DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th November 2008
Complete BSD nubcake

Default Best way to check if freebsd server is running a nameserver service/daemon

Hi everyone,

I recently was assigned a project that requires me to fix up a FreeBSD webserver. I'm new to FreeBSD in general.

One of the issues with the webserver is a very broad DNS issue.

The domains that the client owns all point back to the webserver for their nameserver. As far as I can tell, it isn't running one, but I'm not 100% sure on this. To complicate matters worse, the admin that came before me had no clue what he was doing, so even if the server is running a nameserver... it cannot be trusted.

What's the best way for me figure out if the server is in fact running a nameserver daemon? I have root access to the server via SSH.

Thanks for all of your help.
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th November 2008
Arp Constable

Check if the program 'named' is running and listening. I don't know off the top of my head if /etc/rc.d/named supports the status command or not (rc(8)), but finding out if it is running the hardway is still easy.

I'm not familiar with any of the dns/ apps in ports, so I can't say what name they would run under; but I'm sure someone here would point it out.

---
Code:

$ ps xa | grep named
   ... is named running?
$ cat /var/run/named/pid
   ... does the pid file exist?
$ netstat -n -p udp | grep 53
   ... is anything listening on the usual port?
-> Assuming that the standard issue name server was used, you may want to check named.conf first, in case the settings were changed. On FreeBSD I believe this is etc/namedb/named.conf.

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.