DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 28th July 2008
New User

Default Newbie requesting too much time/effort!

Hello,

I'm a novice Linux user and a new BSD user. I've loaded Ubuntu on a half dozen machines and mucked around in another half dozen distros. I've been in that learning curve off and on for a year or so. All I've done in BSD so far is:

-Load it on an old laptop

-Load xfce on that

-Load it on a "rough draft" box (like a "training wheels" version of a file server)

-Set up key-auth OpenSSH and harden login security

This Essay was extremely compelling, on a basic level. So compelling, in fact, I would like to build my next file server on BSD. Here is a summary of what I would like to accomplish, given my current understanding:

Hardware:

-Low power consumption (as low as possible given the rest)

-Five 1TB SATA hard drives in Raid 5, 4TB of storage space (I've never implemented RAID before). I'm willing to buy 6 drives when it comes time for hardware purchasing.

Software:

General:

-Headless operation

-Automatically updates OS and applications daily

-The ability to know which of the drives has failed when any of them do

-The ability to hot swap out drives at will for disk maintenance

-The ability to "share" anything on the RAID array with my LAN (read only)

-A safe "open" place on the RAID array to write data (dump files here)

-Efficient file management (move files, tar, rar, zip, etc)

Applications:

-Moblock between WAN and all applications: http://moblock.berlios.de/

-HFS-like simple HTTP file server (for easy "anywhere") read access

-Safe and easy WAN write access to the "dump"

-Direct Connect client, bandwidth throttling

-Bit Torrent client that monitors the dump for .torrent files, bandwidth throttling, encrypted connections