DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th March 2014
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,889
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Third party firmware installation is normally automatic and happens at install and at upgrade. For new hardware installed onto an existing system, you install firmware after adding the device, using fw_update(1). That program will either obtain the firmware from an Internet connection or from a path to the firmware package you supply.

If you have an Internet connection via your wired Ethernet... you would insert the device into a USB slot, note the additional kernel messages on your console upon insertion, and then issue:

# fw_update

If you do not have a network connection, you must download the firmware from another machine, transfer it to the system, and then install it manually with pkg_add(1). Firmware is located at: http://firmware.openbsd.org/firmware/. In OpenBSD 5.5, fw_update will have a -p path option to install a firmware package obtained manually.

Last edited by jggimi; 16th March 2014 at 12:26 PM. Reason: Error in recommendation, corrected for 5.4.
Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2014
Roydd85 Roydd85 is offline
Real Name: Roy
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

SO, no hassle at all then. Good. I just placed the order. Thanks
Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2014
ibara's Avatar
ibara ibara is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 172
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roydd85 View Post
SO, no hassle at all then. Good. I just placed the order. Thanks
Not a hassle, but some people refuse to use the firmware obtained through fw_update(1) because they're not freely redistributable. I get where those people are coming from.
__________________
@bcallah on app.net
NYC*BUG
Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2014
Roydd85 Roydd85 is offline
Real Name: Roy
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I received my urtwn0 adapter on Friday. This morning I plugged it in while connected via wired(re0) and I issued fw_update. I dont know if it was necessary but I also created a /etc/hostename.urtwn0 file in vi with this content:
dhcp nwid "my networks name" wpakey "*****************"

after I saved and quit I issued the following cmd:
# sh /etc/netstart urtwn0

I received this output:
/etc/hostname.urtwn0[1]: dhcp: not found

I rebooted and it seemed like it connected but I received this message:
Warning: /etc/hostname.urtwn0 is insecure fixing permissions

What the heck does this mean? I am not too sure if I did everything right. I sent a ping request to my router and it is receiving/returning the packets and I pinged Google and it also receive/sends the packets. I am worried about that insecure comment though.

I forgot to mention that I did Google this error message but only one site came up and did not seem to be relevant, but I did not fully comprehend it, I think it was some kind of newsvine or a bug report though.

Last edited by Roydd85; 31st March 2014 at 04:30 PM. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2014
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,934
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roydd85 View Post
I rebooted and it seemed like it connected but I received this message:
Warning: /etc/hostname.urtwn0 is insecure fixing permissions

What the heck does this mean?
If you were able to create a file in /etc, you were most likely doing so either through su(1) or sudo(8) (which is preferred...). The permissions of the file were probably rwxr-xr-x which mirrors the permissions on the directory. However to keep common user accounts from messing with interface configurations inadvertently (or maliciously...), the system upon boot will set the configuration used to rw-r----- & output the message quoted above.

This is expected behavior.

Recognize that if you will be connecting to the same access point, using a hostname.if(5) file is acceptable, but if you will be using multiple access points, you will need modify this file accordingly (& reboot or issue netstart...) or connect manually.
Quote:
I sent a ping request to my router and it is receiving/returning the packets and I pinged Google and it also receive/sends the packets.
If the output of ifconfig(8) shows that an IP address has been assigned to this interface, & ping(8) to a domain name succeeds, you have reasonable assurance that DHCP & DNS has been configured correctly.
Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2014
Roydd85 Roydd85 is offline
Real Name: Roy
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, great, it seems like I am good to go then I guess. Now I can start my real learning experience I hope it is just as nerve racking, confusing, and as painfully annoying as trying to get online, because this seems to be the only way I actually push myself into learning new things. I will most likely be posting quite a few comments showing how much I don't understand. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2014
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,934
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roydd85 View Post
I hope it is just as nerve racking, confusing, and as painfully annoying...
Studying the project's FAQ & current & thorough books such as Lucas' Absolute OpenBSD & Hansteen's The Book of PF are great places to begin. Studying these sources can also minimize the frustration & aggravation all newbies face when learning Unix & OpenBSD.

Be very wary of anything found on the Internet, as much information out there is either incomplete, out-of-date, or simply wrong.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can DHCP but after that...nada on the net raindog308 OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 9 4th October 2011 06:44 PM
isc dhcp server queshaw OpenBSD Packages and Ports 1 8th February 2011 11:09 AM
W2K DHCP Issue DrJ Other OS 4 25th May 2009 07:19 PM
obtain 2 ips via dhcp dextro FreeBSD General 2 6th February 2009 04:56 AM
kde .desktop file link doesn't act like a link when opening files caesius FreeBSD Ports and Packages 3 14th October 2008 07:35 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick