DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th August 2011
kiimao's Avatar
kiimao kiimao is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem installing 2nd nekwork card

hello!

I'm trying to setup an old laptop as an general purpose home server (gateway, torrent seedbox, wireless access point and whatever else I can think of adding).

I have added a second network card to the PC Card slot of the laptop, and OpenBSD recognises it as "Realtech 8139" and assigns it device name "rl1".
But when I try to run dhclient on it it keeps timing out waiting for a reply, and the error message:
rl1: watchdog timeout
keeps popping up on the console.

Googling this suggests that it might be solved disableing ASPI. But neither disableing ASPI or APM in the kernel makes any difference.

The card works fine when I tried it on the same machine useing a Linux live-CD I had lying around. And there doesn't seem to be any problem with the driver in OBSD since the same one is used for the built in ethernet card that works fine.

First time useing any flavor *BSD so I'm not sure what to try next.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th August 2011
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,873
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiimao View Post
I have added a second network card to the PC Card slot of the laptop...
Post the complete output of dmesg(8).
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th August 2011
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,611
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Take a look at the output of:

# ifconfig

This will show both your rl0 and rl1 NICs, and you may then compare the physical layer status of each. DHCP will fail if there is no Ethernet connectivity. See http://www.daemonforums.org/showthread.php?t=6184 for a recent thread on this subject.

Ocicat was faster than I was, but he's right, a dmesg will also be helpful. Watchdog timeouts occur when drivers fail to get responses from hardware when expected.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th August 2011
kiimao's Avatar
kiimao kiimao is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocicat View Post
Post the complete output of dmesg(8).
Code:
# dmesg
OpenBSD 4.9 (GENERIC) #671: Wed Mar  2 07:09:00 MST 2011
    deraadt@i386.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sys/arch/i386/compile/GENERIC
cpu0: Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.60GHz ("GenuineIntel" 686-class) 1.61 GHz
cpu0: FPU,V86,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,TM,SBF,EST,TM2
real mem  = 794914816 (758MB)
avail mem = 771780608 (736MB)
mainbus0 at root
bios0 at mainbus0: AT/286+ BIOS, date 09/07/05, BIOS32 rev. 0 @ 0xfd570, SMBIOS rev. 2.31 @ 0x2f6e7000 (34 entries)
bios0: vendor Acer version "3A06" date 09/07/05
bios0: Acer, inc. Aspire 1640
acpi0 at bios0: rev 0
acpi0: sleep states S0 S3 S4 S5
acpi0: tables DSDT FACP APIC HPET MCFG BOOT SSDT SSDT SSDT
acpi0: wakeup devices AZAL(S3) RP01(S4) RP02(S4) RP04(S4) USB1(S3) USB2(S3) USB3(S3) USB4(S3) USB7(S3) LANC(S5)
acpitimer0 at acpi0: 3579545 Hz, 24 bits
acpimadt0 at acpi0 addr 0xfee00000: PC-AT compat
cpu0 at mainbus0: apid 0 (boot processor)
cpu0: apic clock running at 133MHz
ioapic0 at mainbus0: apid 1 pa 0xfec00000, version 20, 24 pins
ioapic0: misconfigured as apic 0, remapped to apid 1
acpihpet0 at acpi0: 14318179 Hz
acpimcfg0 at acpi0 addr 0xe0000000, bus 0-255
acpiprt0 at acpi0: bus 0 (PCI0)
acpiprt1 at acpi0: bus 9 (RP01)
acpiprt2 at acpi0: bus 10 (RP02)
acpiprt3 at acpi0: bus 2 (RP03)
acpiprt4 at acpi0: bus -1 (RP04)
acpiprt5 at acpi0: bus 6 (PCIB)
acpiec0 at acpi0
acpicpu0 at acpi0: C3, C3, C2, C1, PSS
acpitz0 at acpi0: critical temperature 97 degC
acpiac0 at acpi0: AC unit online
acpibat0 at acpi0: BAT1 not present
acpibtn0 at acpi0: LID_
acpibtn1 at acpi0: PWRB
acpibtn2 at acpi0: SLPB
acpivideo0 at acpi0: GFX0
acpivout0 at acpivideo0: DD01
acpivout1 at acpivideo0: DD02
acpivout2 at acpivideo0: DD03
acpivout3 at acpivideo0: DD04
bios0: ROM list: 0xc0000/0xf200! 0xcf800/0x1000! 0xe0000/0x1800!
cpu0: Enhanced SpeedStep 1729 MHz: speeds: 1600, 1333, 1067, 800 MHz
pci0 at mainbus0 bus 0: configuration mode 1 (bios)
pchb0 at pci0 dev 0 function 0 "Intel 82915GM Host" rev 0x03
vga1 at pci0 dev 2 function 0 "Intel 82915GM Video" rev 0x03
wsdisplay0 at vga1 mux 1: console (80x25, vt100 emulation)
wsdisplay0: screen 1-5 added (80x25, vt100 emulation)
intagp0 at vga1
agp0 at intagp0: aperture at 0xc0000000, size 0x10000000
inteldrm0 at vga1: apic 1 int 16 (irq 10)
drm0 at inteldrm0
"Intel 82915GM Video" rev 0x03 at pci0 dev 2 function 1 not configured
azalia0 at pci0 dev 27 function 0 "Intel 82801FB HD Audio" rev 0x04: apic 1 int 16 (irq 0)
azalia0: codecs: Realtek ALC260, Conexant/0x2bfa, using Realtek ALC260
audio0 at azalia0
ppb0 at pci0 dev 28 function 0 "Intel 82801FB PCIE" rev 0x04: apic 1 int 17 (irq 10)
pci1 at ppb0 bus 9
ppb1 at pci0 dev 28 function 1 "Intel 82801FB PCIE" rev 0x04: apic 1 int 16 (irq 10)
pci2 at ppb1 bus 10
ppb2 at pci0 dev 28 function 2 "Intel 82801FB PCIE" rev 0x04: apic 1 int 18 (irq 11)
pci3 at ppb2 bus 2
uhci0 at pci0 dev 29 function 0 "Intel 82801FB USB" rev 0x04: apic 1 int 23 (irq 11)
uhci1 at pci0 dev 29 function 1 "Intel 82801FB USB" rev 0x04: apic 1 int 19 (irq 11)
uhci2 at pci0 dev 29 function 2 "Intel 82801FB USB" rev 0x04: apic 1 int 18 (irq 11)
uhci3 at pci0 dev 29 function 3 "Intel 82801FB USB" rev 0x04: apic 1 int 16 (irq 10)
ehci0 at pci0 dev 29 function 7 "Intel 82801FB USB" rev 0x04: apic 1 int 23 (irq 11)
usb0 at ehci0: USB revision 2.0
uhub0 at usb0 "Intel EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
ppb3 at pci0 dev 30 function 0 "Intel 82801BAM Hub-to-PCI" rev 0xd4
pci4 at ppb3 bus 6
cbb0 at pci4 dev 1 function 0 "TI PCI1510 CardBus" rev 0x00: apic 1 int 18 (irq 11)
iwi0 at pci4 dev 4 function 0 "Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG" rev 0x05: apic 1 int 17 (irq 10), address 00:15:00:09:ec:0c
rl0 at pci4 dev 8 function 0 "Realtek 8139" rev 0x10: apic 1 int 16 (irq 10), address 00:c0:9f:f4:54:ae
rlphy0 at rl0 phy 0: RTL internal PHY
cardslot0 at cbb0 slot 0 flags 0
cardbus0 at cardslot0: bus 7 device 0 cacheline 0x8, lattimer 0x24
pcmcia0 at cardslot0
ichpcib0 at pci0 dev 31 function 0 "Intel 82801FBM LPC" rev 0x04: PM disabled
pciide0 at pci0 dev 31 function 1 "Intel 82801FB IDE" rev 0x04: DMA, channel 0 configured to compatibility, channel 1 configured to compatibility
wd0 at pciide0 channel 0 drive 0: <WDC WD600UE-22HCT0>
wd0: 16-sector PIO, LBA, 57231MB, 117210240 sectors
atapiscsi0 at pciide0 channel 0 drive 1
scsibus0 at atapiscsi0: 2 targets
cd0 at scsibus0 targ 0 lun 0: <MATSHITA, UJDA770 DVD/CDRW, 1.00> ATAPI 5/cdrom removable
wd0(pciide0:0:0): using PIO mode 4, Ultra-DMA mode 5
cd0(pciide0:0:1): using PIO mode 4, Ultra-DMA mode 2
pciide0: channel 1 ignored (disabled)
ichiic0 at pci0 dev 31 function 3 "Intel 82801FB SMBus" rev 0x04: apic 1 int 19 (irq 11)
iic0 at ichiic0
spdmem0 at iic0 addr 0x50: 512MB DDR2 SDRAM non-parity PC2-5300CL5 SO-DIMM
spdmem1 at iic0 addr 0x52: 256MB DDR2 SDRAM non-parity PC2-4200CL5 SO-DIMM
usb1 at uhci0: USB revision 1.0
uhub1 at usb1 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb2 at uhci1: USB revision 1.0
uhub2 at usb2 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb3 at uhci2: USB revision 1.0
uhub3 at usb3 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb4 at uhci3: USB revision 1.0
uhub4 at usb4 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
isa0 at ichpcib0
isadma0 at isa0
pckbc0 at isa0 port 0x60/5
pckbd0 at pckbc0 (kbd slot)
pckbc0: using irq 1 for kbd slot
wskbd0 at pckbd0: console keyboard, using wsdisplay0
pms0 at pckbc0 (aux slot)
pckbc0: using irq 12 for aux slot
wsmouse0 at pms0 mux 0
pcppi0 at isa0 port 0x61
spkr0 at pcppi0
npx0 at isa0 port 0xf0/16: reported by CPUID; using exception 16
mtrr: Pentium Pro MTRR support
rl1 at cardbus0 dev 0 function 0 "Realtek 8139" rev 0x10: irq 11rl1: reset never completed!
, address ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
umass0 at uhub0 port 4 configuration 1 interface 0 "Seagate FreeAgentDesktop" rev 2.00/0.00 addr 2
umass0: using SCSI over Bulk-Only
scsibus1 at umass0: 2 targets, initiator 0
sd0 at scsibus1 targ 1 lun 0: <Seagate, FreeAgentDesktop, 100D> SCSI2 0/direct fixed
sd0: 476940MB, 512 bytes/sec, 976773168 sec total
vscsi0 at root
scsibus2 at vscsi0: 256 targets
softraid0 at root
root on wd0a swap on wd0b dump on wd0b
rl1: watchdog timeout
rl1: watchdog timeout
rl1: watchdog timeout
rl1: watchdog timeout
rl1: watchdog timeout
scsibus3 at softraid0: 1 targets
sd1 at scsibus3 targ 0 lun 0: <OPENBSD, SR CRYPTO, 004> SCSI2 0/direct fixed
sd1: 31235MB, 512 bytes/sec, 63969360 sec total
scsibus4 at softraid0: 1 targets
sd2 at scsibus4 targ 0 lun 0: <OPENBSD, SR CRYPTO, 004> SCSI2 0/direct fixed
sd2: 476937MB, 512 bytes/sec, 976767473 sec total
The line that lists the rl1 card doesn't look good (reset never completed!), but I have no idea what it means...
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th August 2011
kiimao's Avatar
kiimao kiimao is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jggimi View Post
Take a look at the output of:

# ifconfig

This will show both your rl0 and rl1 NICs, and you may then compare the physical layer status of each. DHCP will fail if there is no Ethernet connectivity. See hxxp://www.daemonforums.org/showthread.php?t=6184 for a recent thread on this subject.
Code:
# ifconfig
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 33200
        priority: 0
        groups: lo
        inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
        inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
        inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4
iwi0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
        lladdr 00:15:00:09:ec:0c
        priority: 4
        groups: wlan
        media: IEEE802.11 autoselect
        status: no network
        ieee80211: nwid "" -50dBm
rl0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
        lladdr 00:c0:9f:f4:54:ae
        priority: 0
        groups: egress
        media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX full-duplex)
        status: active
        inet6 fe80::2c0:9fff:fef4:54ae%rl0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2
        inet 192.168.0.2 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.0.255
enc0: flags=0<>
        priority: 0
        groups: enc
        status: active
rl1: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
        lladdr fe:e1:ba:d0:f5:1a
        priority: 0
        media: Ethernet none (none)
        inet6 fe80::fce1:baff:fed0:f51a%rl1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5
pflog0: flags=141<UP,RUNNING,PROMISC> mtu 33200
        priority: 0
        groups: pflog
There is no problem with the physical connectivity like in the thread linked (since the exact same hardware layout worked fine with the Linux live-CD), but I do get the exact same error messages listed in the first post of that thread.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th August 2011
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Just out of morbid curiosity, would you be willing to try compiling a custom kernel?

Assuming you have the kernel source extracted, edit /usr/src/sys/dev/cardbus/if_rl_cardbus.c and comment out #define RL_USEIOSPACE.

Cardbus is a lot like PCI and supports MMIO and x86 port mapped I/O, sometimes its worth seeing if a card works using the other registers.

Alternatively if this doesn't help, try disabling ioapic in UKC or with config(8) and see if that helps.

It wouldn't hurt to send an email to bugs@openbsd.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th August 2011
kiimao's Avatar
kiimao kiimao is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Roll my own 'eh? I could try, yeah. But it's going to have to wait at least until tomorrow...
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th August 2011
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,873
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiimao View Post
The line that lists the rl1 card doesn't look good (reset never completed!), but I have no idea what it means...
From searching through the official misc@ mailing list archives, it appears this is due to a slightly non-standard cardbus infrastructure:

http://marc.info/?l=openbsd-misc&w=2...mpleted+rl&q=b

Depending upon how much you want to resolve the problem:
  • Install a snapshot of -current. Be aware that -current is the development head where the developers check in fresh code. Especially as a newcomer to OpenBSD, studying Section 5.1 of the official FAQ will help set expectations.
  • If you later choose to submit a problem report, be aware that the developers will be most interested in knowing what is the behavior on -current, so the first step should be considered necessary. Further information on the submission process can be found at the following:

    http://www.openbsd.org/report.html

    If you do submit a problem report, be as complete & accurate as possible. There are perhaps two weeks left before the OpenBSD 5.0 code base is frozen, so getting a fix into CVS are low. Yet the chance of getting it fixed is zero if you do not fill out a problem report soon. Most likely, if a report is submitted, it might be addressed before OpenBSD 5.1.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th August 2011
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,611
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

There is a difference between rl0 and rl1 in the output from ifconfig. The second NIC does not report a physical layer status.

Academic in this case.
Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2011
kiimao's Avatar
kiimao kiimao is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSDfan666 View Post
Just out of morbid curiosity, would you be willing to try compiling a custom kernel?

Assuming you have the kernel source extracted, edit /usr/src/sys/dev/cardbus/if_rl_cardbus.c and comment out #define RL_USEIOSPACE.

Cardbus is a lot like PCI and supports MMIO and x86 port mapped I/O, sometimes its worth seeing if a card works using the other registers.
I finally got around to trying this out, and it seems to have done the trick.
You sir rock!

Thank you all for your help.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2011
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Be sure to send a mail to the lists reporting your success with this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Dimension 4550 sound card problem RJPugh FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 10 20th October 2009 12:43 PM
Installing/configurin RT-73 based wireless card tal-rasha FreeBSD General 0 7th April 2009 02:40 PM
Intel ATOM D945GCLF onboard LAN driver-card problem mona FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 7 17th December 2008 04:50 PM
Installing software without Ethernet Card welkin FreeBSD Ports and Packages 2 27th July 2008 12:12 AM
Problem installing PHP5 DrKrall OpenBSD Packages and Ports 8 23rd May 2008 12:10 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick