DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st March 2012
sw2wolf sw2wolf is offline
λ programmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: China
Posts: 89
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Is qemu practical ?

In FreeBSD, i use VirtualBox+WindowXP to run some windows application. It seems VBox cannot run on OpenBSD ?

What i really want to know is whether or not qemu is practical compared with VBox or KVM ?

Sincerely!
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st March 2012
jjennings089 jjennings089 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have used qemu for years; never had a problem with it. But I have been using qemu on linux and windows to emu erither linux or windows. I have never tried to run quem in OpenBSD running a win VM.

The problems I have had in the past have always been with USB devices/folder host client share.

If you get WinXP running in qemu on OpenBSD; please report back. It would be neat to hear if it can be done.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st March 2012
sw2wolf sw2wolf is offline
λ programmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: China
Posts: 89
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

#modload /usr/local/lib/kqemu/kqemu_mp.o

qemu_mp.o(.text+0x295f): In function `kqemuioctl':
: undefined reference to `KERNEL_PROC_UNLOCK'
/usr/local/lib/kqemu/kqemu_mp.o(.text+0x2972): In function `kqemuioctl':
: undefined reference to `KERNEL_PROC_LOCK'
modload: can't prelink `/usr/local/lib/kqemu/kqemu_mp.o' creating `/usr/local/lib/kqemu/kqemu_mp'
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st March 2012
adamk adamk is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 250
Thanked 5 Times in 8 Posts
Default

It's possible to get XP working in qemu on OpenBSD but, no, it is not practical. It is incredibly slow, in fact.

Adam
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st March 2012
vermaden's Avatar
vermaden vermaden is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: pl_PL.lodz
Posts: 1,052
Thanked 118 Times in 93 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw2wolf View Post
It seems VBox cannot run on OpenBSD ?
No one ported VBox to OpenBSD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw2wolf View Post
What i really want to know is whether or not qemu is practical compared with VBox or KVM ?
Only when some OS does not work/run under VBox/KVM (like MINIX3 sometimes), other then that, its way too slow (even with kqemu).
__________________
religions, worst damnation of mankind
"If 386BSD had been available when I started on Linux, Linux would probably never had happened." Linus Torvalds

Linux is not UNIX! Face it! It is not an insult. It is fact: GNU is a recursive acronym for “GNU's Not UNIX”.
vermaden's: links resources deviantart spreadbsd
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd March 2012
sw2wolf sw2wolf is offline
λ programmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: China
Posts: 89
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It is VERY regretful because wine is NOT working on openbsd too.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd April 2012
sw2wolf sw2wolf is offline
λ programmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: China
Posts: 89
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

>If you get WinXP running in qemu on OpenBSD; please report back. It would be neat to hear if it can be done.
I get it. Although it is a bit slow without kqemu, it works.

start XP which enables remote desktop
$qemu -hda winxp.img -m 160 -soundhw es1370 -no-fd-bootchk \
-nographic -daemonize -redir tcp:3389::3389 -boot c

connect it
$rdesktop -u sw2wolf -p *** -g 1440x880 -D -K -r sound:remote localhost:3389
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd April 2012
Ninguem Ninguem is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 138
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

1. You can set the emulated CPU type.
Code:
qemu -cpu ?
will generate a list.

2. Use the VNC option in qemu instead of remote desktop.

Even though qemu is available as a package in most operating systems- read Linux and BSD here- you may be better of building it from source. The options are yours to choose.
__________________
No signature
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd April 2012
sw2wolf sw2wolf is offline
λ programmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: China
Posts: 89
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

>You can set the emulated CPU type
Code:
$ qemu -cpu ?
x86           [n270]
x86         [athlon]
x86       [pentium3]
x86       [pentium2]
x86        [pentium]
x86            [486]
x86        [coreduo]
x86          [kvm32]
x86         [qemu32]
x86          [kvm64]
x86       [core2duo]
x86         [phenom]
x86         [qemu64]
$ dmesg | grep -iAMD
cpu0: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3600+ ("AuthenticAMD" 686-class, 512KB L2 cache) 1.91 GHz
cpu1: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3600+ ("AuthenticAMD" 686-class, 512KB L2 cache) 1.91 GHz
then which emulated CPU should i choose ?

> Use the VNC option in qemu instead of remote desktop.
Why should i use VNC ?


Sincerely!

Last edited by sw2wolf; 3rd April 2012 at 02:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenBSD QEMU-1.0-RC2 J65nko News 2 17th November 2011 03:07 PM
How useful/practical is this for Firefox? guitarscn OpenBSD Security 0 6th November 2010 01:41 PM
qemu & kqemu adamk FreeBSD General 10 9th October 2008 03:27 PM
Jailed QEMU + other OS revzalot FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 3 29th May 2008 06:00 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick