DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 18th January 2013
igy01 igy01 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Redundant Bridging and STP

I have 2 OpenBSD, every one has few Ethernet interfaces,
and I want to create two ethernet connection between them,
as two link between two switches:

BSD TEST-A em0 <--------> em0 BSD TEST-B
BSD TEST-A em1 <--------> em1 BSD TEST-B


device TEST-A:

test-a /etc>cat hostname.em0
inet 10.10.10.1 255.255.255.0 NONE
up
test-a /etc>cat hostname.em1
up
test-a /etc>cat hostname.bridge0
add em0
add em1
blocknonip em0
blocknonip em1
stp em0
stp em1
up
test-a /etc>

device TEST-B:

test-b /etc>cat hostname.em0
inet 10.10.10.2 255.255.255.0 NONE
up
test-b /etc>cat hostname.em1
up
test-b /etc>cat hostname.bridge0
add em0
add em1
blocknonip em0
blocknonip em1
stp em0
stp em1
up
test-b /etc>


So, if one link is out of function, then traffic will pass throuhtg anohter one.
But it is not working, if:
test-a /etc>ping 10.10.10.2 is working on em0,
until:
test-a /etc>ifconfig em0 down
then pinging stops, it seems RSTP is not working, i.e. traffic is not translated on em1-em1 link.

any idea?
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 18th January 2013
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,118
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

At this moment I don't have all the required equipment, so I cannot test it myself. Could you configure the following setup and see if that works?
Code:
            SERVER 
              |
              |
         +--------+
         | switch |
         +--------+
          /      \
         /        \
        /          \
       /            \
      /              \
+----------+    +----------+
|   re0    |    |  fxp0    |
|          |    |          |
| bridge-1 |    | bridge-2 |
|          |    |          |
|   re1    |    |   fxp1   |
+----------+    +----------+
      \             /
       \           /
        \         /
         \       /
          \     /
        +--------+
        | switch |
        +--------+
            |
            |
            |
       WORKSTATION
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th January 2013
igy01 igy01 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Configuration is something as:

Code:

 LAN1
    |
    |
    |
+-------------+
|   em0       |
|             |
| BSD-1       |
|             |
|   em1   em2 |
+-------------+
    |     |
    |     |
    |     |
    |L1   |L2
    |     |
    |     |
+-------------+
|  em1    em2 |
|             |
| BSD-2       |
|             |
|  em0        |
+-------------+
    |
    |
    |
    LAN2

Redundancy is not used for BSD bridges, redundancy is used for links. Idea is as follows: em1 & em2 are forming bridge0 on BSD-a, and on BSD-2. RSTP is enable on em1 and em2. So, if link L1 is down, then traffic is pass on L2 and vice verse.

according to picture, config is as:

BSD-1 /etc>cat hostname.bridge0
add em1
add em2
blocknonip em1
blocknonip em2
stp em1
stp em2
up
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th January 2013
igy01 igy01 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It is working better if add -learn em1, -learn em2 :

bsd-2 /etc>cat hostname.bridge0
add em1
add em2
blocknonip em1
blocknonip em2
-learn em1
-learn em2
stp em1
stp em2
up
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st January 2013
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,435
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

I believe trunk(4) was designed with this purpose in mind. The bridge(4) driver is for bridging subnets. I believe you'll have better luck with trunk(4).
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 23rd January 2013
igy01 igy01 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks jggimi !
trunk is right solution for me !!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does bridging reinforce privacy? daemonfowl OpenBSD Security 8 1st April 2012 12:32 PM
Bridging firewall with OPenBSD 5.0 scrummie02 OpenBSD Security 4 23rd January 2012 03:49 AM
OpenBSD, PF, bridging and 10gE mbw OpenBSD Security 6 5th January 2012 08:51 PM
wired and wifi sharing but cant use bridging domdurocher OpenBSD General 8 6th October 2011 01:47 AM
requesting help with "New" way to do Bridging in OpenBSD 4.7 mbw OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 1 30th May 2010 12:06 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick