DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th May 2008
New User

Default FTPD User Access Denied

I'm sorry if this is in the wrong section, I guess it could also be applicable in Installation but thats for the community to decide.

First, I would like to say Hi!
Second, I'm sorry if I come off as rude in my first ever post..it has been a long day.
Third, please believe me when I say I've searched, read, and tried until both my fingers and eyes have bled.

I'm in the proccess of setting up an FTP so I have a dump for all the computers in the house(most are laptops). I know there are other ways to backup files but this would be best for my situation. I'm a noob to anything *nix and I know I could have had this setup many hours ago if I had installed Winblows but alas, I am hard headed and have an uncontrollable urge to learn something new. Here is my problem:

Code:
[R] Connecting to 192.168.1.67 -> IP=192.168.1.67 PORT=21
[R] Connected to 192.168.1.67
[R] 220- WHY HALLOW THAR! BUTTSECHES?
[R] 220  FTP server (Version 6.00LS) ready.
[R] USER ftpadmin
[R] 530 User ftpadmin access denied.
[R] Connection failed
*Yes, a rather odd welcome message but I needed to make sure I was actually connecting*

Oddly enough, root, my own user account(sysinstall), and the anon ftp account(created from sysinstall), all seem to work. ftpadmin is one I made using adduser and it just doesn't seem to like me. I've read man pages upon man pages on creating users, creating groups, configuring ftpd, and what ever else was somehow slightly related according to Google. I've looked through old newsgroups also.

I'm really at my wits end here. If anyone has a suggestion, I will gladly accept it.

Thanks very much for your help!

PS: