DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 600
Default Problems installing [Shelved for now]

So, I have been a bit ill and sometimes doing installs is a nice recreation. I have a yoga2 which spews garbage during installs and I work around it. I have a page on it at http://srobb.net/yoga2.html.

Can't troubleshoot much for a couple of days as all I have is the laptop--If for example, X dies I only have the machine with no X to use.

This has run flawlessly with 6.3. I'm considering reinstalling that or going with 6.4 to see if I have luck.

So with 6.5, several tries. It's fine but X won't work. I do startx get a message giving the various look at logs and so on. It says no console driver found--sorry, using the machine and can't get the exact message but it does mention console drivers. So this is after an install.

With a current snapshot I can't get it installed. It is going fine then says (after it has shown the mirror, and networking is definitely ok, Can't get https should I use http. I tried saying yes to that but no luck. As I have said a ton of garbage is spilling on screen making it hard to catch errors.

So I'm just venting I don't need Brian or jggimi to spend effort on this. Maybe, in a few days when I'm back home, I'll try again--or maybe there will be a new install66 that works


Grumpily yours,


PS I know I've given no real useful info, again, only have the one computer and it's hard to copy it somewhere--among this computer's other faults pasting often fails.

On the bright side it was actually quite good with 6.3 and is good with FreeBSD and Linux.
It's light and the hiRes makes it nice to view media.

Last edited by scottro; 1 Week Ago at 02:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,743
Default

Quote:
I do startx ...
You missed changes to the OS since 6.3. Here is what the Upgrade Guide 6.4 to 6.5 says:
Code:
Xorg(1). The Xorg binary is no longer installed setuid, so 
startx(1) can no longer be used by non-root users. The xenodm(1) 
display manager has to be used instead.

To set it up:

  # rcctl enable xenodm
  # rcctl start xenodm

If you wish to customize X you need to create an executable .xsession 
file.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 600
Default

Heh. Missed that one, but of course, I just scan
Thank you. I realize their reasons, but it is an annoyance

In the interim I tried 6.4 same result, of course. So I'll do a 6.5 now.

Thanks as always
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 600
Default

That went badly. Installed and ran the commands. They required doas which is fine. Renamed my ~/.xinitrc to .xsession. Not sure if that was correct. Anyway it just went to a black screen.
I realize I'm full of meds right now but it does seem that there should be more detailed instructions. For example in install it asep ks do you want to use xenodm to startx with a default of no. Which is fine if there are some seriously step by step instructions.

Ah well if I ever figure it out I'll do it, but still pretty sick Thanks for the help so far though I have to more googling.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 600
Default

Just in case it wasn't absolutely clear, I am very grateful for your help. I will have to fix it when I feel a bit better and maybe write a page for dummies like me.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
PapaParrot's Avatar
PapaParrot PapaParrot is offline
parrot
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Durango, Mx.
Posts: 413
Default

If you try installing again, just say "yes" and use xenodm instead, and it should just work. Hope feel better soon.
__________________
My best friends are parrots
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 600
Default

Thanks for the kind wishes. I have already done the new install but hit no.

From what I see from searching the next steps would be the two xenodm commands with doas

Code:
doas rcctlrcctl enable xenodm
doas rcctl start xenodm

I think on the last install that's when the screen went black.

Anyway assuming it didn't, I have my .xinitrc, which I have renamed to ~/.xsession. It has a few things, e.g EXPORT_GTK_IM="fcitx" (used for Japaneses input) and final line is

exec openbox-session.

So once I run the two rcctl commands, do I just run startx to call my .xsession? Or do I do more?

Thanks and sorry for this imposition. I'm almost tempted to just reinstall one more time and say yes where you said to and see if it fixes it.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 600
Default

http://daemonforums.org/showthread.php?t=10812

Going to try. If it fails I will try again with your advice of choosing yes. My wife claims I say no too often anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 600
Default

Nope went black on the reboot. I really think it because the touchscreen and such generate so much noise, that the window manager just doesn't show. Before this decision, I would actually log into the second virtual console because there was so much noise on the screen.

I have a feeling that I will only be able to use it as a console machine though I can't resist trying as Gary said, see if setting it by default fixes it. With all the junk on screen however, I think I'm just going to get a black screen but many THANKS to both Gary and jggimi
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 600
Default

Nope, same result. Page goes black. This yoga2 spews literally hundreds of garbage lines and my guess is it just blocks off the display manager. Oh well I can still use it without X.

Thanks again to both of you.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
PapaParrot's Avatar
PapaParrot PapaParrot is offline
parrot
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Durango, Mx.
Posts: 413
Default

Quote:
Nope, same result.
Do you mean you tried it , and selected yes to using xenodm ?
=== edited ===

When I was having trouble with this, I found that if I type , as root,
Code:
# xenodm
it started ok, then I got the xenodm login window, logged in as normal user, and every thing was ok, for a while I preferred just have the console when I booted, and did not want to be using xenodm, but later on my most recent installs , I just say yes, to use xenodm, and it just works. If I want a console I use the ctrl+alt+f2 ,etc.
I am not at all any kind of expert though, guess that is why the easiest thing to do was just start remembering to say yes, and use xenodm.
===
Can you post your dmesg out put ? Even though it will be long , it might reveal something. Thanks
__________________
My best friends are parrots

Last edited by PapaParrot; 1 Week Ago at 12:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 600
Default

I will try to get dmesg but right now things are very hectic. What I mean is yes, I did follow your advice and say yes. The laptop spews out messages constantly, having them on the first console. I am positive that that is the problem, the messages have to do mostly with the touchscreen. At this point, when any Linux and FreeBSD work well, I don't know how much time I will spend on it but I wlll try to give dmesg a shot.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,743
Default

Quote:
I will try to get dmesg...
If Alt-Ctrl-F1 fails to bring up the console, then boot into single-user mode with boot> -s.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 600
Default

I am undecided right now. It's partially a bad mood, but basically, the laptop is fine for any system that hasn't decided their users need a display manager. It becomes more trouble than it's worth. When I get home, I'll try with my more typical laptop, just to make sure I understand using xenodm. Which I feel makes me seem ungrateful to you and Gary, but it's a matter of time and other things but we'll see.

The install is the one after the failure, so I should be able to get dmesg though.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 600
Default

Here is the dmesg. This was the install after X failed for the last time. This one I didn't try to use the display manager. Thanks to both of you, but please don't put much time into it, I'm already, as I typed before, annoyed with the whole premise and just wanting to make sure I understand the process on another laptop at home. That is, understand that OpenBSD now starts X only via display manager.

The yoga2, with its touchscreen, even if disabled, constantly spews junk to the screen and I do feel that's the trouble. But thanks so much to both of you for helping. These forums are always surprisingly nice. I think of things on FreeBSD forums when someone doesn't know where to look and someone will post awww, should I spoonfeed to you? But here, everyone is nice.

Sigh and after all that I cannot attach it--seems to again be the laptop's control. However I just put it online at http://srobb.net/dmesg.txt


Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,743
Default

If the "junk" is kernel messages (blue/white) about ugen2 detaching/attaching, you can either try to disable the touchscreen in BIOS, or, try disabling ugen(4) devices via boot_config(8). Example:
Code:
boot> -c
booting hd0a:/bsd: 10594072+2454544+335872+0+671744 [678428+128+854136+595475]=0xf70d30
entry point at 0x1001000
[ using 2129200 bytes of bsd ELF symbol table ]
Copyright (c) 1982, 1986, 1989, 1991, 1993
        The Regents of the University of California.  All rights reserved.
Copyright (c) 1995-2019 OpenBSD. All rights reserved.  https://www.OpenBSD.org

OpenBSD 6.5 (GENERIC) #3: Sat Apr 13 14:42:43 MDT 2019
    deraadt@amd64.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sys/arch/amd64/compile/GENERIC
real mem = 4278181888 (4079MB)
avail mem = 4139008000 (3947MB)
User Kernel Config
UKC> disable ugen
296 ugen* disabled
UKC> quit
Continuing...
mpath0 at root
scsibus0 at mpath0: 256 targets
mainbus0 at root
.
.
.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 600
Default

Holy Moley, I knew about disabling uhid but not ugen. There are still other messages spewing out and again getting black screen even with 6.3 now. But I will play a bit more and report back.

Hrm seems to be ignoring the disable ugen. GRR, will try again.

Last edited by scottro; 1 Week Ago at 12:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 600
Default

Ok and then it worked. I want to swear that I changed nothing and if there little lemon like issues on this aging laptop, maybe I'm right. Anyway, disabling ugen and uhidev has stopped much of the onscreen junk but one remains.

ELAN Touchhscreen rev 2.0/0.18 addr 4 at uhb0 port 7 not configured. There is no way to disable the screen in BIOS, I've been checking and it seems one has to use Windows device manager. I don't have Windows on it though.

Although after the 6.3 failure, I'm beginning to think this laptop just isn't working with OpenBSD and X.
Though now that I know the secret I'm anxious to get home and try with X on my other laptop that doesn't have all this stuff.
Regardless of result my most sincere thanks to you guys. You're helpin' make an old man happy.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 600
Default

Well the only messages that appear on screen now, thanks to jggimi are the ones about the ELAN. But after putting back 6.3 and still no X, I think I'm just writing this one off and will just use in text mode for now. There seems to be a problem with it and the OpenBSD video, so I will probably try again from time to time. Meanwhile many thanks to Gary, may his parrots reign, and jggimi. I did have some fun with it, but for practical use, fortunately, whether it works or not doesn't matter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problems when installing gnome Sam OpenBSD Packages and Ports 10 27th November 2009 10:30 AM
Problems with installing world sniper007 FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 1 17th April 2009 10:33 AM
problems installing mysql port dejabu18 FreeBSD Ports and Packages 22 7th August 2008 09:23 AM
Problems Installing JDK on FreeBSD5.0 triggerme2ice FreeBSD Ports and Packages 1 17th June 2008 10:16 PM
problems with installing net-snmp dejabu18 FreeBSD Ports and Packages 9 17th May 2008 07:17 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick