DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Packages and Ports

OpenBSD Packages and Ports Installation and upgrading of packages and ports on OpenBSD.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th June 2010
New User

Default virtualbox+Openbsd+ports

Hi all. Im new in BSD World and virtualization . I run openBSD trough Ubuntu karmic + VirtualBox. Install(sets) was straightforward. How can install ports? i can't find a way to communicate ubuntu and openBSD. I try download .tar.gz trough lynx (D key) but i dont' know where is the downloaded file.
Someone can help me please?
TIA
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th June 2010
Shell Scout

The downloaded file should be where exactley you are now. So if you launch lynx in /home/user the downloaded file should be in /home/user.

Please check this as this is behaviour of links- lynx should have the same.

Piotr.
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th June 2010
More noise than signal

Packages are preferred to ports. The use of the package system and the $PKG_PATH variable are described in OpenBSD FAQ 15, which describes the Ports/Packages system. Please read it, to ensure you understand the implications of your choices.
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th June 2010
Shell Scout

The question was how to set-up the ports not packages.
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th June 2010
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pjoter View Post
The question was how to set-up the ports not packages.
As jggimi states, the project advocates using the package system over compiling from ports. This is especially important to newbies, who frequently are looking to get configuration done quickly & with minimal work.

As stated in Section 15.3 of the FAQ:

The ports tree is meant for advanced users. Everyone is encouraged to use the pre-compiled binary packages.
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th June 2010
More noise than signal