DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th March 2014
Roydd85 Roydd85 is offline
Real Name: Roy
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default DHCP no link, cannot connect

Hi, I am having a difficult time getting my laptop to aquire a dhcp lease. During the initial install, I selected dhcp and it said no link so I skipped it thinking i'll come back later. Here is what I did so far:

1. Read openbsd FAQ chapter 6 and most of it was difficult to understand.
2. ifconfig to find my adapter which was re0
3. Create a hostname file in /etc called hostname.re0
4. I put in the line: dhcp nwid network_name wpakey password, and saved the file
5 ran the command sudo sh /etc/netstart re0
6. reboot
7. I received this error message: Inappropriate ioctl for device
8. re0: no link.....................sleeping
9. I then ran this cmd: ifconfig re0 nwid netowrk_name wpakey passphrase
10. same exact errors as 7 & 8

Here is my laptop specs: Toshiba Satellite A665, Intel I5, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, 802.11 a/b/g/n 10/100
OpenBSD 5.4 AMD64iso installation

I suspect that I could be having a hardware compatability issue because my volume, mute, network connection, and DVD play button/leds don't work at all. I checked the laptops sticky, and I could not find any help in those links. I did a google search to see if anyone else had a simmilar problem but no real help. I am actually surprised how little info I have found on google regarding user support. Any tips or noticable mistakes in what I did?

this is the ifconfig info for the adapter

re0: flags=8049<up, BROADCAST, RUNNING, SIMPLEX, MULTICAST> mtu 1500
lladr ...
priority: 0
media: ethernet autoselect (none)

Last edited by Roydd85; 14th March 2014 at 11:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th March 2014
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,674
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roydd85 View Post
2. ifconfig to find my adapter which was re0
This is a wired adapter, not WiFi. See the re(4) man page for details.
Quote:
Here is my laptop specs: Toshiba Satellite A665, Intel I5, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, 802.11 a/b/g/n 10/100
OpenBSD 5.4 AMD64iso installation
This isn't sufficient information for us. Primarily because there are many possible WiFi adapters available to vendors like Toshiba and they post specifications without mentioning what component suppliers they use.

On BSD systems, network interface connector ("NIC") drivers are managed by chipset, not by generic "eth" numbers. Your re(4) driver supports a variety of Realtek chipsets and their clones, and a short list of the major vendors of NICs that use those chipsets is listed in the man page. Vendors of NICs, not of workstations.

You have two choices, from what you have provided so far:
  1. Use the wired NIC with a wired Ethernet.
  2. Look for the WiFi NIC in either your ifconfig(8) output or in your dmesg(8). More below.
The OS kernel must first recognize the WiFi device. If the device is a standard PCI or USB device it should be recognized during device discovery, even if there is no driver available for it. This output will be in your dmesg(8), a critical list of configuration information that you can post here for further assistance.

If the device is found and there is a driver available for it, the assigned driver will be listed in the dmesg. If ther is no driver available, the device will be described in the dmesg as not configured, which is BSD kernel speak for "I recognize this, but I can't do anything with it."

An ifconfig command with no options will list all drivers assigned to physical NICs, as well as several drivers for pseudo devices, such as loopback. You can research what each driver does with the man(1) command ... just remove the device number from the driver when using the command. such as:

$ man lo

to learn about the loopback driver for device lo0.

Last edited by jggimi; 14th March 2014 at 12:25 PM. Reason: typos, highlighting dmesg
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th March 2014
Roydd85 Roydd85 is offline
Real Name: Roy
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I suspected that the re0 was for the wired. when I ifconfig all I get is lo0, re0,enc0, and pflog0. This is why I thought maybe it is not compatible. When I run the dmesg I cannot find the wireless adapter, and I can't post the output unless I type it all out because I am using my desktop for internet access. I am not too sure what too look for though, but I will go through more man pages and reread the network chapter in the FAQ.

How the heck do I scroll up or down in the terminal? I tried holding shift+ PGup/down shift+ arrow keys, I tried scroll lock and arros, numberpad but it does not scroll.

Last edited by Roydd85; 14th March 2014 at 12:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th March 2014
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,674
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

FAQ 4.16 has some recommendations on how to move a dmesg from a machine with no network to another machine that has a network connection, so you need not manually type out anything.

A little Googling leads me to suspect your WiFi NIC might use a Realtek RTL8192SE chipset. I don't believe a driver has been developed for it. There are a number of Realtek drivers, wired and wireless.

Look through your dmesg for this 8192 device, and see if it is there. If not, look at other not configured devices.

Last edited by jggimi; 14th March 2014 at 01:07 PM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th March 2014
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,142
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

Plug in a LAN cable into the NIC jacket of you laptop and get an IP address through DHCP using the following command: # dhclient re0

You will get some messages informing you whether you get a lease for an IP address.Then double check with # ifconfig the IP address.

Next step would be to check whether sshd is running and LISTENing on the default port 22:
Code:
# netstat -an -f inet
 netstat -an -f inet
Active Internet connections (including servers)
Proto   Recv-Q Send-Q  Local Address          Foreign Address        (state)
ip           0      0  *.*                    *.*                    17
Active Internet connections (including servers)
Proto   Recv-Q Send-Q  Local Address          Foreign Address        (state)
tcp          0      0  192.168.222.20.21869   176.31.230.54.80       TIME_WAIT
tcp          0      0  192.168.222.20.10876   185.22.222.101.80      TIME_WAIT
tcp          0      0  192.168.222.20.45955   185.22.222.86.80       TIME_WAIT
tcp          0      0  192.168.222.20.33386   82.199.132.67.80       TIME_WAIT
tcp          0      0  *.6000                 *.*                    LISTEN
tcp          0      0  127.0.0.1.587          *.*                    LISTEN
tcp          0      0  127.0.0.1.25           *.*                    LISTEN
tcp          0      0  *.515                  *.*                    LISTEN
tcp          0      0  *.22                   *.*                    LISTEN
tcp          0      0  127.0.0.1.953          *.*                    LISTEN
tcp          0      0  127.0.0.10.53          *.*                    LISTEN
tcp          0      0  192.168.222.20.53      *.*                    LISTEN
tcp          0      0  127.0.0.1.53           *.*                    LISTEN
If sshd is running you should be able to ssh in from your desktop to your laptop. When that works you can copy and paste stuff from laptop to desktop and also copy files.
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th March 2014
shep shep is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 589
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Another possibility is that some wireless interfaces need firmware. Some firmware licensing does not allow distribution with the install disk but it can be downloaded, with the license, subsequently.

On first run, fw_update(1) will offer to download and install the firmware, If you did not have a network connection on first run, you may be missing the firmware.

If you are able to connect via the NIC, I would try to execute
Code:
fw_update
and watch to see if anything installs.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th March 2014
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,674
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

shep, I think that if it were a firmware issue the device would be in the NIC list, and it is not.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th March 2014
Roydd85 Roydd85 is offline
Real Name: Roy
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here is the output of the dmesg. I don't know what I am looking at too well but i think the
line for the driver I need is Realtek 8188CE" rev 0x01 at pci3 dev 0 function 0 not configured
Code:
OpenBSD 5.4 (GENERIC.MP) #41: Tue Jul 30 15:30:02 MDT 2013
    deraadt@amd64.openbsd.org:/usr/src/s...ile/GENERIC.MP
real mem = 4063293440 (3875MB)
avail mem = 3947397120 (3764MB)
mainbus0 at root
bios0 at mainbus0: SMBIOS rev. 2.6 @ 0x9b712000 (26 entries)
bios0: vendor TOSHIBA version "1.80" date 09/14/10
bios0: TOSHIBA Satellite A665
acpi0 at bios0: rev 2
acpi0: sleep states S0 S3 S4 S5
acpi0: tables DSDT FACP HPET APIC MCFG ASF! SLIC SSDT UEFI UEFI UEFI
acpi0: wakeup devices EHC1(S3) USB1(S3) USB2(S3) USB4(S3) EHC2(S3) USB5(S3) USB6(S3) USB7(S3) HDEF(S3) PXSX(S5) PXSX(S0) PXSX(S3) RP03(S3) PXSX(S4) PXSX(S4) PXSX(S4) [...]
acpitimer0 at acpi0: 3579545 Hz, 24 bits
acpihpet0 at acpi0: 14318179 Hz
acpimadt0 at acpi0 addr 0xfee00000: PC-AT compat
cpu0 at mainbus0: apid 0 (boot processor)
cpu0: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 480 @ 2.67GHz, 2926.98 MHz
cpu0: FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PBE,SSE3,DTES64,MWAIT,DS-CPL,VMX,EST,TM2,SSSE3,CX16,xTPR,PDCM,PCID,SSE4.1,SSE4.2,POPCNT,NXE,LONG,LAHF,PERF,ITSC
cpu0: 256KB 64b/line 8-way L2 cache
cpu0: smt 0, core 0, package 0
cpu0: apic clock running at 133MHz
cpu1 at mainbus0: apid 1 (application processor)
cpu1: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 480 @ 2.67GHz, 2926.50 MHz
cpu1: FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PBE,SSE3,DTES64,MWAIT,DS-CPL,VMX,EST,TM2,SSSE3,CX16,xTPR,PDCM,PCID,SSE4.1,SSE4.2,POPCNT,NXE,LONG,LAHF,PERF,ITSC
cpu1: 256KB 64b/line 8-way L2 cache
cpu1: smt 1, core 0, package 0
cpu2 at mainbus0: apid 4 (application processor)
cpu2: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 480 @ 2.67GHz, 2926.50 MHz
cpu2: FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PBE,SSE3,DTES64,MWAIT,DS-CPL,VMX,EST,TM2,SSSE3,CX16,xTPR,PDCM,PCID,SSE4.1,SSE4.2,POPCNT,NXE,LONG,LAHF,PERF,ITSC
cpu2: 256KB 64b/line 8-way L2 cache
cpu2: smt 0, core 2, package 0
cpu3 at mainbus0: apid 5 (application processor)
cpu3: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 480 @ 2.67GHz, 2926.51 MHz
cpu3: FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PBE,SSE3,DTES64,MWAIT,DS-CPL,VMX,EST,TM2,SSSE3,CX16,xTPR,PDCM,PCID,SSE4.1,SSE4.2,POPCNT,NXE,LONG,LAHF,PERF,ITSC
cpu3: 256KB 64b/line 8-way L2 cache
cpu3: smt 1, core 2, package 0
ioapic0 at mainbus0: apid 1 pa 0xfec00000, version 20, 24 pins
ioapic0: misconfigured as apic 0, remapped to apid 1
acpimcfg0 at acpi0 addr 0xe0000000, bus 0-255
acpiprt0 at acpi0: bus 0 (PCI0)
acpiprt1 at acpi0: bus 1 (P0P2)
acpiprt2 at acpi0: bus -1 (P0P3)
acpiprt3 at acpi0: bus 27 (P0P1)
acpiprt4 at acpi0: bus 2 (RP01)
acpiprt5 at acpi0: bus 7 (RP02)
acpiprt6 at acpi0: bus 12 (RP03)
acpiprt7 at acpi0: bus 17 (RP04)
acpiprt8 at acpi0: bus 22 (RP05)
acpiprt9 at acpi0: bus -1 (RP07)
acpiprt10 at acpi0: bus -1 (RP08)
acpiprt11 at acpi0: bus -1 (PEG3)
acpiprt12 at acpi0: bus -1 (PEG5)
acpiec0 at acpi0
acpicpu0 at acpi0: C3, C1, PSS
acpicpu1 at acpi0: C3, C1, PSS
acpicpu2 at acpi0: C3, C1, PSS
acpicpu3 at acpi0: C3, C1, PSS
acpiac0 at acpi0: AC unit online
acpibat0 at acpi0: BAT1 model "PA3817U-1BRS" serial 41167 type Li-Ion oem "COMPAL "
acpibtn0 at acpi0: LID0
acpibtn1 at acpi0: PWRB
acpivideo0 at acpi0: VGA_
acpivout0 at acpivideo0: LCD_
acpivideo1 at acpi0: VGA_
acpivideo2 at acpi0: GFX0
acpivout1 at acpivideo2: DD02
cpu0: Enhanced SpeedStep 2926 MHz: speeds: 2667, 2666, 2533, 2399, 2266, 2133, 1999, 1866, 1733, 1599, 1466, 1333, 1199 MHz
pci0 at mainbus0 bus 0
pchb0 at pci0 dev 0 function 0 "Intel Core Host" rev 0x02
ppb0 at pci0 dev 1 function 0 "Intel 3400 PCIE" rev 0x02: msi
pci1 at ppb0 bus 1
vendor "NVIDIA", unknown product 0x0a70 (class display subclass VGA, rev 0xa2) at pci1 dev 0 function 0 not configured
vga1 at pci0 dev 2 function 0 "Intel HD Graphics" rev 0x02
intagp0 at vga1
agp0 at intagp0: aperture at 0xc0000000, size 0x10000000
inteldrm0 at vga1
drm0 at inteldrm0
inteldrm0: 1366x768
wsdisplay0 at vga1 mux 1: console (std, vt100 emulation)
wsdisplay0: screen 1-5 added (std, vt100 emulation)
"Intel 3400 MEI" rev 0x06 at pci0 dev 22 function 0 not configured
ehci0 at pci0 dev 26 function 0 "Intel 3400 USB" rev 0x05: apic 1 int 16
usb0 at ehci0: USB revision 2.0
uhub0 at usb0 "Intel EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
azalia0 at pci0 dev 27 function 0 "Intel 3400 HD Audio" rev 0x05: msi
azalia0: codecs: Realtek ALC269, Intel/0x2804, using Realtek ALC269
audio0 at azalia0
ppb1 at pci0 dev 28 function 0 "Intel 3400 PCIE" rev 0x05: msi
pci2 at ppb1 bus 2
re0 at pci2 dev 0 function 0 "Realtek 8101E" rev 0x05: RTL8168E/8111E (0x2c00), apic 1 int 16, address 1c:75:08:73:d8:b7
rgephy0 at re0 phy 7: RTL8169S/8110S PHY, rev. 4
ppb2 at pci0 dev 28 function 1 "Intel 3400 PCIE" rev 0x05: msi
pci3 at ppb2 bus 7
"Realtek 8188CE" rev 0x01 at pci3 dev 0 function 0 not configured
ppb3 at pci0 dev 28 function 2 "Intel 3400 PCIE" rev 0x05: msi
pci4 at ppb3 bus 12
ppb4 at pci0 dev 28 function 3 "Intel 3400 PCIE" rev 0x05: msi
pci5 at ppb4 bus 17
ppb5 at pci0 dev 28 function 4 "Intel 3400 PCIE" rev 0x05: msi
pci6 at ppb5 bus 22
"JMicron SD/MMC" rev 0x20 at pci6 dev 0 function 0 not configured
sdhc0 at pci6 dev 0 function 2 "JMicron SD Host Controller" rev 0x20: apic 1 int 16
sdmmc0 at sdhc0
"JMicron Memory Stick" rev 0x20 at pci6 dev 0 function 3 not configured
"JMicron xD" rev 0x20 at pci6 dev 0 function 4 not configured
ehci1 at pci0 dev 29 function 0 "Intel 3400 USB" rev 0x05: apic 1 int 23
usb1 at ehci1: USB revision 2.0
uhub1 at usb1 "Intel EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
ppb6 at pci0 dev 30 function 0 "Intel 82801BAM Hub-to-PCI" rev 0xa5
pci7 at ppb6 bus 27
pcib0 at pci0 dev 31 function 0 "Intel HM55 LPC" rev 0x05
ahci0 at pci0 dev 31 function 2 "Intel 3400 AHCI" rev 0x05: msi, AHCI 1.3
scsibus0 at ahci0: 32 targets
sd0 at scsibus0 targ 1 lun 0: <ATA, TOSHIBA MK6465GS, GJ00> SCSI3 0/direct fixed naa.5000039293b0892d
sd0: 610480MB, 512 bytes/sector, 1250263728 sectors
cd0 at scsibus0 targ 4 lun 0: <TSSTcorp, CDDVDW TS-L633Y, TF20> ATAPI 5/cdrom removable
ichiic0 at pci0 dev 31 function 3 "Intel 3400 SMBus" rev 0x05: apic 1 int 18
iic0 at ichiic0
spdmem0 at iic0 addr 0x50: 2GB DDR3 SDRAM PC3-8500 SO-DIMM
spdmem1 at iic0 addr 0x52: 2GB DDR3 SDRAM PC3-8500 SO-DIMM
itherm0 at pci0 dev 31 function 6 "Intel 3400 Thermal" rev 0x05
isa0 at pcib0
isadma0 at isa0
pckbc0 at isa0 port 0x60/5
pckbd0 at pckbc0 (kbd slot)
pckbc0: using irq 1 for kbd slot
wskbd0 at pckbd0: console keyboard, using wsdisplay0
pms0 at pckbc0 (aux slot)
pckbc0: using irq 12 for aux slot
wsmouse0 at pms0 mux 0
pms0: Synaptics touchpad, firmware 7.4
pcppi0 at isa0 port 0x61
spkr0 at pcppi0
pci8 at mainbus0 bus 255
pchb1 at pci8 dev 0 function 0 "Intel QuickPath" rev 0x05
pchb2 at pci8 dev 0 function 1 "Intel QuickPath" rev 0x05
pchb3 at pci8 dev 2 function 0 "Intel QPI Link" rev 0x05
pchb4 at pci8 dev 2 function 1 "Intel QPI Physical" rev 0x05
pchb5 at pci8 dev 2 function 2 "Intel Reserved" rev 0x05
pchb6 at pci8 dev 2 function 3 "Intel Reserved" rev 0x05
mtrr: Pentium Pro MTRR support
uhub2 at uhub0 port 1 "Intel Rate Matching Hub" rev 2.00/0.00 addr 2
uhub3 at uhub1 port 1 "Intel Rate Matching Hub" rev 2.00/0.00 addr 2
uhub4 at uhub3 port 2 "Broadcom BCM2046B1" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 3
uhidev0 at uhub4 port 1 configuration 1 interface 0 "Broadcom product 0x4502" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 4
uhidev0: iclass 3/1, 1 report id
ukbd0 at uhidev0 reportid 1: 8 variable keys, 6 key codes
wskbd1 at ukbd0 mux 1
wskbd1: connecting to wsdisplay0
uhidev1 at uhub4 port 2 configuration 1 interface 0 "Broadcom product 0x4503" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 5
uhidev1: iclass 3/1, 125 report ids
ums0 at uhidev1 reportid 2: 3 buttons
wsmouse1 at ums0 mux 0
uhid0 at uhidev1 reportid 125: input=2, output=0, feature=0
ugen0 at uhub4 port 3 "Broadcom Corp Rocketfish Bluetooth Adapter" rev 2.00/6.67 addr 6
vscsi0 at root
scsibus1 at vscsi0: 256 targets
softraid0 at root
scsibus2 at softraid0: 256 targets
root on sd0a (1d56ab7d848833cc.a) swap on sd0b dump on sd0b

Last edited by ocicat; 14th March 2014 at 04:43 PM. Reason: Please use [code] & [/code] tags when posting command output.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th March 2014
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,674
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roydd85 View Post
... i think the
line for the driver I need is Realtek 8188CE" rev 0x01 at pci3 dev 0 function 0 not configured ...
That's it. Unfortunately, the only OpenBSD driver that has support for this is the RTL8188CE-VAU, a USB variant chipset, via the urtwn(4) driver. which is USB-only. There is no driver for the for the PCI-bus RTL8188CE.
Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2014
Roydd85 Roydd85 is offline
Real Name: Roy
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So, I guess that means I can't get online wirelessly? I am not too attached to OpenBSD yet so maybe free or net have the driver I need.
Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2014
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,674
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Not with this OS and that device, today. A very cursory inspection of -current code leads me to believe not with the next release (5.5) either.

You have other choices, including USB attached devices, that may be very inexpensive. Start your search with this command:

$ apropos wireless

I happen to have a urtwn(4) device which I am about to deploy with a server that cannot be easily reached with wired Ethernet. I acquired it from on online retailer for US$5.
Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2014
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,879
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Not to sidetrack discussion, but the supplied dmesg(8) also shows an nVidia graphics card. Be aware that it is a known issue that you may or may not be able to accept all video modes with cards made by this vendor.

nVidia has historically been reticient about making the specifications to their hardware available to the public. Thus, it is difficult for the Open Source projects to develop compatible drivers. nv(4) may work for you, however, you may not get great performance.

The OpenBSD project adheres to a philosophy of including code in the base installations which can be audited. There are closed source nVidia drivers available with other Unix-like operating systems which require developers to sign non-disclosure (NDA) agreements, but this does not allow project developers to see the code, only accept unknown compiled drivers (known as "blobs"...).
Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2014
shep shep is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 589
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
shep, I think that if it were a firmware issue the device would be in the NIC list, and it is not.
Jggimi, I was a little confused by the original post as Roydd85 had listed some wireless parameters in hostname.re0. If this wireless card is ported to OpenBSD it will need Non-Free firmware.
Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2014
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,674
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shep View Post
If this wireless card is ported to OpenBSD it will need Non-Free firmware.
Granted. But a driver has neither been ported nor developed. The device is listed in sys/dev/pci/pcidevs for hardware recognition, but as far as I can tell there is no PCI driver for it. Other RTL8188* devices, which are USB-attached, are driven by urtwn(4). Those require external firmware as you noted, installed through fw_update(1). This is automated during installation through rc.firsttime(8) but if the device is the only NIC, the automated firmware installation will not succeed.
Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2014
IdOp's Avatar
IdOp IdOp is offline
Too dumb for a smartphone
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: twisting on the daemon's fork(2)
Posts: 562
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

My laptop has the same Realtek PCI 8188CE wireless device. I suspect that one difficulty in developing a driver for it, is that since it's PCI, getting a sample to work with would probably require a purchase or donation of a laptop, which is going to be more costly (and so less probable) than for an inexpensive stand-alone USB device. Does this sound reasonable?
Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2014
Roydd85 Roydd85 is offline
Real Name: Roy
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Does anyone know if the other BSDs support this driver? As I said, I am too new too BSD to have a preference and will use NetBSD, FreeBSD, or DragonflyBSD if they would run properly. I googled this
"list of BSD distros supporting 'Realtek RTL8192SE' drivers" and various rewordings of that, but I could not find any relevant info that I actually understood. I suppose I could, if it was the last resort, buy a USB WIFI card, but I would rather not. I dont want to run BSD on anything but my laptop because I have no real point in running it on my desktop and I just want to experiment and learn rather then repartition my desktop HDD. I hope this all makes sense because I havechronic insomnia for a few years now, very bad and have not slept in 2 days. My mind cannot focus so if I misspelled or did not convey my thought well enough I apoligize in advance. I feel like that desktop sentence was redundent but I cannot think to reword. Sorry.
Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2014
IdOp's Avatar
IdOp IdOp is offline
Too dumb for a smartphone
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: twisting on the daemon's fork(2)
Posts: 562
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roydd85 View Post
Does anyone know if the other BSDs support this driver?
As far as I know, NetBSD does not support it.

Quote:
I suppose I could, if it was the last resort, buy a USB WIFI card, but I would rather not.
It might be an option if you want to use WiFi, although you said the laptop was largely for learning BSD. You can learn a lot about BSD without the WiFi, and if you can use the ethernet connection, the laptop will be online which can be convenient. But buying a USB WiFi device may not be the end of the world, I've seen them advertised for under $10, possibly refurbished. You need to make every effort to be sure it's supported, and that the support actually works. It would also be good to have the option to return it if it doesn't work with BSD, although for a < $10 device that may not be crucial if you have other use for it.
Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2014
ibara's Avatar
ibara ibara is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 113
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sadly, no BSD supports it yet. All the projects have their man pages online and you can also run apropos(1) for Realtek to double check that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IdOp View Post
But buying a USB WiFi device may not be the end of the world, I've seen them advertised for under $10, possibly refurbished. You need to make every effort to be sure it's supported, and that the support actually works. It would also be good to have the option to return it if it doesn't work with BSD, although for a < $10 device that may not be crucial if you have other use for it.
You can purchase them new for under $5.
This adapter http://www.ebay.com/itm/230973235744
was the adapter I was using (and still use) in my SGI O2 when I made this commit:
http://marc.info/?l=openbsd-cvs&m=137703728905279&w=2
so I can tell you they work and they work well. I've recommended them to people who want cheap wifi and don't mind the firmware downloads (I know people who do mind, and I can understand that, but that's a separate issue). It's a urtwn(4).
__________________
@bcallah on app.net
Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2014
IdOp's Avatar
IdOp IdOp is offline
Too dumb for a smartphone
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: twisting on the daemon's fork(2)
Posts: 562
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

That sounds like an excellent value, ibara.

I'm going to make a fearless prediction that if a BSD Realtek 8188CE driver is developed it will be called rtwn(4).
Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2014
Roydd85 Roydd85 is offline
Real Name: Roy
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ibarra, thanks for that link. I will order it as soon as possible. As far as downloading the firmware, you make it sound like it is a hassle. Is this the case?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can DHCP but after that...nada on the net raindog308 OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 9 4th October 2011 06:44 PM
isc dhcp server queshaw OpenBSD Packages and Ports 1 8th February 2011 11:09 AM
W2K DHCP Issue DrJ Other OS 4 25th May 2009 07:19 PM
obtain 2 ips via dhcp dextro FreeBSD General 2 6th February 2009 04:56 AM
kde .desktop file link doesn't act like a link when opening files caesius FreeBSD Ports and Packages 3 14th October 2008 07:35 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick