DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Packages and Ports

OpenBSD Packages and Ports Installation and upgrading of packages and ports on OpenBSD.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th July 2018
Port Guard

Default Using the latest version of Firefox?

What would be people's suggestion when it comes to firefox?
I was planning on only installing packages since I'm new to the system, but someone mentioned that browser is one of those exceptions where I should run the more updated version in order to prevent vulnerabilities.

Quote:
The ports tree is tied to OpenBSD's flavors. Do not check out a -current ports tree and expect it to work on a -release or -stable system. If you follow -current, you need both a -current base system and a -current ports tree. Because no intrusive changes are made in -stable, it is possible to use a -stable ports tree on a -release system and vice versa.
My current system is Release + syspatch, as a novice, would you recommend just sticking with the default firefox-59 package or learn how to use ports right away and grab the version available from Stable Ports? (via AnonCVS? since stable ports seems to be only available from this source rather than from mirrors)

#2   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th July 2018
Open Source Software user

I have been, & am happy, running the standard packaged Firefox.
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th July 2018
More noise than signal

At 6.3, Firefox's key risk mitigation on OpenBSD is Write-xor-Execute memory, "W^X". Initial use of OpenBSD's pledge(2) to restrict operations has begun in -current, and will be available with 6.4.

Usually, the -stable version of Firefox is Mozilla's Extended Support Release (ESR). At this writing, that is 60.1.0esr.
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th July 2018
More noise than signal

Adding that Landry Breuil is still creating -stable builds of FF for the community.