 199MHz
cpu1 at mainbus0: apid 1 (application processor)
cpu1: AMD Athlon(tm) II Dual-Core M320, 2094.76 MHz
cpu1: FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,HTT,SSE3,MWAIT,CX16,NXE,MMXX,FFXSR,LONG,3DNOW2,3DNOW
cpu1: 64KB 64b/line 2-way I-cache, 64KB 64b/line 2-way D-cache, 512KB 64b/line 16-way L2 cache
cpu1: ITLB 32 4KB entries fully associative, 16 4MB entries fully associative
cpu1: DTLB 48 4KB entries fully associative, 48 4MB entries fully associative
ioapic0 at mainbus0: apid 4 pa 0xfec00000, version 21, 24 pins
ioapic0: misconfigured as apic 0, remapped to apid 4
acpiprt0 at acpi0: bus 0 (PCI0)
acpiprt1 at acpi0: bus 1 (AGP_)
acpiprt2 at acpi0: bus -1 (PB2_)
acpiprt3 at acpi0: bus -1 (PB3_)
acpiprt4 at acpi0: bus 2 (PB4_)
acpiprt5 at acpi0: bus 8 (PB5_)
acpiprt6 at acpi0: bus 9 (PB6_)
acpiprt7 at acpi0: bus -1 (PB7_)
acpiprt8 at acpi0: bus -1 (PB9_)
acpiprt9 at acpi0: bus -1 (PB10)
acpiprt10 at acpi0: bus 10 (P2P_)
acpiec0 at acpi0
acpicpu0 at acpi0: PSS
acpicpu1 at acpi0: PSS
acpitz0 at acpi0: critical temperature 200 degC
acpitz1 at acpi0acpitz1: THR1: failed to read _TMP
acpibtn0 at acpi0: PWRB
acpibtn1 at acpi0: SLPB
acpibat0 at acpi0: BAT0 model "GC86503SY90 " type LION oem "SONY "
acpiac0 at acpi0: AC unit online
acpibtn2 at acpi0: LID_
acpivideo0 at acpi0: VGA_
acpivout0 at acpivideo0: CRT_
acpivout1 at acpivideo0: LCD_
acpivideo1 at acpi0: VGA_
acpivout2 at acpivideo1: CRT_
acpivout3 at acpivideo1: LCD_
pci0 at mainbus0 bus 0
pchb0 at pci0 dev 0 function 0 "AMD RS780 Host" rev 0x00
ppb0 at pci0 dev 1 function 0 "AMD RS780 PCIE" rev 0x00
pci1 at ppb0 bus 1
vga1 at pci1 dev 5 function 0 vendor "ATI", unknown product 0x9712 rev 0x00
wsdisplay0 at vga1 mux 1: console (80x25, vt100 emulation)
wsdisplay0: screen 1-5 added (80x25, vt100 emulation)
ppb1 at pci0 dev 4 function 0 "AMD RS780 PCIE" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 16 (irq 255)
pci2 at ppb1 bus 2
ppb2 at pci0 dev 5 function 0 "AMD RS780 PCIE" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 17 (irq 255)
pci3 at ppb2 bus 8
vendor "Broadcom", unknown product 0x4727 (class network subclass miscellaneous, rev 0x01) at pci3 dev 0 function 0 not configured
ppb3 at pci0 dev 6 function 0 "AMD RS780 PCIE" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 18 (irq 255)
pci4 at ppb3 bus 9
alc0 at pci4 dev 0 function 0 "Attansic Technology L2C" rev 0xc0: apic 4 int 18 (irq 10), address 70:5a:b6:5c:42:a0
atphy0 at alc0 phy 0: F1 10/100/1000 PHY, rev. 11
ahci0 at pci0 dev 17 function 0 "ATI SBx00 SATA" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 22 (irq 11), AHCI 1.1
scsibus0 at ahci0: 32 targets
sd0 at scsibus0 targ 0 lun 0: <ATA, FUJITSU MJA2250B, 0084> SCSI3 0/direct fixed
sd0: 238475MB, 512 bytes/sec, 488397168 sec total
cd0 at scsibus0 targ 1 lun 0: <Slimtype, DVD A DS8A4S, JL61> ATAPI 5/cdrom removable
ohci0 at pci0 dev 18 function 0 "ATI SB700 USB" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 16 (irq 5), version 1.0, legacy support
ohci1 at pci0 dev 18 function 1 "ATI SB700 USB" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 16 (irq 5), version 1.0, legacy support
ehci0 at pci0 dev 18 function 2 "ATI SB700 USB2" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 17 (irq 7)
usb0 at ehci0: USB revision 2.0
uhub0 at usb0 "ATI EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
ohci2 at pci0 dev 19 function 0 "ATI SB700 USB" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 18 (irq 10), version 1.0, legacy support
ohci3 at pci0 dev 19 function 1 "ATI SB700 USB" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 18 (irq 10), version 1.0, legacy support
ehci1 at pci0 dev 19 function 2 "ATI SB700 USB2" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 19 (irq 4)
usb1 at ehci1: USB revision 2.0
uhub1 at usb1 "ATI EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
piixpm0 at pci0 dev 20 function 0 "ATI SBx00 SMBus" rev 0x3c: SMI
iic0 at piixpm0
spdmem0 at iic0 addr 0x50: 2GB DDR2 SDRAM non-parity PC2-6400CL5 SO-DIMM
azalia0 at pci0 dev 20 function 2 "ATI SBx00 HD Audio" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 16 (irq 5)
azalia0: codecs: Conexant/0x5069
audio0 at azalia0
pcib0 at pci0 dev 20 function 3 "ATI SB700 ISA" rev 0x00
ppb4 at pci0 dev 20 function 4 "ATI SB600 PCI" rev 0x00
pci5 at ppb4 bus 10
pchb1 at pci0 dev 24 function 0 "AMD AMD64 10h HyperTransport" rev 0x00
pchb2 at pci0 dev 24 function 1 "AMD AMD64 10h Address Map" rev 0x00
pchb3 at pci0 dev 24 function 2 "AMD AMD64 10h DRAM Cfg" rev 0x00
km0 at pci0 dev 24 function 3 "AMD AMD64 10h Misc Cfg" rev 0x00
pchb4 at pci0 dev 24 function 4 "AMD AMD64 10h Link Cfg" rev 0x00
usb2 at ohci0: USB revision 1.0
uhub2 at usb2 "ATI OHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb3 at ohci1: USB revision 1.0
uhub3 at usb3 "ATI OHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb4 at ohci2: USB revision 1.0
uhub4 at usb4 "ATI OHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb5 at ohci3: USB revision 1.0
uhub5 at usb5 "ATI OHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
isa0 at pcib0
isadma0 at isa0
pckbc0 at isa0 port 0x60/5
pckbd0 at pckbc0 (kbd slot)
pckbc0: using irq 1 for kbd slot
wskbd0 at pckbd0: console keyboard, using wsdisplay0
pms0 at pckbc0 (aux slot)
pckbc0: using irq 12 for aux slot
wsmouse0 at pms0 mux 0
pcppi0 at isa0 port 0x61
midi0 at pcppi0: <PC speaker>
spkr0 at pcppi0
mtrr: Pentium Pro MTRR support
uvideo0 at uhub1 port 2 configuration 1 interface 0 "Image Processor Lenovo EasyCamera" rev 2.00/5.11 addr 2
video0 at uvideo0
uhidev0 at uhub3 port 1 configuration 1 interface 0 "Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse" rev 2.00/11.10 addr 2
uhidev0: iclass 3/1
ums0 at uhidev0: 3 buttons, Z dir
wsmouse1 at ums0 mux 0
vscsi0 at root
scsibus1 at vscsi0: 256 targets
softraid0 at root
root on sd0a swap on sd0b dump on sd0b
yggdrasil@midgard-laptop:~$ dmesg | grep Atheros                                           
yggdrasil@midgard-laptop:~$ dmesg | grep Broadcom
vendor "Broadcom", unknown product 0x4727 (class network subclass miscellaneous, rev 0x01) at pci3 dev 0 function 0 not configured
Code:
alc0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
        lladdr 70:5a:b6:5c:42:a0
        priority: 0
        groups: egress
        media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX half-duplex)
        status: active
        inet6 fe80::725a:b6ff:fe5c:42a0%alc0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
        inet 192.168.0.11 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.0.255
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th October 2010
passthejoe passthejoe is offline
Real Name: Steven
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 30
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default I figured it out - setting the media type brought alc0 to life

For some reason, my Lenovo G555 is reacting a bit differently. This one has the Atheros AR8132 10/100 Ethernet interface.

Here’s what worked:

First I checked for available media types:

Code:
# ifconfig alc0 media
alc0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
   lladdr 70:5a:b6:63:f8:ce
   priority: 0
   media: Ethernet autoselect (none)
   status: no carrier
   supported media:
       media none
       media 10baseT
       media 10baseT mediaopt full-duplex
       media 100baseTX
       media 100baseTX mediaopt full-duplex
       media 1000baseT mediaopt full-duplex
       media autoselect
I think what’s happening is that OpenBSD thinks the AR8132 is a gigabit port when it’s only a 100 megabit port. Setting the media type manually brings the interface to life:

Code:
# ifconfig alc0 media 100baseTX
# dhclient alc0
DHCPDISCOVER on alc0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
DHCPDISCOVER on alc0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 9
DHCPOFFER from 10.13.1.254 (00:23:34:0d:f4:19)
DHCPREQUEST on alc0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
DHCPACK from 10.13.1.254 (00:23:34:0d:f4:19)
bound to 10.13.100.71 -- renewal in 45030 seconds.
#
Now I’m running jggimi’s live Xfce image of OpenBSD 4.7.

I'd post the link in the FreeBSD Forums that tipped me off to this, but I haven't written enough posts here to receive that privilege. Suffice it to say that a search for alc on the FreeBSD Forums will bring up the relevant entries.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th October 2010
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,906
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by passthejoe View Post
I'd post the link in the FreeBSD Forums that tipped me off to this, but I haven't written enough posts here to receive that privilege.
Post the link as text, & I will add the appropriate [url] & [/url] tags to activate it.
Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2010
passthejoe passthejoe is offline
Real Name: Steven
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 30
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Here's the dmesg from my Lenovo G555:

Code:
OpenBSD 4.7 (GENERIC) #0: Sun Apr  4 11:21:44 GMT 2010
    root@build.jggimi.homeip.net:/usr/src/sys/arch/i386/compile/GENERIC
RTC BIOS diagnostic error 80<clock_battery>
cpu0: AMD Athlon(tm) II Dual-Core M320 ("AuthenticAMD" 686-class, 512KB L2 cache) 2.10 GHz
cpu0: FPU,V86,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,HTT,SSE3,MWAIT,CX16
real mem  = 2947723264 (2811MB)
avail mem = 2859905024 (2727MB)
RTC BIOS diagnostic error 80<clock_battery>
mainbus0 at root
bios0 at mainbus0: AT/286+ BIOS, date 03/23/10, SMBIOS rev. 2.6 @ 0xe8f60 (50 entries)
bios0: vendor LENOVO version "2CCN21WW(V1.10)" date 03/23/2010
bios0: LENOVO 0873
acpi0 at bios0: rev 2
acpi0: tables DSDT FACP HPET APIC MCFG BOOT SLIC SSDT
acpi0: wakeup devices PB2_(S5) PB3_(S4) PB4_(S5) PB5_(S5) PB6_(S5) PB7_(S5) PB9_(S5) PB10(S5) USB0(S3) USB1(S3) USB3(S3) USB4(S4) P2P_(S5) LID_(S3)
acpitimer0 at acpi0: 3579545 Hz, 32 bits
acpihpet0 at acpi0: 14318180 Hz
acpimadt0 at acpi0 addr 0xfee00000: PC-AT compat
cpu0 at mainbus0: apid 0 (boot processor)
cpu0: apic clock running at 199MHz
cpu at mainbus0: not configured
ioapic0 at mainbus0: apid 4 pa 0xfec00000, version 21, 24 pins
ioapic0: misconfigured as apic 0, remapped to apid 4
acpiprt0 at acpi0: bus 0 (PCI0)
acpiprt1 at acpi0: bus 1 (AGP_)
acpiprt2 at acpi0: bus -1 (PB2_)
acpiprt3 at acpi0: bus -1 (PB3_)
acpiprt4 at acpi0: bus 2 (PB4_)
acpiprt5 at acpi0: bus 8 (PB5_)
acpiprt6 at acpi0: bus 9 (PB6_)
acpiprt7 at acpi0: bus -1 (PB7_)
acpiprt8 at acpi0: bus -1 (PB9_)
acpiprt9 at acpi0: bus -1 (PB10)
acpiprt10 at acpi0: bus 10 (P2P_)
acpiec0 at acpi0
acpicpu0 at acpi0: PSS
acpitz0 at acpi0: critical temperature 200 degC
acpitz1 at acpi0acpitz1: THR1: failed to read _TMP
acpibtn0 at acpi0: PWRB
acpibtn1 at acpi0: SLPB
acpibat0 at acpi0: BAT0 model "GC86508SAT0 " type LION oem "SANYO "
acpiac0 at acpi0: AC unit online
acpibtn2 at acpi0: LID_
acpivideo0 at acpi0: VGA_
acpivout0 at acpivideo0: CRT_
acpivout1 at acpivideo0: LCD_
acpivideo1 at acpi0: VGA_
acpivout2 at acpivideo1: CRT_
acpivout3 at acpivideo1: LCD_
bios0: ROM list: 0xc0000/0xec00 0xcf000/0x1000
pci0 at mainbus0 bus 0: configuration mode 1 (bios)
pchb0 at pci0 dev 0 function 0 "AMD RS780 Host" rev 0x00
ppb0 at pci0 dev 1 function 0 "AMD RS780 PCIE" rev 0x00
pci1 at ppb0 bus 1
vga1 at pci1 dev 5 function 0 vendor "ATI", unknown product 0x9712 rev 0x00
wsdisplay0 at vga1 mux 1: console (80x25, vt100 emulation)
wsdisplay0: screen 1-5 added (80x25, vt100 emulation)
ppb1 at pci0 dev 4 function 0 "AMD RS780 PCIE" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 16 (irq 255)
pci2 at ppb1 bus 2
ppb2 at pci0 dev 5 function 0 "AMD RS780 PCIE" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 17 (irq 255)
pci3 at ppb2 bus 8
athn0 at pci3 dev 0 function 0 "Atheros AR9285" rev 0x01: apic 4 int 17 (irq 7), address c4:17:fe:e0:7b:59
athn0: AR9285 rev 2 (1T1R), ROM rev 14
ppb3 at pci0 dev 6 function 0 "AMD RS780 PCIE" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 18 (irq 255)
pci4 at ppb3 bus 9
alc0 at pci4 dev 0 function 0 "Attansic Technology L2C" rev 0xc0: apic 4 int 18 (irq 10), address 70:5a:b6:63:f8:ce
atphy0 at alc0 phy 0: F1 10/100/1000 PHY, rev. 11
ahci0 at pci0 dev 17 function 0 "ATI SBx00 SATA" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 22 (irq 11), AHCI 1.1
scsibus0 at ahci0: 32 targets
sd0 at scsibus0 targ 0 lun 0: <ATA, WDC WD3200BEKT-0, 01.0> SCSI3 0/direct fixed
sd0: 305245MB, 512 bytes/sec, 625142448 sec total
cd0 at scsibus0 targ 1 lun 0: <MATSHITA, DVD-RAM UJ890AS, 1.00> ATAPI 5/cdrom removable
ohci0 at pci0 dev 18 function 0 "ATI SB700 USB" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 16 (irq 5), version 1.0, legacy support
ohci1 at pci0 dev 18 function 1 "ATI SB700 USB" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 16 (irq 5), version 1.0, legacy support
ehci0 at pci0 dev 18 function 2 "ATI SB700 USB2" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 17 (irq 7)
usb0 at ehci0: USB revision 2.0
uhub0 at usb0 "ATI EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
ohci2 at pci0 dev 19 function 0 "ATI SB700 USB" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 18 (irq 10), version 1.0, legacy support
ohci3 at pci0 dev 19 function 1 "ATI SB700 USB" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 18 (irq 10), version 1.0, legacy support
ehci1 at pci0 dev 19 function 2 "ATI SB700 USB2" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 19 (irq 4)
usb1 at ehci1: USB revision 2.0
uhub1 at usb1 "ATI EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
piixpm0 at pci0 dev 20 function 0 "ATI SBx00 SMBus" rev 0x3c: SMI
iic0 at piixpm0
spdmem0 at iic0 addr 0x50: 2GB DDR2 SDRAM non-parity PC2-6400CL5 SO-DIMM
spdmem1 at iic0 addr 0x51: 1GB DDR2 SDRAM non-parity PC2-6400CL5 SO-DIMM
azalia0 at pci0 dev 20 function 2 "ATI SBx00 HD Audio" rev 0x00: apic 4 int 16 (irq 5)
azalia0: codecs: Conexant/0x5069
audio0 at azalia0
pcib0 at pci0 dev 20 function 3 "ATI SB700 ISA" rev 0x00
ppb4 at pci0 dev 20 function 4 "ATI SB600 PCI" rev 0x00
pci5 at ppb4 bus 10
pchb1 at pci0 dev 24 function 0 "AMD AMD64 10h HyperTransport" rev 0x00
pchb2 at pci0 dev 24 function 1 "AMD AMD64 10h Address Map" rev 0x00
pchb3 at pci0 dev 24 function 2 "AMD AMD64 10h DRAM Cfg" rev 0x00
km0 at pci0 dev 24 function 3 "AMD AMD64 10h Misc Cfg" rev 0x00
pchb4 at pci0 dev 24 function 4 "AMD AMD64 10h Link Cfg" rev 0x00
usb2 at ohci0: USB revision 1.0
uhub2 at usb2 "ATI OHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb3 at ohci1: USB revision 1.0
uhub3 at usb3 "ATI OHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb4 at ohci2: USB revision 1.0
uhub4 at usb4 "ATI OHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb5 at ohci3: USB revision 1.0
uhub5 at usb5 "ATI OHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
isa0 at pcib0
isadma0 at isa0
pckbc0 at isa0 port 0x60/5
pckbd0 at pckbc0 (kbd slot)
pckbc0: using irq 1 for kbd slot
wskbd0 at pckbd0: console keyboard, using wsdisplay0
pms0 at pckbc0 (aux slot)
pckbc0: using irq 12 for aux slot
wsmouse0 at pms0 mux 0
pcppi0 at isa0 port 0x61
midi0 at pcppi0: <PC speaker>
spkr0 at pcppi0
npx0 at isa0 port 0xf0/16: reported by CPUID; using exception 16
mtrr: Pentium Pro MTRR support
uhub6 at uhub0 port 1 "NEC Corporation USB2.0 Hub Controller" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 2
uvideo0 at uhub1 port 2 configuration 1 interface 0 "SuYin Lenovo EasyCamera" rev 2.00/2.53 addr 2
video0 at uvideo0
umass0 at uhub0 port 3 configuration 1 interface 0 "Generic USB2.0-CRW" rev 2.00/38.82 addr 3
umass0: using SCSI over Bulk-Only
scsibus1 at umass0: 2 targets, initiator 0
sd1 at scsibus1 targ 1 lun 0: <Generic-, Multi-Card, 1.00> SCSI0 0/direct removable
sd1: drive offline
uhidev0 at uhub6 port 4 configuration 1 interface 0 "vendor 0x062a product 0x0000" rev 1.10/0.00 addr 4
uhidev0: iclass 3/1
ums0 at uhidev0: 3 buttons, Z dir
wsmouse1 at ums0 mux 0
vscsi0 at root
scsibus2 at vscsi0: 256 targets
softraid0 at root
root on cd0a swap on cd0b dump on cd0b
WARNING: preposterous time in file system
WARNING: file system time much less than clock time
Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2010
passthejoe passthejoe is offline
Real Name: Steven
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 30
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Here's the FreeBSD Forums thread:

http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread...&highlight=alc
Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2010
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

According to both of your dmesg's, you have exactly the same model cards.. right down to the same PHY and revision number.

If it was unable to autodetect the media type, I'm going to side with the person who said it's likely a cable or switch issue.. forcing a media type is often considered a bad idea, but I suppose it won't do any immediate harm.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2010
wilfried's Avatar
wilfried wilfried is offline
Real Name: Peter Strömberg
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Teckomatorp, Sweden
Posts: 11
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by passthejoe View Post
For some reason, my Lenovo G555 is reacting a bit differently. This one has the Atheros AR8132 10/100 Ethernet interface.

Here’s what worked:

First I checked for available media types:

Code:
# ifconfig alc0 media
alc0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
   lladdr 70:5a:b6:63:f8:ce
   priority: 0
   media: Ethernet autoselect (none)
   status: no carrier
   supported media:
       media none
       media 10baseT
       media 10baseT mediaopt full-duplex
       media 100baseTX
       media 100baseTX mediaopt full-duplex
       media 1000baseT mediaopt full-duplex
       media autoselect
Well, one thing I noticed here is that the interface isn't marked UP.

What happens if you do a
Code:
ifconfig alc0 up
__________________
HP ProCurve 1800-24G, Phenom 9750, Dual Opteron 265, AMD64 3000+,
Dual P3-800, eMac G4 1.0GHz, Sun Blade 150, Alpha PWS 433 and more ...
Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010
passthejoe passthejoe is offline
Real Name: Steven
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 30
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wilfried View Post
Well, one thing I noticed here is that the interface isn't marked UP.

What happens if you do a
Code:
ifconfig alc0 up
That doesn't "light up" the interface.

From the console, this is how I'm doing it:

Code:
# ifconfig alc0 media 100baseTX
# dhclient alc0
or in hostname.alc0:

Code:
dhcp media 100BaseTX
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010
amorphousone amorphousone is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

@BSDfan666:
I'm a networking caveman so please explain something.
Is forcing media type "a bad idea" because it reduces flexibility, or something else.

All I could get from faq (http://www.openbsd.org/faq/faq6.html#Setup.if) was:

Quote:
(Of course, you should never force full duplex mode unless both sides of the connection are set to do this! In the absence of special needs, media settings should be excluded. A more likely case might be to force 10base-T or half duplex when your infrastructure requires it.)
Googling elsewhere got me nothing.

The duplex thing I get, but what might happen if I botch my transfer rates? Something harmful, or just limiting?

TIA

@passthejoe
Thanks for the tip; I had the same issue and forcing the transfer rate solved it.

Last edited by amorphousone; 22nd October 2010 at 02:17 PM. Reason: added link to faq section
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010
rocket357's Avatar
rocket357 rocket357 is offline
Real Name: Jonathon
Wannabe OpenBSD porter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 332
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I think the issue with forcing media type isn't so much that it will break anything, but more that it's a treatment for a *symptom* and not the real underlying issue. A while back on misc it was stated that autonegotiation is bad and should be avoided...one of the OpenBSD developers (henning, I believe) refuted that with (summarization): "autonegotiation is only bad if you're using very, very old equipment". He didn't give an exact date range, but if you're using networking gear that is 10 years old, media type isn't really your biggest problem.

In this case, forcing the media type means that there is a bigger problem (i.e. why can't the media type be auto-detected??). The reason it's ok to force the media type in this instance is that we're not OpenBSD developers, so until this is resolved in code (if it's deemed a software issue and resolvable at the code level, of course) we have no other options.

Edit: Just out of morbid curiosity, what is on the other end of the link? What kind of router/switch/etc...?

Last edited by rocket357; 22nd October 2010 at 02:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2010
passthejoe passthejoe is offline
Real Name: Steven
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 30
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocket357 View Post
Just out of morbid curiosity, what is on the other end of the link? What kind of router/switch/etc...?
I'm not exactly sure what make/model of router/switch is at the other end, but I should try this on my home router to see how it reacts. The network I've been testing on is rather old-school: It does DHCP but doesn't send DNS information (which I manually enter in /etc/resolv.conf or /etc/resolv.conf.tail)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing drive in /dev, but shows in dmesg tenderoni OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 3 27th September 2010 09:51 PM
Researcher shows how to strike back at web assailants J65nko News 0 17th June 2010 11:23 PM
Why tcpdump sometimes drops packets, mangles DNS and shows bad checksums J65nko Guides 4 15th January 2010 11:55 PM
Ath0: no carrier FreeBee FreeBSD General 6 9th January 2010 08:59 AM
Properly sending dmesg to dmesg@ twisted_steel OpenBSD General 5 27th July 2008 02:43 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick