DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Packages and Ports

OpenBSD Packages and Ports Installation and upgrading of packages and ports on OpenBSD.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th July 2019
New User

Default valgrind issues/alternatives

Hello everyone. I am new to OpenBSD on bare metal and I've recently done my first install; it went swimmingly. As to be expected, I'm having a few growing pains with transitioning my development projects over to it, but there's one issue that doesn't make sense to me at all.

Background: Anyone familiar with C/C++ development on Linux will have heard of valgrind so I won't bother to go into details about it specifically here. I integrate it into my makefiles at work and at play. Accordingly, I'd like to be able to use this tool on OpenBSD.

The problem is that the version of valgrind that the valgrind package installs flat out does not work. Any attempt to execute it results in an immediate abort trap. Normally I'd do much more digging myself before asking for help, but I'm a long way from home in regards to the tools one would normally use to debug such a thing, and I'm concerned that something else is amok given a distributed binary is failing in such a manner.

I confirmed that pkg doesn't think I'm missing any dependencies for it using pkg_check, and there doesn't seem to be a glibc issue (gcc yields binaries quite happily), so I'm hoping someone else may have an insight. Ideally, I'd like to use valgrind, but if there's a comparable alternative I'm open to that.

Cheers!

Last edited by falconhoof; 14th July 2019 at 08:20 PM. Reason: clarity, typo, grammar
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th July 2019
OpenBSD language porter

Quote:
Originally Posted by falconhoof View Post
The problem is that the version of valgrind that the valgrind package installs flat out does not work.
This is true. And known. Ask on ports@.

Quote: