DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Off-Topic Everything else.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27th July 2013
daemonfowl daemonfowl is offline
bsdstudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DaemonLand
Posts: 834
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's alright muflon .. just was curious about ditching mouses off these legacy hardware of mine lol ..
Today I've been using xphoonful i3 wm and have liked it and its i3status bar
Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013
muflon muflon is offline
Real Name: Marcin
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 26
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daemonfowl View Post
It's alright muflon .. just was curious about ditching mouses off these legacy hardware of mine lol ..
Using cwm, You can move windows by key combination: Alt + L[left], K[up], J[down], H[right], close/open - select them, and these all without a mouse touch.

My older hardware I just to connect through rs232, and It's a good option If you have limited number of screens/space in the table/room, and don't want to touch your controlled chaos, after witch it can turn in to a chaos...
Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013
roddierod's Avatar
roddierod roddierod is offline
Real Name: Rod Person
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 372
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daemonfowl View Post
It's alright muflon .. just was curious about ditching mouses off these legacy hardware of mine lol ..
Today I've been using xphoonful i3 wm and have liked it and its i3status bar
What does "xphoonful" mean?
__________________
"The basic tool for the manipulation of reality is the manipulation of words. If you can control the meaning of words, you can control the people who must use the words." -Philip K. Dick
Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2013
daemonfowl daemonfowl is offline
bsdstudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DaemonLand
Posts: 834
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks muflon !
Hi roddierod ! I mean i3+xphoon .. I'm a big fan of xphoon.
Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2013
thirdm thirdm is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 195
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by muflon View Post
I don't know If I understand you correctly but, if you want to make window edges easier to identify, You can type in .cwmrc; these or other set of colours, and borderwith [in cwm default border is 1 pixel wide]:
borderwidth 3
color activeborder blue
color inactiveborder darkblueidentify
Thanks, I must not have been clear, but you've helped me anyway. I wanted no border at all because my mouse cursor would land there when I tried to give focus to the topmost tag of the acme window (the idea of the infinitely tall menu as explained in 2a of this link: http://teresi.us/html/writing/mac_vs_windows.html). Of course, the simple way to accomplish this is to set borderwidth to 0 in cwmrc, which your post made me realize. Always my first thought is to overcomplicate things. If losing the border flash UI feedback when I group windows confuses me I can always revisit the idea of messing with the code, but I doubt I'll miss it. Most of my regularly used programs autogroup now. I haven't manually grouped anything since starting to use acme, in fact. Most of my manual grouping had been to distinguish different xterms from each other. But acme displaces much of my use of xterms. Hopefully one day it will displace all of it. Or I could start using tmux more, but that seems really awkward after using acme a while.

As far as the part of this thread dealing with mouseless WMs, I recall myself conflating the idea of bloat and mouse based UIs. I wonder if some are making the same mistake, or if it's only preference difference. Rob Pike's acme paper is a good cure for mouse hatred, IMO.

Now, cwm is usable without the mouse, I think, having keybindings for most things you need to do. But I have to wonder why someone would want vi key commands to move or size windows unless their mouse were broken. Best thing of course is to settle on a window layout and use geometry arguments to get things situated automatically. Or use a tiling wm, I guess. But there always seem to be programs with UIs that defeat the tiling wms. Recent versions of cwm do have a command inspired by tiling wms, btw, though I never use it myself.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desktop, window manager

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick