DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Off-Topic Everything else.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
jb_daefo jb_daefo is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 288
Default any DNS experts?

I've a weebly.com website of many characters
http://candy....com/
if it were http://candyS...com/ it would be illegal, too many characters.

When I revise it on weebly and publishes it, it publishes to
www.
Someone working on this problem at weebly.com reported it working.
I got an 'untitled' and a blank page.
so I republished [ the weebly.com editor >> republish ] it, and it
again networks timeout
Attempting to load http://www. which of course is too many characters.

It has an A record of * and another of @ but a www. is disallowed in the
add A record dialogue.

................
If all that makes any sense to someone not a newbie such as I as the
problem, maybe a solution could be posted here or I should just
wait out a solution appearing or not...
................
Not very important anyway. Which is why I'm posting here and not
for now paying for a resolution.
..................
__________________
FreeBSD 12.0-CURRENT
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 5,934
Default

I am not an expert. However, I can use Google and search for the "maximum length of a Fully Qualified Domain Name". The top post referred me to RFC 1035 and stated 253 bytes, with 63 bytes for the first domain label (to the left of the first "." in the FQDN).

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...t-name-in-unix
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,503
Default

Posting a DNS problem without revealing the exact name makes it very difficult, or impossible to diagnose or to solve ;-)
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
GarryR's Avatar
GarryR GarryR is offline
Real Name: Garry Ricketson
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Durango, Mx.
Posts: 189
Default

I am not a expert either, and even less so when it comes to "web site builder" apps,
all though I experimented with some several years ago, none seemed to be able to do
what I wanted , so gave up on them.
There are not really enough details, as mentioned, to be able to say much.
This strikes me as really odd, maybe it is some limitation or restriction the site builder and
it's editor ?
Quote:
Attempting to load http://www. which of course is too many characters.

It has an A record of * and another of @ but a www. is disallowed in the
add A record dialogue.
My DNS nameserver does allow :
Code:
 Url Redirect Record @ http://www.my-longdomain-name.org
In the A record it uses:
Code:
 A record @ IP
and also
Code:
A record  WWW  IP-NUMBER

Quote:
Which is why I'm posting here and not
for now paying for a resolution.
This strikes me as odd as well, the name server I use, does not charge extra, for support and help, and the first time I set things up I did need to ask them about how to correctly set up the records. From what I see "weebly" is supposed to be for free, that may sound good, but then again, "Free Hosting" services are never as Free as they would like you believe, maybe that is what is going on, they do not allow you to make the edits you need to, and you must pay, in order for them to do it. Are they also the name server, ? The name server is who you need to contact, I think.
When I set up/purchased the domain name, they do have it where if the domain name is to long,I could not even use it to start with. The GUI told me it was to long, so I needed to adjust, like wise it told me if the domain name was all ready being used, so I had to decide on a different domain name.
This Weebly, site builder should never have allowed you to use a domain name that
would be to long. If you are just starting the site, and domain, I would start over and choose a shorter domain name, one that you can use.
On mine, the A record points to the IP , both the @ and the www. Then the
"url redirect record" uses the @ and the entire url. At the bottom , in red :
+add a record, when it is selected, it is not just a records, it has a selection of various
types of records, including "url redirect". Off to the right, also in red, is where I can look at
the FAQs, but also that is where they have to contact option, if none of the FAQs cover what I needed. Of course this may be different, depending on what kind of panel your name server is using.
Here is a image, also might help give the OP some idea about what details are needed.
========================== edited ===============
This might me better, for "weebly", :
https://hc.weebly.com/hc/en-us/artic...ge-DNS-Records
It all depends on who your name server is, most of them have clear instructions
Search key words:
Code:
 How to setup the DNS A record so that it uses www on weebly
If you replace "weebly" with the name of your name server, it should get results for
that name server.
IE : https://wiki.gandi.net/en/dns/zone/a-record
Attached Images
File Type: png a-record.png (54.2 KB, 5 views)
__________________
My best friends are parrots

Last edited by GarryR; 1 Week Ago at 03:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
jb_daefo jb_daefo is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 288
Default

It gets stranger. "http://[redacted].com" which is [ maybe ] unreachable if www. due to too many characters, has @ * but not www. A records and maybe needs a WWW cname record, or a redirect, or something, and is only a beta page, under a weebly.com account, but registered elsewhere, not only times out, but now if I type it in in one of the two ways www. or //candy, the browser loads the browser home page instead, and the other way, times out. Others report it loads as normal. PF problem here?? DNS at dyndns
or similar necc? Other arcane fix? [ I should scrap any webpage for now? ]
..............
[ not important, just if anyone knows already... or a quick fix... ]
__________________
FreeBSD 12.0-CURRENT

Last edited by jb_daefo; 1 Week Ago at 11:27 PM. Reason: question(s) were answered though unsolved at my end.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
GarryR's Avatar
GarryR GarryR is offline
Real Name: Garry Ricketson
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Durango, Mx.
Posts: 189
Default

Either way, with the www or without it , I don't have any problem connecting.
So I don't see what needs to be fixed.
I would suggest though , that you do something with the "contact us" form,
as it is anything and anyone can submit , and it apparently send to your e-mail,
or some e-mail,... you are going to start getting 100s of spambots submitting
all sorts of stuff, like it is.

Quote:
[ I should scrap any webpage for now? ]
That is entirely up to you, but it generally better to learn a little about web page design, and
configuring a site,before you try to start one. If you are using a "hosting" service, you don't need to learn much about the server side of it, but you do need to learn how to use the panel they offer, and how their system works.
It is best to build your site off line, using "local host", on your PC, after you have it built, and looking/working the way you want it, you upload the site to the hosting, and put it online. Personally, as I mentioned earlier, I learned to avoid these instant "site builders", they seemed to only complicate things and never allowed me to create the design exactly like I wanted it.

Your lack of details makes it impossible to really help, for example:
Quote:
the browser loads the browser home page instead
What browser, ? There are many types of browsers, for example using Seamonkey I am able to connect to your site just fine, using the url you posted, with out the www, and with it.
__________________
My best friends are parrots
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Security of Java takes a dangerous turn for the worse, experts say J65nko News 0 12th September 2013 06:55 PM
Experts: We're stuck with passwords – and maybe they're best J65nko News 1 17th January 2012 03:08 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick