DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > NetBSD > NetBSD Package System (pkgsrc)

NetBSD Package System (pkgsrc) Installation and upgrading of packages on NetBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd December 2014
philo_neo71 philo_neo71 is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
Default how to install gnome 3

hi,
i have installed netbsd 6.1.5 on quad cores q6600, the system run, also i hvae installed pkgin command,
Code:
dct-ulyss# pkgin install gnome
gnome is not available on the repository
calculating dependencies... done.
nothing to do.
dct-ulyss#
i'm not sure that the path of
Quote:
export PKG_PATH=”http://ftp.fr.netbsd.org/pub/pkgsrc/packages/NetBSD/i386/6.1.4/All/"
are the good prametre !
So the distribution 6.1.5 run with 6.1.4 packages ?

Regards
Philippe
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd December 2014
pawaan pawaan is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 82
Default

To my understanding , 6.1.5 binary packages are built on latest stable pkgsrc , which is 6.0_2014Q3

http://pkgsrc.org/
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd December 2014
pawaan pawaan is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 82
Default

gnome is more complete here :
http://ftp.netbsd.org/pub/pkgsrc/pac..._2014Q3/gnome/

so you may change your PKG_PATH

-----
EDIT :

Having just installed NetBSD i386 then gnome-desktop and -session resulted in a 'lame' but still usable barebone desktop.

Last edited by pawaan; 3rd December 2014 at 08:06 PM. Reason: details after gnome* installs
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd December 2014
philo_neo71 philo_neo71 is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
Default

hi,
i do the export path of , but there no changes !
-pkgin doesn't resolv
-pkg_add doesn't resolv

what can i do

Regards
Philippe
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd December 2014
aicardi aicardi is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 7
Default

After exporting PKG_PATH did you update?
Code:
# pkgin update
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd December 2014
philo_neo71 philo_neo71 is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
Default

hi,
i do
Quote:
"pkgin update"
and also edit /usr/pkg/etc/pkgin/repositories.conf and add the path !

i don't anderstand

Regards
philippe
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 4th December 2014
aicardi aicardi is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 7
Default

Perhaps a different mirror?
Code:
http://ftp.netbsd.org/pub/pkgsrc/packages/NetBSD/i386/6.0_2014Q3/All/
I am curious. Did you install 32bit i386 on your quad core or amd64?
If you installed amd64 you might try.
Code:
http://ftp.netbsd.org/pub/pkgsrc/packages/NetBSD/amd64/6.0_2014Q3/All/
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 4th December 2014
pawaan pawaan is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 82
Default

Hi Philipe and sorry for my being stupidly off-topic as you were asking for gnome3 then I suggest you opt for another BSD variant* ... otherwise you may choose kde on NetBSD which works fine

*OpenBSD for instance offers a more straightforward and easy install
http://undeadly.org/cgi?action=artic...20140219085851
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th December 2014
philo_neo71 philo_neo71 is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
Default

hi,
I try to install KDE !
but when i do the command "startkde" i have this error message :
Code:
dct-viper# startkde
xsetroot:  unable to open display ''
xset:  unable to open display ""
xsetroot:  unable to open display ''
startkde: Starting up...
startkde: Running kpersonalizer...
kwin: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
^Xkpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server 
^C
dct-viper# 
dct-viper#
also, I used another account that root's user !

Regards
Philippe
Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2014
fn8t's Avatar
fn8t fn8t is offline
Real Name: Ego
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Tao
Posts: 120
Default

maybe this?

# cp /usr/pkg/share/examples/rc.d/dbus /etc/rc.d
# cp /usr/pkg/share/examples/rc.d/hal /etc/rc.d
# echo dbus=YES >> /etc/rc.conf
# echo hal=YES >> /etc/rc.conf
# /etc/rc.d/dbus start
# /etc/rc.d/hal start

then

# startkde

I don't know what you've set up so far?

#evilwm -t mrxvt -bw 4 might be a more interesting option. But, I'm just a snob.
Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2014
tuotila tuotila is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Default

I don't use kde, but it looks to me like startkde is supposed to go into your .xinitrc, to be started with startx command.

(Also, xfce4 is another alternative for desktop such as gnome. I seem to recall that startxfce4 does work from commandline, though I could be wrong.)
Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2015
batence's Avatar
batence batence is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 8
Default

I can't do Gnome and Kde too, I used before Xfce4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to install gnome philo_neo71 NetBSD Installation and Upgrading 4 18th October 2014 11:02 PM
gnome install on freebsd 9 barti FreeBSD Ports and Packages 0 3rd September 2012 05:24 PM
How - To install GNOME vile I install OpenBSD ? looop OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 6 24th April 2010 08:58 PM
New User - Ports Install and GNOME Pkg problems IronForge OpenBSD Packages and Ports 9 14th July 2009 08:34 PM
Full install of Gnome on OpenBSD 4.4 mfaridi OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 17 9th November 2008 01:54 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick