DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th June 2008
gaeilgeboy gaeilgeboy is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Hostname problem, and others

Ok, I have one of many of the typical problems that you find with people new to FreeBSD. I keep getting this error message when i load up:

Code:
Could not look up internet adderss for setanta. 
This will prevent Xfce from operating correctly. 
It may be possible to correct the by adding 
setanta to the file /etc/hosts on your system.


Where setanta is the hostname. I entered "hostname setanta" and the command line. Here's the relevant excerpts from the /etc files:

In /etc/hosts
Code:
::1 localhost 
127.0.0.1 localhost 
192.168.2.121 localhost.localdomain localhost setanta.

And in /etc/rc.conf
Code:
defaultrouter="192.168.2.254" 
hostname="setanta" 
ifconfig_fxp0="inet 192.168.2.121 netmask 225.225.225.0"

I'm not too sure whether the above IP addresses are correct, or even how to find the correct ones, so any help would be greatly appeciated!

Also, is there and command to list the hardware? I used dmesg, but I can't find much stuff on it. Particularly, I'm looking to see what kind of sound card is in the laptop, if any.

Finally, I keep getting the error message "write failed, filesystem is full", even though I've deleted a lot of stuff from my laptop. There's only two users on it, root and "cathal". How do you change the disk space given to each user?

Thanks,
Cathal
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th June 2008
18Googol2's Avatar
18Googol2 18Googol2 is offline
Real Name: whoami
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: pwd
Posts: 283
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaeilgeboy View Post
Code:
Could not look up internet adderss for setanta. 
This will prevent Xfce from operating correctly. 
It may be possible to correct the by adding 
setanta to the file /etc/hosts on your system.
Yes its possible to append the host name in the hosts file, but it isnt an elegant solution.

In a nutshell, it is unqualified domain name issue, a quick way to fix is to put a similar entry in the /etc/rc.conf file:

hostname="machine.localnet"

Check my posts in the following thread as reference:

http://daemonforums.org/showthread.php?t=1074

Quote:
Also, is there and command to list the hardware? I used dmesg, but I can't find much stuff on it. Particularly, I'm looking to see what kind of sound card is in the laptop, if any.
Hardware info can be checked with dmesg, there are a few more:

pciconf -lv (look for class audio)
sysctl -a | grep %desc
devinfo

Quote:
Finally, I keep getting the error message "write failed, filesystem is full", even though I've deleted a lot of stuff from my laptop. There's only two users on it, root and "cathal". How do you change the disk space given to each user?
Afaik, if the disk quota service doesnt not run, it isnt possible, any user can max out his disk usage.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th July 2008
gaeilgeboy gaeilgeboy is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok,

I tried adding in the line ' hostname="machine.localnet" ' in /etc/rc.conf, but I still get the same message.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 7th July 2008
jgroch jgroch is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hosts file

I'm also a new user, and xfce was giving me the same error until I edited the hosts file today. It used to say:

Code:
::1			localhost localhost.my.domain
127.0.0.1		localhost localhost.my.domain
Today I added the part that showed up in the error message ("Could not look up internet address for Plato.Realm.bsd. This...."):

Code:
::1			localhost localhost.my.domain Plato.Realm.bsd
127.0.0.1		localhost localhost.my.domain Plato.Realm.bsd
I think that is in agreement with the handbook 11.10.2.2 etc/hosts.

All I know is the error message doesn't appear anymore, and I haven't had any problems. Though I wouldn't mind hearing from someone else what xfce is trying to do with it, and if that's a proper solution.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
disk space, hostname

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot problem. Geometry problem? gulanito FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 0 3rd July 2009 03:03 AM
Hostname / web hosting issues vitiate FreeBSD General 4 20th May 2008 02:23 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick