DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th July 2008
ebzzry ebzzry is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 37
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Unable to hear any sound

I'm curious as to why can't I hear any sound coming from my speaker, even after doing the SOP for configuring the sound devices. The following text is my configuration:

Code:
$ cat /boot/loader.conf | grep snd_
snd_ich_load="YES"

$ kldstat | grep snd_
 3    1 0xc0d30000 6f88     snd_ich.ko

$ kldstat | grep sound
 4    2 0xc0d37000 4a5ac    sound.ko

$ cat /var/run/dmesg.boot | grep pcm
pcm0: <Intel ICH6 (82801FB)> port 0x5000-0x50ff,0x48c0-0x48ff mem 0xb0040800-0xb00409ff,0xb0040400-0xb00404ff irq 20 at device 30.2 on pci0
pcm0: [ITHREAD]
pcm0: <Avance Logic ALC250 AC97 Codec>

$ mixer
Mixer vol      is currently set to  75:75
Mixer pcm      is currently set to  75:75
Mixer speaker  is currently set to  75:75
Mixer line     is currently set to  75:75
Mixer mic      is currently set to   0:0
Mixer cd       is currently set to  75:75
Mixer rec      is currently set to   0:0
Mixer igain    is currently set to   0:0
Mixer ogain    is currently set to  50:50
Mixer line1    is currently set to  75:75
Mixer phin     is currently set to   0:0
Mixer phout    is currently set to   0:0
Recording source: mic
I've tried xmms, audacious, mpg123, and bmp but I still can't hear any sound from my speaker. What could be wrong? What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th July 2008
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,068
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

Looks fine to me...

Make sure that the speakers are properly connected and in working order ...

This is an on-board soundcard, yes? What is your mainboard brand/model number?
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th July 2008
robbak's Avatar
robbak robbak is offline
Real Name: Robert Backhaus
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Queensland, Australia
Posts: 366
Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Try all the audio sockets on the motherboard. Bugs can lead to audio being routed to the wrong socket. (line out appearing on the microphone socket is not unusual!) These bugs are often in the hardware and firmware (ie out of out control) as much as in the software.
__________________
The only dumb question is a question not asked.
The only dumb answer is an answer not given.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th July 2008
ebzzry ebzzry is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 37
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, this is an on board chip. The motherboard is Arima W330UCX.

It's a dual-boot laptop. It has Windows XP on the other slice and sound works fine in it.

Last edited by ebzzry; 11th July 2008 at 06:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th July 2008
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,068
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

Did you try setting all the mixer values too 100? Not sure what they all do, but I guess it can't hurt...

And what does % cat /dev/sndstat say?
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th July 2008
ebzzry ebzzry is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 37
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

$ cat /dev/sndstat
FreeBSD Audio Driver (newpcm: 32bit 2007061600/i386)
Installed devices:
pcm0: <Intel ICH6 (82801FB)> at io 0xb0040800, 0xb0040400 irq 20 bufsz 16384 kld snd_ich [MPSAFE] (1p:1v/1r:1v channels duplex default)

$ mixer
Mixer vol is currently set to 100:100
Mixer pcm is currently set to 100:100
Mixer speaker is currently set to 100:100
Mixer line is currently set to 100:100
Mixer mic is currently set to 100:100
Mixer cd is currently set to 100:100
Mixer rec is currently set to 100:100
Mixer igain is currently set to 100:100
Mixer ogain is currently set to 100:100
Mixer line1 is currently set to 100:100
Mixer phin is currently set to 100:100
Mixer phout is currently set to 100:100
Recording source: mic

Still no sound. :-(
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th July 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

check if you haven't disabled sound on your laptop with external buttons (shit happens)
Open audacious, and check audio output driver...
If you play mp3 to check sound, check that you have mp3 plugins (i had problems with that once)



Also have you tried to compile drivers in kernel? (shouldn't make difference, but what if....)

Last edited by graudeejs; 11th July 2008 at 08:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th July 2008
ebzzry ebzzry is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 37
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by killasmurf View Post
check if you haven't disabled sound on your laptop with external buttons (shit happens)
Open audacious, and check audio output driver...
If you play mp3 to check sound, check that you have mp3 plugins (i had problems with that once)

1. Yup. Done that.
2. Audacious -> Audacious Preferences -> Audio -> Audio System

Current Output Plugin: OSS Output Plugin

Output Plugin Preferences -> OSS Driver Configuration -> Devices

Audio device: none
Mixer device: none
3. Yup. Done that.
3. Yup.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th July 2008
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,068
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

Hmm, very strange, it should just work™.

Just curious, what driver is Windows using?
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2008
ebzzry ebzzry is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 37
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I can't remember the driver that Windows is using and I can't boot to Windows now.
Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2008
LateNiteTV LateNiteTV is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ive had this problem when using windowmaker. when i would use kde, it would work, but when i ultimately switched over to wmaker, it would not. i had to start the sound server manually (arts). i simply typed in artsd in a term window and voila!! sound.
Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2008
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Thanked 112 Times in 104 Posts
Default

you can add that to ~/GNUstep/Library/WindowMaker/autostart to have it run when you launch wmaker.


autostart is a shell script, there is also an 'exitscript' in the same directory serving the purpose it's name would suggest.
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2008
ebzzry ebzzry is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 37
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There *IS* actually sound, but it's too weak. I didn't notice it at first when using the built-in speaker of the laptop. But I tried plugging in a headset and I was able to hear audio coming out of the headset speakers.

Yes, the mixer settings are at max. What is causing this problem? Is there anyway to crank up the volume?

Last edited by ebzzry; 15th July 2008 at 04:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2008
LateNiteTV LateNiteTV is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

can you post your /boot/device.hints file?
Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2008
ebzzry ebzzry is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 37
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah. Here it is:

Code:
# $FreeBSD: src/sys/i386/conf/GENERIC.hints,v 1.16 2006/05/17 21:25:22 marius Exp $
hint.fdc.0.at="isa"
hint.fdc.0.port="0x3F0"
hint.fdc.0.irq="6"
hint.fdc.0.drq="2"
hint.fd.0.at="fdc0"
hint.fd.0.drive="0"
hint.fd.1.at="fdc0"
hint.fd.1.drive="1"
hint.ata.0.at="isa"
hint.ata.0.port="0x1F0"
hint.ata.0.irq="14"
hint.ata.1.at="isa"
hint.ata.1.port="0x170"
hint.ata.1.irq="15"
hint.adv.0.at="isa"
hint.adv.0.disabled="1"
hint.bt.0.at="isa"
hint.bt.0.disabled="1"
hint.aha.0.at="isa"
hint.aha.0.disabled="1"
hint.aic.0.at="isa"
hint.aic.0.disabled="1"
hint.atkbdc.0.at="isa"
hint.atkbdc.0.port="0x060"
hint.atkbd.0.at="atkbdc"
hint.atkbd.0.irq="1"
hint.psm.0.at="atkbdc"
hint.psm.0.irq="12"
hint.vga.0.at="isa"
hint.sc.0.at="isa"
hint.sc.0.flags="0x100"
hint.vt.0.at="isa"
hint.vt.0.disabled="1"
hint.apm.0.disabled="1"
hint.apm.0.flags="0x20"
hint.sio.0.at="isa"
hint.sio.0.port="0x3F8"
hint.sio.0.flags="0x10"
hint.sio.0.irq="4"
hint.sio.1.at="isa"
hint.sio.1.port="0x2F8"
hint.sio.1.irq="3"
hint.sio.2.at="isa"
hint.sio.2.disabled="1"
hint.sio.2.port="0x3E8"
hint.sio.2.irq="5"
hint.sio.3.at="isa"
hint.sio.3.disabled="1"
hint.sio.3.port="0x2E8"
hint.sio.3.irq="9"
hint.ppc.0.at="isa"
hint.ppc.0.irq="7"
hint.ed.0.at="isa"
hint.ed.0.disabled="1"
hint.ed.0.port="0x280"
hint.ed.0.irq="10"
hint.ed.0.maddr="0xd8000"
hint.cs.0.at="isa"
hint.cs.0.disabled="1"
hint.cs.0.port="0x300"
hint.sn.0.at="isa"
hint.sn.0.disabled="1"
hint.sn.0.port="0x300"
hint.sn.0.irq="10"
hint.ie.0.at="isa"
hint.ie.0.disabled="1"
hint.ie.0.port="0x300"
hint.ie.0.irq="10"
hint.ie.0.maddr="0xd0000"
hint.fe.0.at="isa"
hint.fe.0.disabled="1"
hint.fe.0.port="0x300"
hint.le.0.at="isa"
hint.le.0.disabled="1"
hint.le.0.port="0x280"
hint.le.0.irq="10"
Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2008
LateNiteTV LateNiteTV is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

try doing

Code:
kldunload module
then load the driver "snd_driver" and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2008
t4y4n t4y4n is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi
CHECK UR SOUND OUTPUT BEFORE RUNNING X
CHECK WITH a PROGRAM LIKE AS MPG123
if ur window maker is not friend of ur snd :d
Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2008
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Thanked 112 Times in 104 Posts
Default

oy vey......
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2008
LateNiteTV LateNiteTV is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol indeed.
Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2008
ebzzry ebzzry is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 37
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LateNiteTV View Post
try doing

Code:
kldunload module
then load the driver "snd_driver" and see what happens.
I did that. But I still have that weak sound. :-(
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording sound with external sound card backrow OpenBSD General 5 21st August 2009 08:17 PM
unable to log in delboy FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 5 31st August 2008 11:39 AM
Unable to login squirrelmail satimis Other BSD and UNIX/UNIX-like 3 28th May 2008 04:21 PM
New Accounts Unable to Authenticate cmdba FreeBSD General 4 26th May 2008 01:48 AM
unable to read messages ocicat Feedback and Suggestions 1 3rd May 2008 08:01 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick