DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Packages and Ports

OpenBSD Packages and Ports Installation and upgrading of packages and ports on OpenBSD.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th October 2010
Noobification

Unhappy OpenBSD Gnome/XFCE tools

Hello all...

(Assume I am a noob, because I am one!)

so... just this morning I've decided to install OpenBSD 4.7 on my oldest box, hopefully some time soon I'll have it up and running as a secure fileserver better than fedora.

so far I've managed to get X running and I've installed 2 desktops, Gnome and XFCE.. but the problem is..

I am missing a ton of (literally.. all those tools for network management I use in Fedora Linux) system administration tools (lol.. I've even had difficulties w/ free -m), and I don't even know the name (or the equivalent package/ports) in OpenBSD..

so.. can anyone please point me to the right direction? help is greatly appreciated, thanks! (I don't really wanna compile from source (too many packages to do!), I like pkg_add better (I use the Alberta, Canada ftp server))
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th October 2010
Banned

The GUI configuration tools for networking and alike are often Linux specific, they are not part OpenBSD, to do what you want you need to become familiar with the included configuration utilities (..not graphical).

The ports maintainers for Gnome, KDE, XFCE do a lot of work to get these projects working on OpenBSD.
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th October 2010
Noobification

Talking

Sorry.. I know that most Linux-based tools won't have a GUI. But I mean... In the gnome menu system, I am missing the entire administration option (not even the link for gnome-terminal(which I have))..

I mean, there's gotta be at least one or two GUI based tools for everyday things like user management and config editors.. (so I don't have to do things like useradd groupadd all the time)