DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Security

OpenBSD Security Functionally paranoid!

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd August 2010
New User

Default Can anybody recommend a book for learning how to work with OpenBSD firewalls?

I have no experience with OpenBSD firewalls and am now in a position where I'll need to be supporting them. If anybody can point me to a good book (or website) that will teach me from a very basic level I would appreciate it.

Thanks!
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd August 2010
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by jepettrey View Post
If anybody can point me to a good book (or website) that will teach me from a very basic level I would appreciate it.
Your best bet is to start with Hansteen's manuscript:

http://home.nuug.no/~peter/pf/

This is also the basis of his book, The Book of PF which contains some information not found in the online manuscript. The second edition of The Book of PF is to be released in September, but given the number of changes which have been made to pf(4) since the first edition was released, the first edition is now only marginally recommended.

If you are not familiar with the PF User's Guide, this is a must-read document as it covers all current features to pf(4).

Being new to OpenBSD, we highly recommend you familiarize yourself with the information found in the offical FAQ:

http://www.openbsd.org/faq/index.html

...as this is the definitive source of information on OpenBSD outside of the manpages.
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd August 2010
New User

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocicat View Post
Your best bet is to start with Hansteen's manuscript: