DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 23rd November 2013
New User

Default Tmux basic fcns not working; Dell Inspiron, OpenBSD 5.4

System Information: OpenBSD 5.4 Generic#37 amd64, Dell Inspiron 11z, env TERM=vt220

Need help: I can start tmux but basic functionality isn't working, like Ctrl-b d. A point in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

After performing a new install (I am new to OpenBSD), I tried the tmux tutorial from the OpenBSD faq:

http://www.openbsd.org/faq/faq7.html#tmux

Start tmux, start top, then Ctrl-b d results in top displaying "Command not understood". I quit top, then try Ctrl-b d, still does not detach tmux. I exit tmux.

Tmux man page says ~/.tmux.conf is default configuration file:

http://www.openbsd.org/cgi-bin/man.c...mat=html#FILES

I do not have this dot file in my home directory. Man page also says /etc/tmux.conf is system-wide configuration file that tmux loads /if present/. This file is not located in /etc directory. I would think a dotfile in my home directory would be created after I start tmux, perhaps pulling in the system defaults, or starting with a bare bones setup. Since it does not, I think I must have selected something incorrectly on the OpenBSD install process.

Web search for tmux.conf points to archlinux forum user asking, "Where's my tmux.conf?"

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic....817246#p817246

It mentions another directory that might contain tmux.conf, /usr/share/tmux, but I have no such tmux directory. A "whereis tmux" shows only /usr/bin tmux.

A response in the archlinux forum above indicates that in the example directory there is no tmux.conf file:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic....816732#p816732