DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th July 2008
DarkEnergy DarkEnergy is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Firefox3 & Java

I wanted to test the new FF3. When I run an Applet, I get this Error:

Could not read ack from child process
Plugin: Java VM process has died.
Could not start JavaVM!

VM did not start up properly
Could not read ack from child process
Plugin: Java VM process has died.
Could not start JavaVM!

VM did not start up properly

Bei FF2 isn't workinf too.
But Konqueror is working fine.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th July 2008
ninjatux's Avatar
ninjatux ninjatux is offline
Real Name: Baqir Majlisi
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Antarctica
Posts: 293
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Interesting, I was having issues with Java applets earlier this week because I had IPV6 support enabled, and that doesn't work very well on AMD64. Are you sure there isn't a mismatch of JAVA_HOME and plugins?
__________________
"UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity."
MacBook Pro (Darwin 9), iMac (Darwin 9), iPod Touch (Darwin 9), Dell Optiplex GX620 (FreeBSD 7.1-STABLE)
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th July 2008
DarkEnergy DarkEnergy is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

[strato@darkstar /usr/home/strato]$ $PATH
bash: /usr/local/jdk1.6.0/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/games:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/home/strato/bin: No such file or directory
[strato@darkstar /usr/home/strato]$ $JAVA_HOME
[strato@darkstar /usr/home/strato]$

JAVA_HOME is not set
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th July 2008
DarkEnergy DarkEnergy is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have found the solution. By looking in " /usr/local/lib/browser_plugins"
I sow that tje file libjavaplugin_oji.so was linked to the "/usr/local/diablo-jre1.5.0/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so", which wasn't working with Konqueror too. So I linked created a new symlink:
[strato@darkstar /usr/local/lib/browser_plugins]$ ls -l
total 2118
lrwxr-xr-x 1 root wheel 60 Jul 6 01:10 libjavaplugin_oji.so -> /usr/local/jdk1.6.0/jre/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so

and it is working fine
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
applet, firefox, java, javavm

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
firefox3 with mplayer-plugin? Any possibility to make them work together.? daemonFromHeaven FreeBSD Ports and Packages 4 16th September 2008 09:47 AM
Firefox3 + Flash 7 disappearedng FreeBSD General 10 12th September 2008 05:15 PM
java compiler bsdnewbie999 OpenBSD Packages and Ports 8 9th August 2008 12:18 PM
firefox3 will not compile map7 FreeBSD Ports and Packages 8 14th July 2008 11:23 PM
Java JDK Oko OpenBSD Packages and Ports 10 13th July 2008 07:39 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick