DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20th October 2011
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,710
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Quote:
I'm trying to set up with the guidens of openbsd FAQ 6.4.2 and I can not get anything on vr1 when I run the command ifconfig-A.
The only time you posted output from ifconfig, vr1 looked like this (please take note of what I have highlighted):
Code:
vr1: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
        lladdr 00:0d:b9:1c:96:81
        priority: 0
        media: Ethernet autoselect (none)
        status: no carrier
If it continues to show "no carrier", your Ethernet connection is not functional. There are several possible reasons:
  1. You are trying to use a straight-through cable for a point-to-point connection, when a cross-over cable is required. We do not know if you and Igor have made any physical change to this segment of your network. If you have made no physical change and are still attempting to use a single straight through cable, you will continue to have this problem.
  2. You have some other physical connection problem -- a bad cable, improperly connected cables, or an improperly connected hub or switch.
  3. You have a bad NIC -- in the Alix, on the Laptop, or on a connected hub or switch. This is the least likely possibility.
Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011
wlm2 wlm2 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I wanted to add that I am using an Ethernet crossover cable .

ifconfig -A print.
Code:
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 33200
        priority: 0
        groups: lo
        inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
        inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
        inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4
vr0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
        lladdr 00:0d:b9:1c:96:80
        priority: 0
        groups: egress
        media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX full-duplex)
        status: active
        inet6 fe80::20d:b9ff:fe1c:9680%vr0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
        inet 192.168.1.102 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
vr1: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
        lladdr 00:0d:b9:1c:96:81
        priority: 0
        media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX full-duplex)
        status: active
enc0: flags=0<>
        priority: 0
        groups: enc
        status: active
pflog0: flags=141<UP,RUNNING,PROMISC> mtu 33200
        priority: 0
        groups: pflog
Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011
wlm2 wlm2 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

First i think i should get an ip address to the network card inside my laptop Through the network cable in port vr1 .

Secondly - cat /var/log/daemon print .
Code:
Oct 20 11:37:45 ecbox savecore: no core dump
Oct 20 18:45:00 ecbox savecore: no core dump
Oct 20 18:57:21 ecbox dhclient[27753]: ioctl(SIOCGIFFLAGS) on fxp0: Device not configured
Oct 20 18:57:29 ecbox dhclient[702]: DHCPREQUEST on vr0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
Oct 20 18:57:29 ecbox dhclient[702]: DHCPACK from 192.168.1.1 (00:22:6b:7b:7e:68)
Oct 20 18:57:29 ecbox dhclient[32743]: routehandler: interface address deleted
Oct 20 18:57:29 ecbox dhclient[702]: bound to 192.168.1.102 -- renewal in 43200 seconds.
Oct 20 19:07:30 ecbox savecore: no core dump
Oct 20 19:07:31 ecbox dhcpd[27321]: Can't listen on vr1 - it has no IP address.
Oct 20 19:07:31 ecbox dhcpd[27321]: No interfaces to listen on.
Oct 20 19:07:31 ecbox dhcpd[27321]: exiting.
Oct 20 19:32:10 ecbox dhcpd[29767]: Can't listen on fxp0 - it has no IP address.
Oct 20 19:32:10 ecbox dhcpd[29767]: No interfaces to listen on.
Oct 20 19:32:10 ecbox dhcpd[29767]: exiting.
Oct 20 19:32:17 ecbox dhcpd[25136]: Can't listen on vr1 - it has no IP address.
Oct 20 19:32:17 ecbox dhcpd[25136]: No interfaces to listen on.
Oct 20 19:32:17 ecbox dhcpd[25136]: exiting.
Oct 20 19:32:25 ecbox dhcpd[23654]: Can't listen on vr1 - it has no IP address.
Oct 20 19:32:25 ecbox dhcpd[23654]: No interfaces to listen on.
Oct 20 19:32:25 ecbox dhcpd[23654]: exiting.
Oct 20 19:55:41 ecbox savecore: no core dump
Oct 20 19:55:42 ecbox dhcpd[13655]: Can't listen on vr1 - it has no IP address.
Oct 20 19:55:42 ecbox dhcpd[13655]: No interfaces to listen on.
Oct 20 19:55:42 ecbox dhcpd[13655]: exiting.
Oct 20 20:02:33 ecbox dhcpd[29108]: Can't listen on fxp0 - it has no IP address.
Oct 20 20:02:33 ecbox dhcpd[29108]: No interfaces to listen on.
Oct 20 20:02:33 ecbox dhcpd[29108]: exiting.
Oct 20 20:02:39 ecbox dhcpd[4807]: Can't listen on vr1 - it has no IP address.
Oct 20 20:02:39 ecbox dhcpd[4807]: No interfaces to listen on.
Oct 20 20:02:39 ecbox dhcpd[4807]: exiting.
Oct 20 20:02:44 ecbox dhcpd[21725]: Can't listen on vr1 - it has no IP address.
Oct 20 20:02:44 ecbox dhcpd[21725]: No interfaces to listen on.
Oct 20 20:02:44 ecbox dhcpd[21725]: exiting.
Oct 20 20:04:43 ecbox savecore: no core dump
Oct 20 20:04:44 ecbox dhcpd[24328]: Can't listen on vr1 - it has no IP address.
Oct 20 20:04:44 ecbox dhcpd[24328]: No interfaces to listen on.
Oct 20 20:04:44 ecbox dhcpd[24328]: exiting.
Oct 20 20:11:51 ecbox dhcpd[21028]: Can't listen on start - it has no IP address.
Oct 20 20:11:51 ecbox dhcpd[21028]: No interfaces to listen on.
Oct 20 20:11:51 ecbox dhcpd[21028]: exiting.
Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,888
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wlm2 View Post
Code:
vr1: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
        lladdr 00:0d:b9:1c:96:81
        priority: 0
        media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX full-duplex)
        status: active
So, it looks like you have Layer 2 connectivity. What is the output of the following command?

$ cat /etc/hostname.vr1
Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011
wlm2 wlm2 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

$ cat /etc/hostname.vr1

cat: /etc/hostname.vr1: No such file or directory
Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,710
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

You must assign a static IP address for this network segment. It must be in a different IP subnet from the segment attached to vr0. You do this by creating the missing file. See FAQ 6.2.1. Your pool of address in your dhcpd.conf must be in this same subnet.
Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011
wlm2 wlm2 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What's the output that you was expected from this commandes

$ cat /etc/hostname.vr1

I do not understand why I need to set a static address on port vr1.
I think when I set dhcp server is supposed to give a ip address to the laptop network card .
Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

The DHCP server should have it's own IP statically assigned.

dhcpd(8) uses this information to determine which interface it should listen for DHCP requests on.
Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,710
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

The output expected is an IPv4 configuration file that you or Igor create. As described in FAQ 6.2.1 and the man page referred to you there. Please spend time with the FAQ, it will save you from yourselves if you do.

If you need help with basic networking concepts, please look for a book on TCP/IP written in your language.
Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2011
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,888
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wlm2 View Post
I do not understand why I need to set a static address on port vr1.


Then, you need to study the DHCP protocol. There are multiple sources you can use to study. Some obvious choices include:Think about how the communication that must take place between the DHCP client & server. In order to get an IP address, the first two step in the DHCP handshake are:
  1. The client (who initially does not have an IP address...) broadcasts a request that it wants to be assigned an address. It passes its MAC address in the request known as DHCPDISCOVER.
  2. The DHCP server replies with the IP address of its interface in DHCPOFFER.
Without an IP address on vr1, the DHCP handshake will fail. The client will not know to whom it is talking.
Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2011
Sigi Sigi is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

question:
How does openBSD determin if a an internet connection is down (by down i mean the ISP has a problem), does it wait until a request is sent to the internet and is not replied for some time? or does it sends constant pings to some server to test the connection?
Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2011
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,154
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sigi View Post
question:
How does openBSD determin if a an internet connection is down (by down i mean the ISP has a problem), does it wait until a request is sent to the internet and is not replied for some time? or does it sends constant pings to some server to test the connection?
IMHO you are asking this question too early

Please see http://www.daemonforums.org/showpost...0&postcount=38 for a suggestion to take a step-by-step approach.
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump

Last edited by ocicat; 21st October 2011 at 11:19 AM. Reason: fixed link
Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2011
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,710
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Please refer to ifstated.conf(5), where you will see both internal state changes (NIC status) and external (user defined) tests.

Last edited by jggimi; 21st October 2011 at 01:36 PM. Reason: clarification
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2011
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,888
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wlm2 View Post
In addition there is a USB port in the board that I want to connect to

NETSTICK mobile communications.

I mean I also need to set some kind of protocol regulating communication when I'm connecting Through a dsl and i lose comunecation I will pass to the mobile communications.
wlm2 & Sigi, throughout this (never-ending...) discussion, there has been no mention of either one of you verifying that you have been able to successfully connect this USB device to the Internet. Much of the discussion thus far has been on DHCP, NAT, & failover issues.

While I agree that these issues will eventually need to be addressed, if the goal of your project is to construct a device capable of failing over from one ISP to another, none of the 5 months you have spent on this project will amount to anything unless you know & can demonstrate that you can connect wirelessly. J65nko attempted to help you prioritize what needs to be done in the following:

http://www.daemonforums.org/showpost...0&postcount=38

It does not appear that you have made any progress on confirming whether you can connect through this USB device. While it is your choice to work through the issues involved in the project in whatever manner you wish, it would seem to me that you should take care of the most critical items first. Otherwise, if you are unable to connect through a secondary conduit, the goal of your project has not been met & you have simply wasted your time.

I recommend that you spend time studying PPP connections as described in Section 6.5 of the FAQ very soon. Studying the relevant manpages will help too. It will also be beneficial to search for PPP discussions on the official misc@ mailing list. Archive sites can be found at the following:

http://www.openbsd.org/mail.html

Studying these sources will far be more useful than trying to find shortcuts by searching for howto documents. Most information found on the Internet is either old, incomplete, or simply wrong. Staying with information & discussions on the OpenBSD project or its mailing lists is much more likely of being correct & current.
Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2011
Sigi Sigi is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Does anyone know if there's a software using which I can simulate my stay alive algorithm for two ISP connections? - to see if it works correctly, not on my board but virtually.
Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2011
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,710
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Sigi, you can build a network of interconnected virtual machines for this sort of testing. If your host is OpenBSD, emulators/qemu is the recommended solution.

You will need, at minimum, five systems on four subnetworks. If you have questions about running qemu with OpenBSD as a host, or using qemu with virtual (or real) network interconnections, please start a new thread.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick